Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mysteries for Christmas - Boxed Set - 50+ Detective Tales Ghost Stories and Eerie Suspense Thrillers - cover

Mysteries for Christmas - Boxed Set - 50+ Detective Tales Ghost Stories and Eerie Suspense Thrillers

Charles Dickens, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, George MacDonald, Saki Saki, Robert Louis Stevenson, Grant Allen, John Kendrick Bangs, Marie orelli, Edgar Wallace, G. K. Chesterton, J.M. Barrie, E.F. Benson, Jerome K. Jerome, M.R. James, Algernon Blackwood, Agatha Christie, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Nikolai Gogol, Arthur Conan Doyle, Hugh Walpole, Sabine Baring-Gould, Fred M. White, Fergus Hume, Thomas Hardy, Arthur Cheney Train, Louisa M. Alcott, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, Douglas O'Connor

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The 'Mysteries for Christmas - Boxed Set' presents an erudite collection of tales, composed by an illustrious roster of authors, whose works span a diverse spectrum of styles and periods. This anthology weaves an intricate tapestry of narrative suspense and intrigue, situated within the festive context of Christmas. From the atmospheric horror of Victorian gothic to the cunning rationalism of early twentieth-century detective fiction, the collection showcases the evolution of the mystery genre. Standout pieces illuminate the thematic and stylistic shifts that have defined literary portrayals of mystery and investigation, underscoring the genre's adaptation to various moral, social, and psychological contexts. The contributing authors, ranging from Charles Dickens to Agatha Christie, embody a broad constellation of literary movements, reflecting an array of cultural, historical, and philosophical orientations. These authors have significantly influenced the contours of English literature, particularly in the realms of supernatural fiction, detective stories, and psychological thrillers. Their collective works engage with prevailing attitudes toward science, rationality, and the supernatural, offering a panoramic view of the genre's evolution across the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The anthology, by converging these distinct voices, provides a unique exploration into the mystery genre's multifaceted nature. 'Mysteries for Christmas - Boxed Set' is an indispensable volume for both the casual reader and the discerning scholar. It affords a splendid opportunity to delve into the complexities and delights of mystery fiction, framed within the enchanting context of Christmas. Readers are encouraged to traverse the myriad landscapes of suspense, morality, and human curiosity that this collection uniquely offers. It stands as a testimony to the enduring appeal of mystery and the unending quest for understanding that drives human imagination, making it a perfect companion for the holiday season and beyond.
Available since: 12/23/2023.
Print length: 1683 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • You Better Knot Die - A Crochet Mystery - cover

    You Better Knot Die - A Crochet...

    Betty Hechtman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Her crochet group, The Tarzana Hookers, is working overtime for the holidays—but Molly Pink is having trouble finding time to crochet so much as a snowflake. The bookstore where she works is adding a yarn department, and planning a huge launch party where the mysterious author of a popular series will reveal his or her true identity. 
    But before the author appears, another person disappears. The husband of Molly's neighbor is missing. When a suicide note arrives, it appears the husband has jumped off the Catalina Ferry—but Molly smells something fishy. Despite the protestations of her detective boyfriend, Molly's soon hooked on unraveling another mystery. She better watch out—or her sleuthing may get her on someone's naughty list . . .
    Show book
  • Little Leaf Creek Cozy Mysteries Books 1 - 3 - cover

    Little Leaf Creek Cozy Mysteries...

