Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Bees! - cover

Bees!

Alan MacDonald

Publisher: Little Tiger Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From award-winning illustrator David Roberts comes Dirty Bertie – the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! With comic chaos and madcap schemes, these highly illustrated stories are perfect for new readers.
Join Bertie as he has a brush with some angry bees, deals with his warring grannies on a trip to the park and tries to smuggle Whiffer into a very smart hotel.
David Roberts is the illustrator of many picture books and fiction titles, including Julian Clary's THE BOLDS, SUFFRAGETTE: THE BATTLE FOR EQUALITY, Julia Donaldson's JACK AND THE FLUMFLUM TREE and IGGY PECK, ARCHITECT. With over 30 titles in the hugely popular DIRTY BERTIE series, each book contains three short stories perfect for fans of HORRID HENRY, DOG MAN and Pamela Butchart.
Available since: 02/06/2023.
Print length: 96 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hide-and-Seek - No Ticks Please - cover

    Hide-and-Seek - No Ticks Please

    Nancy Fox

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Lyme disease survivor explains tick-borne maladies in “a straightforward, nonfrightening way . . . A useful guide to avoiding a dangerous bug” (Kirkus Reviews).   This children’s book teaches strategies for preventing Lyme and other tick-borne diseases. Through the story of Alex and José, children will learn about José’s discovery of a hidden danger (a tick) and how their activities may put them at risk of getting a tick bite.   “I can envision a parent using this book to start a conversation with their children on why it’s important to watch out for ticks and ways to do that. There are helpful pages on how to check yourself for ticks and if you find one, how to remove it. A list of educational resources is included in the back of the book.” —LymeDisease.org
    Show book
  • I Can Do It Too! - cover

    I Can Do It Too!

    Karen Baicker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A little girl tries to prove she can do everything in this heartwarming story that reminds us how satisfying it is to grow up surrounded by love. 
     
    I Can Do It Too! affirms a little girl’s growing independence as she, too, can begin to do all the things she sees her parents, relatives, and neighbors do: pouring juice at breakfast, strumming a guitar, and even riding a bike! The simple cadence of text and direct-to-the-heart art result in a book as warm and generous as its message, providing reading pleasure for toddlers, older siblings, and the grown-ups who love them. 
     
    “Her enthusiasm is contagious. . . . A winner for perusing alone or reading at storytimes.” —Booklist 
     
    “Physical skills are not the only kind in focus here, for a happy contagion of kindness is also afoot. The support of her family and congenial companions has the very finest of effects, and best of all, at the end of it all, is our little heroine’s unspoiled and generous display of encouragement for one even smaller than she.” —Kirkus Reviews 
     
    “Young children are continually faced with challenging developmental milestones, and this affirming read-aloud offers lots of encouragement. . . . Colorful, full-page illustrations show her pouring juice like Dad, holding a book like Grandpa, putting on clothes like her big sister, etc. Preschoolers are likely to repeat the catchy title refrain. A good choice for toddler collections.” —School Library Journal
    Show book
  • Flying South - cover

    Flying South

    Laura Malone Elliott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the sticky-hot summer of 1968, a year in American history marked by assassinations, Vietnam War protests, and civil rights rioting, Alice faces some trying concerns of her own. Alice longs for a connection with her mother, who is beautiful but distant, caught up in the search for a husband who will help erase the memory of Alice's father. Alice's friendship with Bridget, a tennis-playing Twiggy, introduces her to competitiveness and the shallow pettiness of spoiled rich girls, as as well as to the prejudice that many Americans still feel toward black people.It is Alice's friendship with Doc, the family gardener and handyman, that continually brings her back to the truths that will shape the decsions in her life. Doc reminds Alice that life is about "passing the test" -- doing what's right.Flying South celebrates a young girl's coming-of-age in a delicate, moving narrative that sings with the understated, yet resonate, pleasures of life in the American South.
    Show book
  • The Clockwork War - cover

    The Clockwork War

    Adam Kline

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    To fight a menacing evil, a group of children team up with amazing mechanical machines built by a genius clockmaker in this illustrated children’s fantasy. Best friends Karlheinz Indergarten and Leopold Croak clash in an epic, imaginary battle waged in the branches of an enormous, ancient oak tree. But when lightning strikes young Leopold, he loses his imagination, and with it, his sense of right and wrong. The damaged boy grows to adulthood, treading a sinister path of industrial conquest. And Leopold’s thirst for power soon threatens the tree, the village, and worst of all, the children within. But humble Karl discovers a gift for clockwork—the magic of gears and cogs—and assembles a mechanical army to fight back. Joined by the children themselves, Karl endeavors to save the village, the ancient oak, and maybe—just maybe—something more besides.Perfect for reading aloud!
    Show book
  • Magnificent Mabel and the Very Bad Birthday Party - cover

    Magnificent Mabel and the Very...

    Ruth Quayle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The sixth book in the hilarious Magnificent Mabel series, highly illustrated throughout and with three short stories - perfect for newly-confident readers.
    Meet Mabel - she's MAGNIFICENT.
    Sometimes life isn't fair for Mabel Chase. Like for instance she has to invite EVERYONE in her class to her birthday party or she won't get any presents. And her school pack lunches are AWFUL. And when she goes on holiday she doesn't get a MINUTE to relax.
    But none of that matters in the end ... because Mabel is still MAGNIFICENT.
    With highly-relatable themes, brilliantly funny writing and wonderful artwork throughout, this is perfect for 5-7 year olds.
    Look out for:
    Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit Riot
    Magnificent Mabel and the Christmas Elf
    Magnificent Mabel and the Egg and Spoon Race
    Magnificent Mabel and the Magic Caterpillar
    Magnificent Mabel and the Very Important Witch
    Show book
  • Donut Go Breaking My Heart - cover

    Donut Go Breaking My Heart

    Suzanne Nelson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Another “foodie” novel filled with boys, friends, film sets . . . and donuts—from the author of Cake Pop Crush and You’re Bacon Me Crazy. 
     
    Sheyda is a behind-the-scenes girl. She loves helping out in the kitchen of Doughlicious, the donut shop run by her best friend’s family. And Sheyda loves designing stage sets while others perform in the spotlight. Then lights, camera . . . surprise! Tween heartthrob Cabe Sadler is filming his next movie in Doughlicious! Sheyda’s outgoing BFF, Kiri, is sure this will lead to stardom, and perhaps a date with Cabe. But somehow it’s Sheyda who gets picked for a small role in the film. 
     
    To make matters worse, Cabe seems spoiled and rude. Too bad he’s so cute. Can Sheyda overcome her stage fright, get to know the real Cabe, and find her own kind of stardom?
    Show book