Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Xmas Thrillers: The Greatest Holiday Mysteries in One Volume - Unveiling Yuletide Enigmas: A Collection of Festive Thrillers - cover

Xmas Thrillers: The Greatest Holiday Mysteries in One Volume - Unveiling Yuletide Enigmas: A Collection of Festive Thrillers

Charles Dickens, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, George MacDonald, Saki Saki, Robert Louis Stevenson, Grant Allen, John Kendrick Bangs, Bithia Mary Croker, Florence Marryat, Edgar Wallace, G. K. Chesterton, J.M. Barrie, E.F. Benson, Jerome K. Jerome, M. R. James, Algernon Blackwood, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sabine Baring-Gould, R. Austin Freeman, Fred M. White, Frank R. Stockton, Fergus Hume, James Bowker, Thomas Hardy, Catherine Crowe, Katherine Rickford, Arthur Cheney Train, William Douglas O'Connor, Leonard Kip, Catherine L. Pirkis, Lucie E. Jackson, Emmuska Orczy, Louisa M. Alcott, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In 'Xmas Thrillers: The Greatest Holiday Mysteries in One Volume', the spirit of Christmas takes a thrilling twist as it weaves through the corridors of mystery and suspense. This anthology is a masterful collection that spans a wide range of literary styles, from the classic Victorian gothic to the cunning puzzles of the golden age of detective fiction. Highlighting remarkable diversity within its pages, it amalgamates the works of some of the most influential authors in the genre. The anthology stands out not only for the significance of its individual pieces but also for its coherent exploration of the darker, more enigmatic aspects of the festive season, offering readers a unique blend of yuletide cheer and chilling intrigue. The contributing authors and editors bring to the collection a rich tapestry of backgrounds, ranging from the venerable maestros of the Victorian era to the pioneering spirits of the early twentieth century. Each author's contribution is a testament to the vibrancy and complexity of the time periods and cultural movements they represent, collectively painting a multifaceted portrayal of Christmas. The fusion of historical, cultural, and literary insights provided by these varied voices offers a profound exploration of the holiday's complexities, presenting a multifarious perspective that enriches the reader's understanding of the anthologys central theme. 'Xmas Thrillers: The Greatest Holiday Mysteries in One Volume' is an indispensable read for those looking to immerse themselves in the depth and breadth of Christmas-themed literary artistry. It invites readers to explore a multitude of perspectives, styles, and themes, all while engaging in a dialogue with some of the most iconic figures in literature. For the enthusiast of mysteries and the lover of holiday stories alike, this collection offers a unique educational value, promising insights and entertainment that cut across the conventional boundaries of the genre. This anthology is not just a book; it's an experience, perfect for anyone eager to explore the intricate interplay between joy, mystery, and the enduring spirit of Christmas.
Available since: 12/02/2023.
Print length: 1273 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Midwinter's Tail - cover

    A Midwinter's Tail

    Bethany Blake

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    To bark or not to bark . . .Professional pet sitter Daphne Templeton loves the holidays in Sylvan Creek, Pennsylvania. And nothing gets her into the spirit more than the town's annual Bark the Halls Ball. The whole community will be there to wag their tails, especially this year's special guest—Celeste "CeeCee" French, founder of a national chain of pet care franchises, who's returning home to announce plans for a bright new flagship store. But not everyone's celebrating CeeCee's homecoming. Daphne's friend Moxie Bloom, owner of Spa and Paw, a unique salon for people and their pets, has plenty to growl about. So when CeeCee is found face down under Sylvan Creek's town Christmas tree, stabbed with a distinctive pair of professional-grade pet shears, suspicion lands squarely on Moxie. Despite Daphne's promises to Detective Jonathan Black, she quickly reprises her role as amateur sleuth. Ably assisted by her basset hound sidekick, Socrates, she must hurry to prove her friend's innocence before a killer barks again . . .
    Show book
  • Stalking the Ripper - DI Declan Walsh Crime Thrillers Book 11 - cover

    Stalking the Ripper - DI Declan...

    Jack Gatland

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    If you hunt - prepare to be hunted. 
     
    When the body of convicted serial killer Jacob Spears, AKA the 'Essex Ripper' is found, hanged outside the walls of onetime Newgate Prison, DI Declan Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon find themselves in a race against time--as they hunt a vicious vigilante, targeting serial killers, and leaving a trail of executed bodies at locations connected to London's violent capital punishment past. 
     
    But with one of their own personally connected to the murders, and with public opinion split on whether the killer should even be arrested, Declan finds himself once more tied to current Prime Minister Charles Baker, as Baker uses the murders as a chance to push through a controversial legal bill; a political campaign that places Declan, his family and the 
    Last Chance Saloon within the killer's crosshairs... 
     
