Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Backstairs Billy (NHB Modern Plays) - cover

Backstairs Billy (NHB Modern Plays)

Marcelo Dos Santos

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1979. Clarence House, London. The Queen Mother's receptions are in full swing and the champagne is flowing. Guiding the proceedings is William 'Billy' Tallon, page of the backstairs, keeper of the keys, holder of the royal corgis – and the royal secrets.
Outside the palace walls, unemployment, inflation and industrial action are bringing Britain to its knees, and the country is on the verge of changing seismically under Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. These two worlds are about to collide, with dizzying consequences for everyone…
Backstairs Billy examines the fifty-year relationship between the Queen Mother and her most loyal, most outrageous servant, who joined her household at the age of fifteen. Marcelo Dos Santos's irreverent comedy was first produced by the Michael Grandage Company at the Duke of York's Theatre, London, in 2023, directed by Grandage and starring Penelope Wilton and Luke Evans.
'One can't help where one is born. Or one's station, of course. The trick to happiness is to be content where one is. Or so I am told.'
'The best royal drama in a decade… Abounding with witty entertainment and curiosity value, it confirms the promise shown by Marcelo Dos Santos' - Telegraph
'Gleefully subversive and unexpectedly hard-hitting, with some great one-liners' - Time Out
'Smart and shrewd… the most unusual depiction of an unlikely duo since Judi Dench crossed wits with Billy Connolly in Mrs Brown… by turns devastating and delicious' - Arts Desk
'Plays like a cross between The Crown and X-rated PG Wodehouse' - The Times
'An early festive delight… makes The Crown look too careful' - Independent
'Bubblingly witty, with many great one-liners' - Financial Times
'A comedy of manners with a sprinkling of farce, conducted in cut-glass bon mots and bitchy sideswipes' - The Stage
'Full of zinging one-liners and laugh-out-loud moments… Every joke lands with the precision of a targeted missile, always suggesting the sharpness behind the smile… has all the trappings of a West End hit… Dos Santos is undoubtedly a talented writer, with a distinctive voice and a welcome wit' - WhatsOnStage
'Deliciously frothy… consistently funny and entertaining' - Evening Standard
'Fascinating… the writing has sophistication… the Queen Mother would have loved it' - Guardian
Available since: 11/16/2023.
Print length: 112 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Phoenix and the Turtle The Passionate Pilgrim - Performed by Olivier Award Nominee Gerard Logan - cover

    The Phoenix and the Turtle The...

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Passionate Pilgrim, a collection of beautiful verses by Shakespeare and other contemporary poets, is here paired with the Bard's intriguing allegorical work The Phoenix and the Turtle, which focuses on the love and death of two birds a Phoenix and a Turtle Dove. Mysterious and haunting, these rarely recorded works are richly rewarding, performed to perfection by Gerard Logan. Highly praised for his performance of Shakespeare's The Rape of Lucrece, AUK Classics now bring you a wonderful set of readings from Olivier Award nominated actor Gerard Logan. This collection of readings will delight and enthrall in equal measure, and will appeal to many people, from casual listeners to true Shakespare fans. It may also be seen as a masterclass for aspiring performers, and will enhance any audiobook collection.
    Show book
  • Into Light Volume Three - cover

    Into Light Volume Three

    M. D. Friedman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The last 22 poems from M. D. Friedman's INTO LIGHT poetry book. Volume Three includes both of my popular "harmonica poems" as well as some of my best meditative poems, including "Wonder Moment," with newly composed indigenous flute accompaniment. Also, you can buy the print book, as well as audio book and e-book editions of INTO LIGHT at liquidlightpress.com/IntoLight.htm.
    Show book
  • The Divine Comedy - Inferno Purgatory and Paradise - cover

    The Divine Comedy - Inferno...

    Dante Alighieri

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The medieval classic that takes readers on a guided tour of the afterlife and on a spiritual journey toward God. Written in the fourteenth century, this epic poem continues to entrance readers as it explores the nine circles of hell, the mountain of purgatory, and the spheres of heaven, detailing those who inhabit each and the sins and virtues that led them there. This masterpiece is a work of literature, history, psychology, and philosophy—and a deeply insightful exploration of Christian theology that, in painting a picture of the afterlife, allows us to reflect on earthly life as well.
    Show book
  • This Way to Change - A Gentle Guide to Personal Transformation and Collective Liberation―Prose Poems Practices - cover

    This Way to Change - A Gentle...

    Jezz Chung

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Artist, poet, and performer Jezz Chung (they/them) focuses on cultural change through personal transformation. In This Way to Change, Jezz shares contemporary poetry, accessible prose, and healing practices from different therapeutic modalities to explore subjects like healing your inner child, nourishing friendships, decolonizing your thinking, deconstructing binaries, and intentional community-making. The interactive healing practices in this book include writing and reflection prompts, somatic exercises, guided meditations, and more to help listeners tap into their powers of self-healing on their journey through change.Perfect for:● Anyone interested in social justice, racial and disability issues, LGBTQIA+ and other marginalized identity issues● Those seeking guidance in alternative wellness, self-guided healing, intentional community building, and collective care● AAPI listeners interested in Jezz Chung's Korean American perspective on identity, decolonization, and intergenerational trauma● Fans of Self-Love Poetry, Heart Talk, and such bestselling authors as Alexandra Elle and Yung Pueblo
    Show book
  • Punks - New Selected Poems - cover

    Punks - New Selected Poems

    John Keene

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A landmark collection of poetry by acclaimed fiction writer, translator, and MacArthur Fellow John Keene, Punks: New  Selected Poems is a generous treasury in seven sections that spans decades and includes previously unpublished and brand new work. With depth and breadth, Punks weaves together historic narratives of loss, lust, and love. The many voices that emerge in these poems—from historic Black personalities, both familial and famous, to the poet's friends and lovers in gay bars and bedrooms—form a cast of characters capable of addressing desire, oppression, AIDS, and grief through sorrowful songs that "we sing as hard as we live." At home in countless poetic forms, Punks reconfirms John Keene as one of the most important voices in contemporary poetry.
    Show book
  • The Anatomy of Clay - cover

    The Anatomy of Clay

    Gillian Sze

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Taking off from the myth of human creation, this poetic collection explores the individual as a sentient mystery. The first section examines overlooked moments with urban characters — the woman on the bus, a neighbor talking to plants, or the girl smoking after a storm. The second section takes a confessional turn towards the author's inner life. At times reflective, instructional, playful, or strange, exception is found in the ineffable distinctions between people, selves, objects, and histories.
    Show book