Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Anticipation - cover

Anticipation

Rue Harlow

Publisher: Gemini Press

  • 2
  • 1
  • 1

Summary

What do beavers and baked goods have to do with love? Well, everything for Liliana Travis, the owner of the local coffee shop, Higher Grounds. Her day job is serving caffeine highs, but her love life is at an all-time low. A meticulous planner ever since high school, she has a checklist for her perfect man and even plans for how she wants this future romance to unfold. But her carefully laid plans are about to be upended by something, rather someone, completely unanticipated from her past. Dominic Moore has always been the hometown celebrity of Mountain View. The former captain of the high school football team turned NFL pro is the definition of the “golden boy”. But when Dom is caught in a scandal, he returns home to Mountain View to help his recently widowed grandmother open her dream bakery… and do some soul searching. For Lili, Dom’s return is both exciting and a total gut punch. Her high school crush is back in town, but also fresh competition for her small business. To make matters worse, the nationwide baking competition, the Upper Crust Challenge, has come to town and bets are firmly on the table. Is it rivalry or romance as buttons are pushed, banter exchanged, and sparks fly? Maybe not everything in life can be perfectly anticipated… For fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Soulmate Equation, Anticipation is a sweet and spicy debut from Rue Harlow that is sure to be addictive.
Available since: 10/11/2022.
Print length: 451 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridemaker - cover

    The Bridemaker

    Rexanne Becnel

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    A devilish rake will do anything to learn the secret of a straitlaced schoolmarm in this Regency romance by the bestselling author of The Troublemaker. Word has it that every awkward young lady sent to Mrs. Hester Poitevant’s Mayfair Academy inevitably becomes marriage material. With her students going on to have any eligible bachelor they wish, Hester is able to live comfortably and in the background. And no one knows that under the guise of a stuffy widow, she is a beautiful woman who has never been married. Although Adrian Hawke is a dashing and successful businessman, his scandalous birth makes him a less-than-ideal candidate for a husband. When he draws attention from one of Hester’s favorite students, the prim Mrs. Poitevant forcefully puts a stop to it—and falls victim to his charms herself. Adrian, meanwhile, is not fooled by the feisty widow’s facade. Intrigued, the clever rogue is determined to uncover what Hester is hiding in more ways . . . than one. Perfect for fans of the Bridgerton series! “With this sparkling romance between a highly regarded widow and a thoroughly charming rake, Becnel . . . breathes life into the rigid Regency-era romance genre. . . . Hester’s spirited personality and Adrian's devil-may-care attitude will appeal to a broad readership. Playful in tone and rich in character, this book is fun, breezy entertainment.” —Publishers Weekly “A real treat.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • A Beautiful Disguise (The Imposters Book #1) - cover

    A Beautiful Disguise (The...

    Roseanna M. White

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Edwardian London, not all that glitters is gold as a lady and an intelligence officer's secret mission take them from the city's dazzling ballrooms to its covert intelligence offices. 
     
    Sir Merritt Livingstone has spent a decade serving the monarch in the field, but when pneumonia lands him behind a desk in the War Office Intelligence Division just as they're creating a new secret intelligence branch, he's intent on showing his worth. He suspects an aristocrat of leaking information to Germany as tensions mount between the two countries, but he needs someone to help him prove it, so he turns to The Imposters, Ltd. No one knows who they are, but their results are beyond compare. 
     
    Left with an estate on the brink of bankruptcy after their father's death, Lady Marigold Fairfax and her brother open a private investigation firm for the elite to spy on the elite. Dubbed The Imposters, Ltd., their anonymous group soon becomes the go-to for the crème of society who want answers delivered surreptitiously. But the many secrets Marigold learns about her peers pale in comparison to her shock when she and her brother are hired to investigate her best friend's father as a potential traitor. 
     
    Lady Marigold is determined to discover the truth for her friend's sake, and she's more determined still to keep her heart from getting involved with this enigmatic new client . . . who can't possibly be as noble as he seems. 
     
