Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Lioness and the Lily - cover

The Lioness and the Lily

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 1
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Man about town and something of a ‘ladies’ man’ the new Earl of Rockbrook has given little thought to a liaison at Windsor Castle in which one of the Queen’s Ladies-in-Waiting, Lady Louise Welwyn, appears suddenly in his bedroom in the middle of the night. So he is appalled when he learns that Lady Louise’s formidable mother expects him to marry her. Her motivation is clear, although penniless at the time, he has since unexpectedly inherited the title of his family’s Earldom and the huge estate of Rock Castle after his uncle’s and cousin’s death in a train crash.He realises that he could never be happy with Lady Louise and so he flees her and London for the safety of the countryside where he breaks his collarbone in a riding accident and is knocked unconscious.When he awakens, he finds that he is being nursed by a lovely country girl called ‘Purilla’. She is beautiful, demure and intelligent – in fact everything he ever wanted in a wife, so he persuades her to save him by marrying him at once. Purilla has already fallen deeply in love with the handsome Earl – but how can she turn a marriage of his convenience into one of true love?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga of triumph over adversity - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... 
     
    Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... 
     
    Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...
    Show book
  • Under an Outlaw Moon - A Novel - cover

    Under an Outlaw Moon - A Novel

    Dietrich Kalteis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    Meet Depression-era newlyweds Bennie and Stella. He’s reckless, she’s naive. Longing for freedom from tough times, they rob a bank, setting off a series of events that quickly spin out of their control
    		 
    Under an Outlaw Moon is based on the true story of Depression-era bank robbers Bennie and Stella Mae Dickson. She’s a teenage outsider longing to fit in. He’s a few years older and he’s trouble. They meet at a local skating rink and the sparks fly.
    		 
    They marry and Stella dreams of a nice house with a swing out back, while Bennie figures out how to get enough money to make it happen. Setting his sights on the good life, he decides to rob a bank. Talking Stella into it, he lays out his plan and teaches her to shoot. The newlyweds celebrate her 16th birthday by robbing a local bank. 
    		 
    They pull it off, but the score is small, and Bennie realizes the money won’t last long, so he plans a bigger robbery. What lays ahead is more than either of them bargained for. After J. Edgar Hoover finds out they crossed state lines, he declares them public enemies number one and two — wanted dead or alive. So much for the good life. The manhunt is on, and there’s little room for them to run.
    Show book
  • Coming Home - cover

    Coming Home

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 6
    • 1
    “5 stars are not enough, this is my book of the year . . . perfect for Christmas . . . I laughed and cried my way through this.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsFor a mother and her three daughters, this Christmas is a time to share secrets—and find hope for the future . . . As a young girl, Carmen Appleton loved Christmas, but a simple knock at the door was all it took to change things. Her father left home that fateful Christmas Eve and all that was left in his place were painful memories. Now, for the first time in years, Carmen is ready to embrace Christmas again. For the sake of her family, she’s determined not to dwell on the past and to make this year one to remember. Her daughters, Rosina, Violetta, and Leonora, are all hiding secrets of their own though, ones that they dread their mother finding out about. With time running out to resolve them, will this year be another Christmas ruined—or will the Appletons finally get their happy ever after?
    Show book
  • Laidlaw - cover

    Laidlaw

    William McIlvanney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    First in “a crime trilogy so searing it will burn forever into your memory. McIlvanney is the original Scottish criminal mastermind” (Christopher Brookmyre, international bestselling author).   The Laidlaw novels, a groundbreaking trilogy that changed the face of Scottish fiction, are credited with being the founding books of the Tartan Noir movement that includes authors like Val McDermid, Denise Mina, and Ian Rankin. Says McDermid of William McIlvanney: “Patricia Highsmith had taken us inside the head of killers; Ruth Rendell tentatively explored sexuality; with No Mean City, Alexander McArthur had exposed Glasgow to the world; Raymond Chandler had dressed the darkness in clever words. But nobody had ever smashed those elements together into so accomplished a synthesis.”   In Laidlaw, the first book of the series, readers meet Jack Laidlaw, a hard-drinking philosopher-detective whose tough exterior cloaks a rich humanity and keen intelligence. Laidlaw’s investigation into the murder of a young woman brings him into conflict with Glasgow’s hard men, its gangland villains, and the moneyed thugs who control the city. As the gangsters running Glasgow race Laidlaw for the discovery of the young woman’s killer, a sense of dangerous betrayal infests the city that only Laidlaw can erase.   “From the opening chapter of Laidlaw, I knew I’d never read a crime novel like this.” —Val McDermid, international bestselling author   “It’s doubtful I would be a crime writer without the influence of McIlvanney’s Laidlaw.” —Ian Rankin, New York Times–bestselling author   “Laidlaw is a tough novel, with an exciting ending, and it is superbly written. You should not miss this one.” —The New York Times “A classic of the genre.” —The Guardian
    Show book
  • Unseen City - A Novel - cover

    Unseen City - A Novel

    Amy Shearn

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    A spinster librarian in New York City becomes obsessed with a patron and his haunted house in this novel by the author of The Mermaid of Brooklyn. In a city teeming with stories, how do lost souls find one another? It’s a question Meg Rhys doesn’t think she’s asking. Meg is a self-identified spinster librarian, satisfied with living with her cat, stacks of books, and her dead sister’s ghost in her New York City apartment. Then she becomes obsessed with an intriguing library patron and the haunted house he’s trying to research. The house has its own story to tell too, of love and war, of racism’s fallout and the ghost story that is gentrification, and of Brooklyn before it was Brooklyn. What follows is an exploration of what home is, how we live with loss, who belongs in the city and to whom the city belongs, and the possibilities and power of love.Praise for Unseen City “Gripping, moving, and vital, Unseen City asks how human life might defy its lifespan—in the throes of love, the conviction of belief, and each person’s mark upon a city that will survive them. For two days, I laughed at Amy Shearn’s wry humor and gasped at her gorgeous sentences; I couldn’t put this brilliant book down until its perfect final line (and I’m haunted still—which is appropriate, I suppose)!” —Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, bestselling author of June and Bittersweet “A ghost story that focuses not on a single spirit but on an entire city whose layered history haunts its occupants. . . . Like the ghosts who inhabit its pages, the novel lingers long after you’ve put it down.” —Kirkus Reviews “Luminous. . . . Shearn’s nimble storytelling unearths a fascinating and fraught history.” —Publishers Weekly “Amy Shearn’s modern fable Unseen City is anchored by smart, sly humor. It delves into the layered social, psychological, and historical architecture of New York City. . . . [It] demands calling out the names of the dead, assuring its audience that they’re ready to answer and say, “I’m here.” —Foreword Reviews
    Show book
  • The Stonefly - cover

    The Stonefly

    Scott J. Holliday

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this urban fantasy-mystery series opener, a tattooist cursed with the powers of a djinn must grant every wish he hears, even when it means murder.   Jacob is bound by a mysterious curse he doesn’t completely understand. Now, in order to save an innocent boy, he must find and kill a man he’s never met.   But there is another killer lurking these city streets.   And Jacob is running out of time.  The Stonefly series is a captivating mix of urban fantasy and traditional mystery. It explores the true commitment of friendship, and the moral conflict found within all of our souls.
    Show book