Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Curse of The Clan - cover

The Curse of The Clan

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Waif-like and half-starved the beautiful eighteen-year-old Tara has no second name and no family.
Orphaned when her mother died tragically in a carriage crash, she was raised in the appalling 'Orphanage of the Nameless' in London and has no knowledge at all of the world outside.
The drunken Matron of the Orphanage, Mrs. Barrowfield, relies on Tara to control, feed and look after the many orphans while she spends most of the money intended for their food on drink.
Then one day Mr. Falkirk comes to inform her that the Orphanage's owner and patron, the Duke of Arkcraig, has ordered her to Scotland to work in Castle Arkcraig.
Arriving, timid and overawed to meet her new Master, she is appalled to find that she has been seriously misled.
She is there not to work as a servant but to become the imperiously handsome Duke's bride – willing or not!
All of a sudden she is embroiled in the terrible enmity between the McCraig Clan and the equally warlike Kildonnons and the curse that hangs over them like a black cloud.
Worst of all, she finds that she has lost her heart to the husband for whom she had never asked and yet who now seems to be cold and aloof.
Has she been rescued from poverty and the horrors of the Orphanage and brought to the Duke's majestic Castle only to spend a lifetime starved of love?

Other books that might interest you

  • A Time to Change - cover

    A Time to Change

    Callie Langridge

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An abandoned English manor transports a young woman back to the Edwardian era—where love and danger await—in this time travel romance.East Midlands, England, 2013. The once grand Hill House is now surrounded by a shabby town of pubs and chip shops. As a child, Louisa Arnold was enthralled by the tragic history of its owners, the Mandeville family. Now, when tragedy strikes her own family, Lou seeks comfort in the ruined corridors of Hill House—and is suddenly transported back to Christmas 1913. As a houseguest of the Mandevilles, Lou befriends the eldest son, Captain Thomas Mandeville—a man she knows is destined to die in the First World War. Moving between the present and the past, Lou does everything she can to save the man she loves, unearthing murder and blackmail plots in a desperate race against time.
    Show book
  • All That We Have Lost - cover

    All That We Have Lost

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Papa always told us that to be brave doesn't mean you have no fear. It just means you can move forwards in spite of that fear. 
     
    2019. When Imogen Wren's husband dies, she must realise their dream of moving to France on her own. She finds a beautiful abandoned chateau and starts to rebuild her life among its ruins. But she soon notices that the locals won't come near. A dark web of secrets surrounds the house, and it all seems to centre on the war...
     
    1944. Since the moment German troops stepped foot in her village, the sole aim of Simone Varon's life has been to avoid them. Until one soldier begins leaving medicine bottles for her sick brother, and she gets to know the man behind the uniform. Then the Resistance comes calling, and she must choose between love and duty – with devastating consequences that will echo through the decades.
     
    As Imogen restores the chateau, she's determined to uncover the truth – and set to rest the ghosts of the past.
     
    A beautiful and devastating dual timeline novel that spans from occupied France in World War Two, to the war-ravaged chateau in 2019. Perfect for fans of Gill Paul, Lucinda Riley and Lorna Cook. 
     
    Reader love All That We Have Lost! 
     
    'Will truly sweep you away ... I could really imagine the characters. A standout novel and Suzanne Fortin's best yet!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'It will crush you then revive you ... Absolute stunner of a book!  I hope we will be blessed with many more books by this author' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'An excellent read! I really enjoyed the double time eras and the stories of both modern and WWII kept me enthralled. Such brilliant research and warm characters that brought the French countryside to life' Anne Marie Brear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Wonderful novel – historical fiction at its best. I really enjoyed the dual timeline the book drew me in kept me reading late into the night ... Highly recommend' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Fabulous read from beginning to end ... Amazing characters who worked  so well together, it really was a story off love and loss in during WW2 ... I want to give nothing away only that I highly recommend ❤' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Brilliant dual timeline historical fiction story ... Hard to put down and five stars from me. I highly recommend' Karen Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'A brilliant read ... This book had it all, part romance, part mystery, throw in intrigue and a little history and you come up with this excellent book ... Heartening and at times heartbreaking story' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book
  • Crossed Lines (Love along the Wires Book #2) - cover

    Crossed Lines (Love along the...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    When romance finally blossoms in her life, will it grow in the right direction?  
     
    Emma Sutton knows she should be satisfied with her life. She has a position at London's Central Telegraph Office, and behind her rented rooms is a small plot where she can indulge her passion for gardening. But ever since she was orphaned as a child, she has longed for a family of her own and the stability and consistency it provides. Her deepest wish appears realized when a handsome engineer is thrown into her orbit and sends her a thrilling love note.  
     
    Mitchell Harris's sharp wit and facility with a pen have enabled him to thrive despite serious obstacles. That the woman of his dreams works just two floors above his should make life perfect. But a childhood accident has left Mitchell convinced he'll never draw a woman's affection, especially from someone like Emma. When his best friend--who once saved his life--falls in love with Emma too and asks for help writing her love letters, Mitchell must choose between desire and loyalty.    
    Show book
  • The Queen Saves The King - cover

    The Queen Saves The King

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    When Queen Victoria is called upon to arrange a marriage for the dashing King Alexius of Vultarnia to save him and his country from the predatory Russians, the adventurous and beautiful Pythia takes the place of her cousin, Princess Erina, and heads for the small Balkan country in a British Battleship.
    Princess Erina has just fallen in love with a good-looking Peruvian and Pythia could not allow her happiness to be torn from her for cold political strategy.
    On her arrival in Vultarnia she receives a warm reception and she is determined to win the hearts of her new subjects and the heart of their cosmopolitan worldly King. 
    The King is surprised and impressed by his new wife and sees how much he could learn from her. But a Russian plot threatens to throw this popular new marriage into jeopardy and Pythia must think quickly in order to save the King and the beautiful country of Vultarnia.
    Will King Alexius fall in love with Pythia or remain attached to his glamorous and seductive Russian mistress?
     Will Pythia be able to stop a sinister plot to capture the King before it is too late? 
    And will the King discover Pythia's true identity and that she is not Royal? 
    Find out in 'The Queen Saves the King', an exciting and moving romance from the incomparable Barbara Cartland.
    Show book
  • Love on the Range (Brothers in Arms Book #3) - cover

    Love on the Range (Brothers in...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Falling for someone who doesn't want to get married is soon be the least of his concerns. 
     
    While his brothers and their new wives search for who shot him, Wyatt Hunt is temporarily bedridden and completely miserable. Somehow Molly Garner's limited skills have made her the most qualified in their circle to care for Wyatt. But by the time he's healed, she's fed up with him and the whole ungrateful family. For even worse than his grumpiness were the few unguarded moments when he pulled at her heartstrings, and she has been long determined to never repeat her mother's mistakes.  
     
    When alternate plans of finding her own independent life fall through, Molly volunteers to work for the Pinkertons and help investigate nearby ranch owner Oliver Hawkins. She signs on to be his housekeeper, hoping to find clues to prove his nefarious, and possibly murderous, past. Wyatt refuses to let her risk it alone and offers to act as Hawkins's new foreman.  
     
    But when another Pinkerton agent gets shot, they realize Hawkins isn't the only danger. The Hunt brothers will have to band together to face all the troubles of life and love that suddenly surround them.
    Show book