Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shifty's Boys - cover

Shifty's Boys

Chris Offutt

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Army cop-turned-small-town-investigator Mick Hardin returns to Appalachia in this propulsive thriller from the award-winning author of The Killing Hills. Mick Hardin is an Army CID officer home on leave, recovering from an IED attack and flirting with prescription painkillers, when a body is found in the center of town. It’s Barney Kissick, the local heroin dealer, and the city police see it as an occupational hazard. But when Barney’s mother, Shifty, asks Mick to take a look, it seems there’s more to the killing than it seems. Mick should be rehabbing his leg, signing his divorce papers, and getting out of town—and most of all, staying out of the way of his sister’s reelection as Sheriff—but he keeps on looking, and suddenly he’s getting shot at himself. A dark, pacy crime novel about grief and revenge, and the surprises hidden below the surface, Shifty’s Boys is a tour de force that confirms Mick Hardin as one of the most appealing new investigators in fiction.Praise for The Killing Hills “[A] work of rural noir whose characters’ singular codes lead to constant surprises.” —The Wall Street Journal “Dark, but deeply humane. The love in this book is deep and powerful. And winsome twinkles shine through the blackness throughout, thanks in no small part to Offutt’s keen ear and eye.” —The New York Times “Sense of place also steams off the pages . . . Pitch-perfect in its tone and dialogue, if more interested in mood than in the business of plot, this is what Jack Reacher wants to be when it grows up.” —The Times [UK]
Available since: 06/07/2022.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Kat and Mouse Murder Mysteries One to Four - Murder Undeniable Murder Unexpected Murder Unearthed and Murder Untimely - cover

    The Kat and Mouse Murder...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In one ebook volume: the first four books of the bestselling cosy series featuring the female sleuths of the Connection Investigation Agency. 
     
    Murder Undeniable 
     
    Katerina Rowe, a Deacon at the church in the sleepy village of Eyam, is happily married and her work is rewarding. But everything changes when she discovers the body of a man and a badly beaten woman, Beth, in the alleyway behind her husband’s pharmacy. With help from both Beth and her feisty grandmother, Doris, Kat finds herself trying to solve a baffling mystery. 
     
    Murder Unexpected 
     
    Kat and Beth, known as Mouse, have started a private investigation business in the sleepy village of Eyam. When a widow asks the sleuths for help, they find themselves searching for the birth mother of the widow’s husband—and are drawn into a deadly chase where nothing is what it seems. 
     
    Murder Unearthed 
     
    The local police have a double murder to contend with; two dead girls from the same village. Realising the murders aren’t linked, they summon the help of the Connection Investigation Agency, run by Kat, Mouse, and Doris. When it is discovered that one of the murdered girls was pregnant, the case takes an unexpected turn . . . 
     
    Murder Untimely 
     
    Early one morning, a body is discovered on the grounds of a local estate. The police soon learn that the victim is Nicola Armstrong, the mother of a child who disappeared ten years prior to her murder. The Connection investigators are brought in to help, but when a second body is found at Chatsworth, they must race against time to stop a killer.
    Show book
  • Gamble - A Gripping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Gamble - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of best friends sparks a sinister chain of events in this thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse mysteries. 
     
    Would you risk everything to protect your family? Carla Andrews and Lorraine West are work colleagues and best friends. They socialise together, they work in the same bookmakers and they support each other as only best friends can. 
     
    Then they are murdered together. 
     
    When DI Tom Fowler is handed the case, he discovers a journal that Carla has left and must unpick the secrets Lorraine has kept hidden. 
     
    Soon Carla’s and Lorraine’s husbands become the main suspects. It’s usually the spouse who is responsible, isn’t it? 
     
    The investigation progresses until Lorraine’s sixteen-year-old son disappears. Will the truth ever emerge? And is knowing the truth always worth the sacrifice? 
     
    Praise for the thrillers of Anita Waller 
     
    “Once again Anita Waller brings the reader a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist that will leave you speechless.” —Once Upon a Time Book Reviews 
     
    “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller because I know I will not be able to put it down and I will be thoroughly surprised and entertained.” —Avonna Loves Genres 
     
    “A must-read for crime thriller readers.” —Bookstormer 
     
    “A really well written, gripping book with plenty of twists for me!” —Donna’s Book Blog 
     
    “A tense, drama-packed read. I was literally biting my nails by the end.” —On the Shelf Reviews
    Show book
  • Highwayman - cover

    Highwayman

    MJ Preston

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First in the serial killer series from the author of Four. “A stunning achievement! . . . Prose of this quality is rare in horror stories.” —San Francisco Review of Books Meet Lance Belanger, he has only one ambition, to be the most infamous killer of all time. After murdering a single mom and her toddler child, Lance indoctrinates himself into the world of serial murder. Before long, the bodies start turning up all over the country. Each victim is incapacitated by a puncture wound to the spine, then, while still alive, they are dismembered, their arms, legs, and head are severed from the torso.   FBI investigators call their killer “Highwayman.” But beyond the multi-state dumping of staged victims, the killer has left them little else to go on. With no DNA or forensic evidence, veteran FBI agent Lewis Ash is in a race against retirement as he tracks the elusive murderer.   Meanwhile, Lance has other plans that will up his game and increase his body count. In a web of murder that reaches from the United States to Bucharest, Romania, a diabolical plan is set into motion to attract the most dangerous predators the world has to offer . . .   “Brilliant, haunting . . . M.J. Preston has created a gripping thriller that few readers will be able to put down. Not for the faint of heart, the story plays out like a cinematic tale that is waiting to be told and creates a modern-day killer that is sure to haunt the dreams of many a reader.” —Anthony Avina, author of Identity
    Show book
  • Strategy - cover

    Strategy

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A serial killer has some loose ends to tie up in this riveting psychological thriller—a follow-up to the international bestseller, 34 Days. 
     
    How much can one family take? 
     
    Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to his son. 
     
    Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did she leave the letters behind but also her young daughter, Grace. 
     
    Now Jenny has a plan, a strategy, to get the letters back. But it’s not only the letters that Jenny has in her sights . . . 
     
    “A gripping and tense follow-up that is an absolute must read for fans of 34 Days.” —bytheletterbookreviews 
     
    “Plenty of twists and turns.” —If Only I Could Read Faster 
     
    “An epic read . . . A super follow-on from 34 Days.” —Books From Dusk Till Dawn
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • Winterscroft - A Gripping Suspense Thriller - cover

    Winterscroft - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wedding plans at an English manor stir melancholy memories—and angry spirits—in this contemporary gothic thriller. 
     
    When Lavender Paulson dies in a tragic car accident, her family and fiancé Matt are left devastated. As the year’s pass and wounds heal, Matt remains close with the Paulson family, visiting them often at their beautiful home, Winterscroft, in Derbyshire. 
     
    When Matt falls in love again, the Paulsons are happy for him. But when he and his new love Beth announce their engagement, it sets off a series of bizarre and disturbing events. 
     
    As Matt and Beth make plans to wed at Winterscroft, the frightening truth becomes apparent. Lavender is back. And she is not happy.
    Show book