Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Learning To Love - cover

Learning To Love

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

The Earl of Cariston is faced with insuperable problems as he has completely run out of money. He has sold everything on his estate that he can, but even so there is nothing he can do to support those who rely on him and they are on the verge of starvation. In desperation he calls into his Club to find an old friend, Lord Shield, and tells him all his woes. Lord Shield is in a bad way himself, but does suggest that he visits a certain Mr. Randon who is temporarily in London and beg for his help. Mr. Randon has made a fortune in America and used to be a good friend of the Earl's father. The Earl goes off in some trepidation to a hotel to meet Mr. Randon, who is very ill and on the verge of dying. He tells him his sad story and is astonished when Mr. Randon makes him a most extraordinary proposition. If he will agree to marry his daughter, Kristina, at eleven o'clock the next morning, the Earl will receive a very large sum to rescue and restore his estate! The Earl has no option but to accept and is faced with marrying someone he has never met within just a few hours. Equally Kristina is forced into marriage with a complete stranger by her forceful father. How the Earl and Kristina manage to cope with their joint predicament, find out about each other and eventually gain everything theirs hearts could desire is told in this enthralling romantic story by BARBARA CARTLAND.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Tangled Ties That Bind (Hearts Entwined Collection) - A Kincaid Brides Novella - cover

    The Tangled Ties That Bind...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    While running from an angry buffalo, two friends, who always wanted more, reunite. Connor has returned home determined to pursue the woman he never stopped caring about. But Maggie wants to be a city doctor, and he is a rancher through and through. Will either be willing to give up their dream? Or will they both have to give up the love of a lifetime?
    Show book
  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book
  • All That We Have Lost - cover

    All That We Have Lost

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Papa always told us that to be brave doesn't mean you have no fear. It just means you can move forwards in spite of that fear. 
     
    2019. When Imogen Wren's husband dies, she must realise their dream of moving to France on her own. She finds a beautiful abandoned chateau and starts to rebuild her life among its ruins. But she soon notices that the locals won't come near. A dark web of secrets surrounds the house, and it all seems to centre on the war...
     
    1944. Since the moment German troops stepped foot in her village, the sole aim of Simone Varon's life has been to avoid them. Until one soldier begins leaving medicine bottles for her sick brother, and she gets to know the man behind the uniform. Then the Resistance comes calling, and she must choose between love and duty – with devastating consequences that will echo through the decades.
     
    As Imogen restores the chateau, she's determined to uncover the truth – and set to rest the ghosts of the past.
     
    A beautiful and devastating dual timeline novel that spans from occupied France in World War Two, to the war-ravaged chateau in 2019. Perfect for fans of Gill Paul, Lucinda Riley and Lorna Cook. 
     
    Reader love All That We Have Lost! 
     
    'Will truly sweep you away ... I could really imagine the characters. A standout novel and Suzanne Fortin's best yet!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'It will crush you then revive you ... Absolute stunner of a book!  I hope we will be blessed with many more books by this author' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'An excellent read! I really enjoyed the double time eras and the stories of both modern and WWII kept me enthralled. Such brilliant research and warm characters that brought the French countryside to life' Anne Marie Brear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Wonderful novel – historical fiction at its best. I really enjoyed the dual timeline the book drew me in kept me reading late into the night ... Highly recommend' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Fabulous read from beginning to end ... Amazing characters who worked  so well together, it really was a story off love and loss in during WW2 ... I want to give nothing away only that I highly recommend ❤' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Brilliant dual timeline historical fiction story ... Hard to put down and five stars from me. I highly recommend' Karen Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'A brilliant read ... This book had it all, part romance, part mystery, throw in intrigue and a little history and you come up with this excellent book ... Heartening and at times heartbreaking story' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction - cover

    The Forgotten Life of Arthur...

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    'This story has great depths of emotion, highs and lows, and I found it utterly gripping!' Christina Courtenay
     
    'A deeply moving story of love in all its forms – I adored it' Mandy Baggot
     
    The secrets of the past won't remain hidden forever...
     
    Arthur Pettinger's memory isn't what it used to be. He can't always remember the names of his grandchildren, where he lives or which way round his slippers go. He does remember Maryse though, a woman he hasn't seen for decades, but whose face he will never forget.
     
    When Arthur's granddaughter, Maddy, moves in along with her daughter Esther, it's her first step towards pulling her life back together. But when Esther makes a video with Arthur, the hunt for the mysterious Maryse goes viral.
     
    There's only one person who can help Maddy track down this woman – the one that got away, Joe. Their quest takes them to France, and into the heart of the French Resistance.
     
    When the only way to move forwards is to look back, will this family finally be able to?
     
    Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, Karen Swan and Lorna Cook
     
    What readers are saying about The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger:
     
    'Five stars' Poppy Alexander
     
    'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This is a beautiful account that stops you dead in your tracks' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This book is the love story to end all love stories ... I was hooked by the end of the first chapter and I didn't want to put this book down' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This book broke my heart in all the right places. OMG masterfully written ... I could not put this down. Loved everything about this book. Happiness, tears, it had it all' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'What a read ... Beautifully written with the depth and warmth of true love. I could not put this book down. Exceptionally intriguing' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • The Dream and The Glory - cover

    The Dream and The Glory

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Staying at the British Ambassador's exquisite Bay of Naples Villa, beautiful young Cordelia and her brother David, the Earl of Hunstanton, are far from the Berkshire estate that is their home.
    But since the death of their parents there has been nothing to stop David realising his dream – to go to Malta and become a Knight of St. John. Except, that is, the money to finance a ship to take him there.
    So when, out of the blue, a handsome, English buccaneer appears, who turns out to be none other than their cousin, Mark Stanton, he seems Heaven-sent. As Captain of a ship en route to Malta, he is in position to offer them passage to the island.
    To their chagrin, however, he attempts to dissuade David from his Pilgrimage and Cordelia from her notion of joining a Convent.
    But, when the siblings resist his appeals and press ahead, Mark vows to protect them both from the perils not only of David's Maltese Crusade but also of the Napoleonic War, Barbary pirates in the Mediterranean and the scheming snobbery of Neapolitan Society.
    Valiant Mark saves Cordelia from the lecherous clutches of the Duca di Belina and from the terrors or war against the French, but he cannot protect David from a noble death in battle protecting Malta, nor his own heart from falling hopelessly in love.
    Show book
  • Love comes to the Castle - cover

    Love comes to the Castle

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The brooding and haughty, handsome yet strangely haunted Earl, Lord of all he surveys in an ancient Lincolnshire castle with its dungeons, priest holes and dark secrets… 
    
    The forlorn young beauty, grief-stricken and alone in an exotic flower-filled villa in sun-kissed Sorrento…
    Show book