Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Anticipation - cover

Anticipation

Rue Harlow

Publisher: Gemini Press

  • 2
  • 1
  • 1

Summary

What do beavers and baked goods have to do with love? Well, everything for Liliana Travis, the owner of the local coffee shop, Higher Grounds. Her day job is serving caffeine highs, but her love life is at an all-time low. A meticulous planner ever since high school, she has a checklist for her perfect man and even plans for how she wants this future romance to unfold. But her carefully laid plans are about to be upended by something, rather someone, completely unanticipated from her past. Dominic Moore has always been the hometown celebrity of Mountain View. The former captain of the high school football team turned NFL pro is the definition of the “golden boy”. But when Dom is caught in a scandal, he returns home to Mountain View to help his recently widowed grandmother open her dream bakery… and do some soul searching. For Lili, Dom’s return is both exciting and a total gut punch. Her high school crush is back in town, but also fresh competition for her small business. To make matters worse, the nationwide baking competition, the Upper Crust Challenge, has come to town and bets are firmly on the table. Is it rivalry or romance as buttons are pushed, banter exchanged, and sparks fly? Maybe not everything in life can be perfectly anticipated… For fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Soulmate Equation, Anticipation is a sweet and spicy debut from Rue Harlow that is sure to be addictive.
Available since: 10/11/2022.
Print length: 451 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Flights of Fancy (American Heiresses Book #1) - cover

    Flights of Fancy (American...

    Jen Turano

    • 1
    • 23
    • 0
    Miss Isadora Delafield may be an heiress, but her life is far from carefree. When her mother begins pressuring her to marry an elderly and uncouth duke, she escapes from the high society world she's always known and finds herself to be an unlikely candidate for a housekeeper position in rural Pennsylvania.Mr. Ian MacKenzie is known for his savvy business sense and has built his reputation and fortune completely on his own merits. But when his adopted parents are in need of a new housekeeper and Isadora is thrown into his path, he's unexpectedly charmed by her unconventional manner.Neither Isadora nor Ian expected to find the other so intriguing, but when mysterious incidents on the farm and the truth of Isadora's secret threaten those they love, they'll have to set aside everything they thought they wanted for a chance at happy-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Love And The Gods - cover

    Love And The Gods

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Queen Victoria sends for the Duke of Sherbourne and asks him to undertake a very secret mission on her behalf.  It is so secret that only his loyal valet, Jenkins, is told.
    The Duke agrees and it takes him to Greece where he had not been for some years.
    He visits King George who is the same age as he is and whom he has known in the past.
    He has been a great success as King, although he was only eighteen when he took over the throne and he is married to Princess Olga of Russia and they are extremely happy.
    The Duke envies them and, although he has been pursued by a great number of beautiful women in London, he has never yet fallen in love.  He consistently refuses to marry although his family beg him to produce an heir to his ancient title.
    Before the Duke leaves Athens, he says that he must visit the Parthenon because he wants to see again the view from the top as it is the most inspiring in the world.
    When he reaches the top, the only other person there is a young and beautiful girl who he senses is about to commit suicide.
    How the Duke persuades Princess Thalia not to throw her life away in such a stupid fashion.
    How he learns that she is being forced by her uncle to marry a Russian Prince she detests.
    How he goes to Delos, the island where the God Apollo was born.
    How, when he is there, he experiences a strange and mystical feeling that cannot be expressed in words.
    Eventually the Duke finds all that he is seeking.
    All his and Thalia’s problems and difficulties are solved not only by the brains of human beings but with the help and guidance of the Gods themselves.
    This is all told in this intriguing and surprising story by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • The Darkness of Love - cover

    The Darkness of Love

    Vivian Stuart

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    INTRIGUE. TENSION. LOVE AFFAIRS:
    In The Historical Romance series, a set of stand-alone novels, Vivian Stuart builds her compelling narratives around the dramatic lives of sea captains, nurses, surgeons, and members of the aristocracy.
    Stuart takes us back to the societies of the 20th century, drawing on her own experience of places across Australia, India, East Asia, and the Middle East. 
     
    From the brooding Scottish highlands… A Gothic novel – of romance and terror.
     
    Kate was the bride-to-be of a Scottish lord...
    And what a lord, thought pretty, vivacious Kate. Allan MacAllander was tall, dark, filled with charm and good humor, the thirty-third in a line of fierce Scottish chieftains that stretched back for centuries. Kate loved this fascinating man who would soon be her husband, just as she loved the strange, dark, yet primitively beautiful land beside the sea which would be their home.
    But soon several incidents became a bit too strange. There was Nairne, Allan's handsome yet enigmatic cousin, whose kindness to Kate hid intentions at which she could only guess. There was Mairi, the servant girl, whose impertinence quickly turned to seething hostility. There was the mysterious child-woman who fled into the brush whenever Kate approached her. And above all, there was the whispered secret of the MacAllanders: a generations-old curse of insanity.
    Then tragedy struck close to Kate's heart, and she knew suddenly that a nameless, murderous hate now threatened her own life…
    Show book
  • The Reluctant Warrior (High Sierra Sweethearts Book #2) - cover

    The Reluctant Warrior (High...

    Mary Connealy

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    Union army officer Cameron Scott is used to being obeyed, but nothing about this journey to Lake Tahoe has gone as expected. He's come to fetch his daughter and nephew, and seek revenge on the people who killed his brother. Instead he finds himself trapped by a blizzard with two children who are terrified of him and stubborn but beautiful Gwen Harkness, who he worries may be trying to keep the children.When danger descends on the cabin where they're huddled, Cam is hurt trying to protect everyone and now finds Gwen caring for him too. He soon realizes why the kids love her so much and wonders if it might be best for him to move on without them. When she sees his broken heart, Gwen decides to help him win back their affection--and in the process he might just win her heart as well.
    Show book
  • Love Became Theirs - cover

    Love Became Theirs

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    At the ball that was to change her life, Rona Trafford danced with a mysterious Harlequin.
    She learned that this prospective suitor was being unfaithful to another, and so fled to Paris, taking up a job as a governess. 
    Her employer's brother joined them. Unknown to her, he was concealing a dramatic secret, one that threatened to destroy them both. How they confronted danger, and how Rona learned more about the Harlequin, is told in this exciting romantic novel by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • The Windmill of Love - cover

    The Windmill of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The breathless heart-fluttering tale of beautiful debutante ‘Valeria’ in glamorous, super-sophisticated Biarritz, Royalty’s favoured French resort. Where at once she is shocked to the core by the lewd dancing at the celebratedly sleazy Moulin de la Mer and swept off her feet by the genteel and dashingly handsome Comte de Savin! But their whirlwind romance is surely doomed – for soon she must disappear to meet her future groom never again to set eyes on the love of her life…
    Show book