Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Loyal to the School - Rediscovering British Boarding School Life Through Nostalgic Tales - cover

Loyal to the School - Rediscovering British Boarding School Life Through Nostalgic Tales

Angela Brazil

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In 'Loyal to the School' by Angela Brazil, readers are transported to the world of British boarding schools during the early 20th century. The book follows the lives of a group of students as they navigate friendships, academic challenges, and personal growth. Brazil's writing style is characterized by vivid descriptions of the school setting and its characters, immersing the reader in the nostalgic ambiance of a bygone era. As one of the pioneers of children's school stories, Brazil's book fits within the tradition of classic British literature. 'Loyal to the School' provides valuable insights into the daily lives and moral dilemmas faced by young students, making it a compelling read for those interested in educational fiction or historical fiction. Angela Brazil's personal experiences as a teacher and her deep understanding of adolescent psychology shine through in this timeless novel, capturing the essence of a formative period in a young person's life. 'Loyal to the School' is recommended for readers seeking a captivating and authentic portrayal of school life in early 20th-century Britain.
Available since: 10/04/2023.
Print length: 157 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Boredom Busters - Over 50 awesome activities for children aged 7 years + - cover

    Boredom Busters - Over 50...

    Caroline Fernandez

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    50+ activities to entertain kids at home, in the classroom and even on holiday! Let's get crafty! You will never be bored again with the brilliant things to make and do in Boredom Busters. The book is divided into five themed chapters: Art, Craft, Science, Food and Travel. Art Activities shows you how to create pretty pictures using homemade paint, recycled crayons and even coffee filter paper and shaving cream! In Craft Activities, reuse milk cartons for your own bowling game, turn a baby food jar into a snow globe and make cinnamon clay decorations. You will love the cool experiments in the Science section - from growing your own crystals to setting off plastic bottle tornados and creating 'lava' in a cup. Cook up a storm with the great recipes in Food Activities: cool ice cream cone cupcakes, delicious chocolate mug cake and colourful pizza faces. Finally, discover ways to keep yourself busy on journeys and holidays in Travel Activities, such as making a T-shirt pillow, wooden spoon puppets and a homemade travel journal.
    Show book
  • Ilvie Little and the Fearless Sailors - cover

    Ilvie Little and the Fearless...

    Susanne Stemmer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ilvie Little, the curious elf, has had enough of the beautiful but boring land of the elves and decides to discover the big, wide world.Together with her friends, a cook, and two twinkling companionsthe grumpy dog Sammy and the gluttonous monkey Theoshe wants to solve an ancient riddle.To do this, she must polish up a dusty old ship and go on the search for a lost treasure, withstanding any and all resistance along the way. But the fearless friends conquer all danger.A magical story for strong kids and those who want to become stronga fantastic, courage-inspiring book for reading out loud and reading yourself. For cool kids from 5-99.
    Show book
  • The Stitchers - cover

    The Stitchers

    Lorien Lawrence

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
     
    Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
     
      
     
    Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
     
    If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
     
    “What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
     
    “A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
     
    “Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
     
    “The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • It's Raining It's Pouring - cover

    It's Raining It's Pouring

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Kids will love this sweet story/song combination as they listen to “It's Raining, It's Pouring” and follow along word-for-word in the adorably illustrated eBook. This well-known nursery rhyme comes to life with sweet art and fun music. This adorably illustrated eBook encourages learning through music and introduces children to important early literacy skills.
    Show book
  • Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit Riot - cover

    Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit...

    Ruth Quayle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Introducing a truly hilarious and one-of-a-kind new character: Magnificent Mabel!
    Sometimes life isn't fair for Mabel Chase. Like for instance she doesn't have one SINGLE pet in her whole life. And ALL the people in her class are losing their baby teeth. And she doesn't EVEN have a sprinkler in her own garden. But none of that matters in the end... because Mabel is still MAGNIFICENT.
    
    Three laugh-out-loud funny short stories, brilliantly illustrated throughout!
    
    With perfectly-observed, child-friendly humour, highly-relatable themes in each story, an incredibly distinctive voice, and stylish illustrations, these books are perfect for early readers.
    Show book
  • Ready for a Scare? - cover

    Ready for a Scare?

    P. J. Night

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Birthday girl and queen of all things spooky, Kelly Garcia is all set to have the perfect night. First her parents are going out of town. And although they hired a babysitter, Kelly is excited to basically be on her own. And then there's the sleepover she's having—a virtual, webcam sleepover where she and her friends can scare each other silly by telling ghost stories and summoning the spirit of Miss Mary, a woman from their small town who died tragically a long time ago. But when her friends start disappearing one by one and the babysitter is nowhere to be found, Kelly starts getting scared . . . for real. Is Miss Mary's ghost kidnapping everyone? Will Kelly be next?
    Show book