    "White's well-woven plot is engaging from start to finish with delightful threads of mystery, romance, and inspiration."--CARRIE TURANSKY, award-winning author
    Show book
  • A Noble Scheme (The Imposters Book #2) - cover

    A Noble Scheme (The Imposters...

    Roseanna M. White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the opulent and perilous world of high society's most elite--and most dangerous--families, two investigators must set aside their broken hearts to uncover the truth. 
     
    Gemma Parks is known to the London elite as G. M. Parker, a columnist renowned for her commentary on the cream of society. Behind the scenes, she uses her talents to aid the Imposters in their investigations by gathering intel at events and providing alibis for the firm's members through her columns. Yet her clandestine work would be more exhilarating if it weren't for the constant presence of the gentleman who broke her heart. 
     
    Graham Wharton has never had eyes for anyone but Gemma, and she left his heart in tatters when she walked away from him. When the Imposters take on a new job to recover a kidnapped boy mistaken for his aristocratic cousin, Graham is determined to use the time with Gemma to not only restore the missing boy, but to also win back the only woman he's ever loved. As they trace the clues laid out before them, Graham and Gemma must devise a noble scheme to save the boy's life and heal their hearts. 
     
    "A Noble Scheme is as clever as it is glamorous."--LAURA FRANTZ, Christy Award-winning author of The Seamstress of Acadie
    Show book
  • A Shooting Star - cover

    A Shooting Star

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The beautiful Flavia Linwood had been living in the country until she was nearly nineteen.
    She should have been a debutante in London the previous year, but she was in deep mourning for her mother who had died suddenly.  Now at last she travels to London for her Season.
    Her father, Lord Linwood, and his friend Lord Carlsby are courtiers in attendance on Her Majesty Queen Victoria at Windsor Castle and they are very proud of their position at Court.
    Quite by chance Flavia secretly learns that they are increasingly concerned that the Queen is becoming too interested in the handsome Earl of Haugton and heeds his advice rather than theirs.
    They therefore concoct plan to get him out of their way by marrying Flavia off to him.
    She is completely horrified at the idea!  She has long ago made up her mind that she will only marry someone she loves and who loves her.
    How she tries to avoid the Earl, but finally meets him face to face and then finds that he feels exactly as she does and learns that, although he is nearly twenty-eight, he has no intention of marrying anyone, not even to have an heir to his title and fortune.
    How Flavia and the Earl plan to circumvent the ingenious scheme of Lord Linwood and Lord Carlsby.
    And, how by a strange and frightening drama at Windsor Castle, they finally find what they are both seeking is all told in this unusal romance by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • The Love Collection Volume One - cover

    The Love Collection Volume One

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    4 books for the price of 1 Anthology containing:
     
    Elizabethan LoverThe Little PretenderA Ghost in Monte CarloA Duel of HeartsThe Saint and the Sinner
    Show book
  • Solita and the Spies - cover

    Solita and the Spies

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    After her father’s heroic death through the treachery of a Russian femme fatale, young Solita found herself in the care of her ‘Aunt’ Mildred in Italy – the cousin of her father’s comrade in arms Hugo Leigh. 
    On Aunt Mildred’s death, a destitute, angry and hurt Solita travels to England to confront her errant Guardian, now Duke of Calverleigh, who had vowed to care for her but apparently neglected his duty for ten long years.
    It is true, he had forgotten her – largely thanks to his all-consuming infatuation with a beautiful Russian Princess. The chastened Duke determines to take Solita under his protective wing – and, as his charm and kindness dissolve her resentment, Solita’s acute intuition and talent for language soon expose the wicked Princess’s plot to overthrow the British Raj in India. 
    In this well woven tale of intrigue, Solita and her Guardian are both in mortal danger – and when she saves the Duke’s life, not once but twice, he sees this innocent young beauty in a Heavenly new light.
    Show book