Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Earl Escapes - cover

The Earl Escapes

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Beautiful young Valencia Hadley lives a quietly contented life as the daughter of the Chaplin to the estate of Dolphin Priory.
 
And she loves the Big House as much as the pretty little house by the Chapel where she and her father have lived since she was a little girl.
 
Since Hue, the Earl of Dolphinston, spends all his time with the Beau Monde in London, Valencia enjoys the run of the big house, so when the Earl finally arrives with a retinue of Society types, she is a little dismayed.
 
She is even more dismayed when she overhears the glamorous beauty Lady Hester Stansfield and her brother Edward Ward in the Chapel plotting to drug the Earl and to dupe her father into marrying him to Hester so that they can get their greedy hands on The Priory and the family riches.
 
Enlisting the help of Ben, a strong estate worker, Valencia spirits away the drugged and unconscious Earl and hides him in an ancient Priest’s Hole behind the Altar of the Chapel.
 
Next a desperate Edward tries to force the Earl to marry Hester at gunpoint – and again he is foiled by Valencia’s brave intervention.
 
There is only one way now for the Earl to rid himself of Lady Hester for good is to marry Valencia!
 
By now Valencia has realised that she is passionately in love with him.
 
But how can she possibly marry him if he does not love her too?

Other books that might interest you

  • Vampire Granny and Other Surprising Stories - cover

    Vampire Granny and Other...

    Lura Dymond

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Meet the entertaining characters of this short story collection and follow them on their action-filled adventures. The dozen stories are contemporary science fiction with a twist, except for the last one. Granny Evans is a sweet old lady who bakes cookies and babysits. None of her neighbors know that she was made a vampire more than 175 years ago in New Orleans. Then her too-handsome vampire son comes for a visit and wreaks havoc in the neighborhood. Sindra is an initiative in the Cult of the Virgin, using a portal to travel between worlds, when the universe sends her flying in another direction and she ends up at the cookie store in the West Temple Mall. She has to evade an evil flute player and find the arches that will take her home. Janey and Timmy are playing tag across time one Sunday when they become embroiled in the 1381 Peasants Revolt and Janey has a baby named after her in the fourteenth century. As for the story that isn't science fiction? It'll break your heart.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • The Last Gift - By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature - cover

    The Last Gift - By the winner of...

    Abdulrazak Gurnah

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One day, long before the troubles, he slipped away without saying a word to anyone and never went back. And then another day, forty-three years later, he collapsed just inside the front door of his house in a small English town. It was late in the day when it happened, on his way home after work, but it was also late in the day altogether. He had left things for too long and there was no one to blame for it but himself. 
     
    Abbas has never told anyone about his past-before he was a sailor on the high seas, before he met his wife Maryam outside a Boots in Exeter, before they settled into a quiet life in Norwich with their children, Jamal and Hanna. Now, at the age of sixty-three, he suffers a collapse that renders him bedbound and unable to speak about things he thought he would one day have to. 
     
    Jamal and Hanna have grown up and gone out into the world. They were both born in England but cannot shake a sense of apartness. Hanna calls herself Anna now, and has just moved to a new city to be near her boyfriend. She feels the relationship is headed somewhere serious, but the words have not yet been spoken out loud. Jamal, the listener of the family, moves into a student house and is captivated by a young woman with dark-blue eyes and her own, complex story to tell. Abbas's illness forces both children home, to the dark silences of their father and the fretful capability of their mother Maryam, who began life as a foundling and has never thought to find herself, until now.
    Show book
  • The Claus Killing - cover

    The Claus Killing

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A small-town realtor must solve Santa’s murder in this Southern holiday whodunit from the author of the Pooch Party Cozy Mysteries.   Christmas is just around the corner, and the entire town of Bramblett County, Georgia, is ready and waiting for the big event! But a terrible tragedy threatens the celebration and leaves a key component of the holiday dead. Now Lily must uncover the truth and save Bramblett County’s Christmas . . . before it’s too late.Join Lily in her holiday hunt for the truth!  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit; a couple of plausible red herrings, a few rescue dogs for interest, and a budding romantic interest that will keep at least this avid reader coming back with each new installment. An excellent read, I am highly recommending!” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • The Watchers - A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 - cover

    The Watchers - A gripping debut...

    A.M. Shine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 
     
    'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance
     
    You can't see them. But they can see you.
     
    This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.
     
    Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.
     
    Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?
     
    Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.
    Show book
  • The Horizons of Love - cover

    The Horizons of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Lucy, Lady Wymonde, reluctantly agrees to her husband’s request that she would chaperone his innocent orphaned young niece, Ina, for her first Season as a debutante.It was infuriating to have to take another guest with her to Chale Hall, the Marquis of Chale’s majestic stately home in the country, but that it should be a lovely young girl made it worse. It was not a question of her being a rival, that was not what Lucy feared. It was that Ina would be completely out of place in what was to be her party given her by the Marquis, whom Lucy has become infatuated with and it is only a matter of time before they begin an affaire-de-coeur.Little does she know what an innocent threat the beautiful Ina will soon become! Having reluctantly left her Bohemian background and a family friend’s villa near Nice with her devoted lady’s maid, Ina is bewildered by the sophisticated Society world of London and rather in awe of the handsome Marquis. But soon, to Lucy’s fury, the Marquis is smitten by Ina’s untainted beauty and the almost clairvoyant perceptiveness by which she seems to see deep into his soul. Ina too is entranced and, despite her aunt’s attempts to pair her off with over-eager and unattractive suitors, she too is falling in love
    Show book