    Cindy Bell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Start a fun cozy mystery series with two determined female sleuths, a lovable collie mix and two cheeky goats, with the first three books in the bestselling Little Leaf Creek Cozy Mystery Series in this box set. 
    Cassie’s new home in the country comes with an antiquated historical society, an ornery next-door neighbor, and a murder victim on her front lawn… 
    After the sudden death of her husband, Cassie Alberta leaves city life behind and moves to the small town of Little Leaf Creek, looking for a new beginning. She’s immediately charmed by the quaint little town, even though her first encounter with her neighbor’s adorable dog and cheeky goats shows her that she has a lot to learn about country life. Add in an unlikely friendship with her dessert-baking neighbor and a developing romance with a charming, handsome local, her new life is better than anything she expected. 
    The only problem is that Little Leaf Creek has more than its fair share of murder mysteries and Cassie's naturally curious nature kicks in. She can't resist lending a helping hand to get to the truth. She partners with her ex-cop next-door neighbor to do a little sleuthing, with a little help from their animal sidekicks. Their sleuthing adventures are filled with delicious desserts, fun, friendship and a whole lot of danger. 
    This box set includes: 
    Chaos in Little Leaf Creek 
    Peril in Little Leaf Creek 
    Conflict in Little Leaf Creek 
    If you like clean, page-turning cozy mysteries with strong female sleuths, sweet treats, unlikely friendships, quirky characters, lovable animals and baffling murder mysteries, you'll love these heartwarming whodunnits by USA Today and WSJ Bestselling Author Cindy Bell. 
    Get this three book Little Leaf Creek Cozy Mystery Box Set and start solving the mysteries today!
    Show book
  • Her Father's Daughter - cover

    Her Father's Daughter

    T. M. Dunn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Twenty-five-year-old Linda Donovan has spent her life working for her father, Anthony, at Donovan and Daughter Exterminators in New York City. On the anniversary of her mother’s death, her father makes his annual visit to his late wife’s grave while Linda heads to a Park Avenue apartment building to work solo. When she arrives, she finds the body of an elderly resident, partially eaten by rats. The gruesome death not only speaks poorly of the Donovans’ exterminating services, it also points to foul play. When the cops show up, they demand to speak to Linda’s father. But despite her efforts to contact him, Anthony has gone off the radar. As he evades a possible murder charge, Linda’s father records in five notebooks—and five damning acts—the story of how he met and fell in love with her mother, a previously untold history of familial abuse, tormented souls, and true love gone terribly wrong. Skillfully weaving together domestic suspense, a desperate police investigation, a love affair, and a serial killer on the loose, acclaimed author T. M. Dunn’s Her Father’s Daughter is perfect for fans of Oyinkan Braithwaite and Karen Dionne.
    Show book
  • Exile - A Thriller - cover

    Exile - A Thriller

    Richard North Patterson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    David Wolfe's life is approaching an exhilarating peak: a successful San Francisco lawyer, he's about to get married and has been primed for a run for Congress. But when the phone rings and he hears the voice of Hana Arif-the Palestinian woman with whom he had a passionate affair in law school—he begins a completely unexpected journey. The day after Hana's call, the Prime Minister of Israel is assassinated by a suicide bomber; soon, Hana herself is accused of being the mastermind behind the murder. Now David must make an agonizing decision: Will he, a Jew, represent Hana—who may well be guilty—or will he turn away a woman he can never forget?         
    Ultimately David's guest takes him to Israel and the West Bank, where, in a series of harrowing encounters, he learns that appearances are not at all what they seem. Culminating in a tense and startling trial with international ramifications, Exile is that rare audio-book that both entertains and enlightens. At once an intricate tale of betrayal and deception, a moving love story, and a fascinating journey into the lethal politics of the Middle East, this is Richard North Patterson at his most brilliant and engrossing.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • Murder in Little Venice - cover

    Murder in Little Venice

    Phillip Strang

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A dismembered corpse floats in a canal in London. Isaac Cook is baffled as to why it's there. Is it gang-related, or is it something more?Whatever the reason, it's clearly a warning, and Isaac and his team are sure it's not the last body that they'll have to deal with.
    Show book
  • Accidental Murder An - cover

    Accidental Murder An

    J. New

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a strange child follows her home on the train from London, Ella Bridges feels bound to help her. However she soon discovers the child is not what she seems. 
    Having recently moved into a large home on Linhay Island, affectionately known locally as The Yellow Cottage, Ella finds herself at the center of a murder investigation thanks to a special gift from the previous house owner. 
    Along with her unusual sidekick, a former cottage resident, Ella follows clues which take her to the heart of London. As the mystery unravels, she is forced to enter the lion's den to solve the crime and stop the perpetrator. But can she do it before she becomes the next victim?
    Show book