Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Yule-Tide Yarns - Christmas Tales: A Festive Anthology of Yuletide Stories by English Authors - cover

Yule-Tide Yarns - Christmas Tales: A Festive Anthology of Yuletide Stories by English Authors

Robert Leighton, George Manville Fenn, Harry Collingwood, John Bloundelle-Burton, David Ker, G. A. Henty, Percy Groves, E. F. Pollard, W. C. Whistler, Fred Whishaw

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Yule-Tide Yarns stands as a remarkable anthology that brings together a collection of tales imbued with the festive spirit of Yuletide, weaving a rich tapestry of narratives that showcases a diverse array of literary styles. This collection distinguishes itself by spanning a wide spectrum of themes, from adventure and camaraderie to the reflective and introspective, capturing the essence of the holiday season through various lenses. The anthology is notable for its inclusion of works that range from high-seas adventures to more grounded, heartwarming tales, echoing the vast and multifaceted nature of Yule-time celebrations. The chosen pieces underline the significance of the anthology within the broader literary context, highlighting the enduring charm and appeal of seasonal storytelling. The contributors to Yule-Tide Yarns are a cadre of esteemed authors well-versed in crafting engaging narratives that resonate with readers across generations. This collective encompasses writers like Robert Leighton, George Manville Fenn, and others, known for their contributions to genres that span historical fiction, adventure, and beyond, reflecting a rich heritage of English literature. Their collective works within this anthology resonate with the cultural and social mores of their times, offering insights into the eras in which they wrote. Rooted in distinct periods and locales, these stories not only entertain but also serve as cultural artifacts, providing commentary on Victorian and early Edwardian society's values and traditions. This tapestry of tales aligns with the broader literary movements of the 19th and early 20th centuries, wherein storytelling served both as escapism and moral instruction. Yule-Tide Yarns is highly recommended for readers seeking to immerse themselves in the spirit of the holiday season through a literary lens. This anthology presents a unique opportunity to explore an eclectic mix of stories that together celebrate the richness of Yuletide traditions. Readers will find themselves transported through a variety of settings and narratives, all while engaging with the historical and cultural contexts that shaped these tales. This collection is not only a testament to the storytelling prowess of its contributors but also an educational journey into the mores and values of past societies. It invites readers to revel in the joy, reflection, and camaraderie that define the holiday season, making it an essential addition to any festive reading list.
Available since: 10/19/2023.
Print length: 262 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Timber Trails - cover

    Timber Trails

    Loren Robinson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    TIMBER TRAILS is the final book in The American Blend Series. In 1781, a British soldier at Yorktown predicted to a patriot that some day their families would be united, forming their American Blend. The prediction came true in 1920 when Calvin Roberts met Lori Genet. But Calvin first had to survive the Flu epidemic of 1918, and Lori had to survive the death of her fiance, in World War I. Together they faced an uncertain future, the 1930's depression, Calvin's suicide bout, and World War II where both their sons are reported missing in action. The timber trails mean peace to Calvin and yet, danger to his son, Brad.
    Show book
  • Women in War - An emotional and powerful family saga from bestseller Lizzie Lane - cover

    Women in War - An emotional and...

    Lizzie Lane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    She must face the terror of war alone to survive… 
    1939 - India When headstrong Nadine Burton learns that the woman, she thought was her Indian Ayah was in fact her mother, she rebels against her father in a flamboyant display of disrespect and dares to dance with her two local best friends at a public party. Her father, local official, Roland Frederick Burton is furious. He arranges for her to be exiled from India and married off to Australian Martin McPherson, owner of a rubber plantation north of Singapore.  Within a year Singapore falls to the Japanese. Martin is killed and Nadine becomes a prisoner of war, imprisoned in Sumatra, where her dancing skills don’t go unnoticed by her captors.  Amidst the horror she finds a friend in a Japanese American major caught up in the war whilst visiting his grandparents in Japan.  Much like her, he straddles two cultures and worlds. As their love deepens, boundaries are crossed and together they must unite to survive. Don't miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman's determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Fiona Valpy. Previously published as 'East of India' by Erica Brown
    Show book
  • Persuasion - cover

    Persuasion

    Jane Austen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Persuasion" is a novel by Jane Austen, published posthumously in 1818. The story centers around Anne Elliot, a woman in her late twenties who once broke off her engagement to Captain Frederick Wentworth under the influence of her family and friends who deemed him unworthy. Years later, Wentworth returns, now wealthy and successful, and Anne must navigate complex emotions, societal pressures, and the intricacies of second chances. The novel is often praised for its mature and nuanced exploration of love, regret, and the passing of time, and it's considered one of Austen's most sophisticated works.
    Show book
  • A Perfect Heritage - A Novel - cover

    A Perfect Heritage - A Novel

    Penny Vincenzi

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A Perfect Heritage is, like the cosmetics company it profiles, a classic and very much worth the investment.” —Bookreporter 
     
    The House of Farrell is a prolific skincare company and home of The Cream, an iconic face product that has seen women flocking to its flagship London store since 1953. At Farrell, you can rely on the personal touch that has been their trademark for generations.  
     
    The legendary Athina Farrell remains the company’s figurehead in her kingdom at the Berkeley Arcade, while Florence Hamilton plies their cosmetics with the utmost care and discretion. She is sales advisor—and holder of secrets—extraordinaire. But of course the world of cosmetics is changing and the once glorious House of Farrell is now in decline, its customers tempted away by more fashionable brands.  
     
    With no idea how to right the ship, Athina hires Bianca Bailey, a formidable businesswoman, mother of three, and someone who always gets her way. Athina and Bianca lock horns over the future of the House of Farrell but it is the past that tells its devastating tale of ambition and ego, passion and wonder. A perfect summer read, this is Penny Vincenzi at her finest. 
     
    “Superbly blending the past with the present, the author not only writes a truly solid soap opera but takes an in-depth look at the world of cosmetics, advertising, and business.” —Library Journal (starred review) 
     
    Praise for Penny Vincenzi 
     
    “The doyenne of the modern blockbuster.” —Glamour 
     
    “Soap opera? You bet—but with her well-drawn characters and engaging style, Vincenzi keeps things humming.” —People 
     
    “Nobody writes smart, page-turning commercial women’s fiction like Vincenzi.” —USA Today
    Show book
  • Siddhartha - cover

    Siddhartha

    Hermann Hesse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An enlightening timeless story for people of all ages and all times. In this story of a wealthy Indian Brahmin who casts off a life of privilege to seek spiritual fulfillment. Hesse synthesizes disparate philosophies--Eastern religions, Jungian archetypes, Western individualism--into a unique vision of life as expressed through one man's search for meaning.  Herman Hesse's classic novel has delighted, inspired, and influenced generations of readers, writers, and thinkers.
    Show book
  • Daughter of the Tide - cover

    Daughter of the Tide

    Leah Fleming

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    1939. A compelling romantic saga set on a remote Hebridean isle.As children on the island of Phetray, Minn Macfee, a cottar's daughter, and Ewan Mackinnon, the Minister's son, are bound together by the accidental drowning of Ewan's sister. Ewan is blamed and Minn shunned. As the two children grow, they must go their separate ways grieving. Just before the outbreak of the Second World War Ewan returns to Phetray, now a handsome sailor. He falls in love with Minn's fragile beauty and enchanting singing voice. But they are separated again when Ewan joins the Special Boat Squadron and embarks for France. Throughout the years the two always seem to find their way back together, but fate always steps in to intervene...Touched by tragedy, misunderstanding, and the weight of family disapproval, their love seems destined to die.
    Show book