    And which, by the end, will change the life of one of them forever... 
    The eleventh book in a series of procedural crime thrillers by #1 New York Times bestselling writer Tony Lee writing as Jack Gatland, Stalking The Ripper is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Alex Smith, David Gatward, Rachel McLean and Ann Cleeves, among others.
    Show book
  • Never Been Hexed - cover

    Never Been Hexed

    Christine Zane Thomas

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Constance Campbell learned on her fortieth birthday that she comes from a long line of witches.Now, struggling to learn her magic, Constance dives deeper into her family’s sordid past.Constance vows to find the truth behind her mother's disappearance. She's determined to seek out the Faction, an order of witches and warlocks vying for power in the supernatural world.But when Constance's father shows up looking a little ghostly pale and see-through, she has other problems to solve. Like who killed him and why. And is she next on their list?Can Constance find her father's killer? Is her mother still alive somewhere? And can Constance save herself before either the Faction or her father's killer put an end to her as well?
    Show book
  • The Horse's Mouth - cover

    The Horse's Mouth

    Phillip Strang

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A day at the races for Detective Inspector Tremayne, idyllic at the outset, soon changes. A horse is dead, and then the owner's daughter is found murdered, and Tremayne's there when the body is discovered.The question is, was Tremayne set up, in the wrong place at the right time? He's the cast-iron alibi for one of the suspects, and he knows that one murder leads to two, and more often than not, to three.The dead woman had a checkered history, not as much as her father, and then a man commits suicide. Is he the murderer, or was he the unfortunate consequence of a tragic love affair? And who was it in the stable with the woman just before she died? There is more than one person who could have killed her, and all of them have secrets they would rather not be known.Tremayne's health is troubling him. Is what they are saying correct? Is it time for him to retire, to take it easy and to put his feet up? But that's not his style, and he'll not give up on solving the murder.
    Show book
  • Lost Family Files Vol 1 The - The Adams - cover

    Lost Family Files Vol 1 The -...

    Alli Mohammed

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Theme: Family Bonds and PrioritiesFamily Unity and SupportThe Adams family faced multiple challenges that threatened to tear them apart. However, they ultimately came together to support each other and overcome the obstacles they faced. This highlights the theme of family unity and the strength that comes from standing together in difficult times.Reevaluation of PrioritiesThe events the family went through forced them to reevaluate their priorities. Mr. Adams realized the importance of spending more time with his family, and Mrs. Adams understood the value of being present for her children. This highlights the theme of reassessing priorities and understanding the significance of familial bonds over material success.Overcoming AdversityThe family's journey involved facing legal troubles, betrayal, and even physical danger. Through their resilience and determination, they were able to overcome these challenges. This emphasizes the theme of family resilience and the ability to overcome adversity when standing together.Unbreakable LoveThe Adams family's experience underscored the unbreakable love and bond that held them together through the toughest of times. This reinforces the theme of deep familial love and the strength it provides in navigating life's difficulties. 
    In conclusion, the central theme of the story revolves around the strength of family bonds, the reevaluation of priorities, the ability to overcome adversity, and the unbreakable love that holds a family together. The Adams family's journey reflects the importance of cherishing and nurturing these familial connections in the face of life's challenges.
    Show book
  • Wish to Die - cover

    Wish to Die

    Robert Walton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An archaeologist plunges into a hunt for the Amber Room—the famed looted treasure from WWII-era Russia—in this fast-paced international thriller. The sunny Greek countryside and a beautiful woman might seem like the ingredients for a perfect vacation. But intrepid archaeologist Harry Thursday seems unable to have a good time if someone isn’t trying to kill him. . . . Fortunately, an international cold case dating back to World War II is warming up again. Back then, the Russian Amber Room and a hoard of diamonds worth 200 million dollars were stolen from Göring’s Kunstschutz commander, Erich Koch. Now, over thirty years later, Russian art historian Elina Kulinov is attempting to recover these items when Harry Thursday stumbles along—and he joins her in a race against a Philadelphia museum and SMERSH. With everyone looking for the same items, who will get to them first? And who will be left empty-handed—or dead?Praise for the Harry Tuesday novels   “A well-written, action-packed thriller, with enough twists and surprises to keep you turning the page.” —Carmen Finestra, producer of Home Improvement   “Highly recommended for fans of Douglas Preston and James Rollins.” —Bella Wright, Best Thriller   “[A] page-turner.” —Serious Reading Magazine
    Show book