Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Exploits of Brigadier Gerard - cover

The Exploits of Brigadier Gerard

Arthur Conan Doyle

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Stories of adventures and derring-do featuring the man who is “after Holmes and Watson, Arthur Conan Doyle’s most successful literary creation” (Julian Symons, Edgar Award–winning British crime writer).   Originally published in The Strand magazine in the 1890s, the tales of Etienne Gerard, a veteran of the Napoleonic Wars, shows Arthur Conan Doyle at his satiric best. In his own words, Gerard takes readers through his illustrious career, his glorious feats as a lieutenant, squadron officer, colonel, and chief of a brigade. It is a hero’s journey, embarked on by a man known far and wide for his duel with six fencing masters, and who found glory on the battlefield and taught Europe how to fight.   Follow Gerard on his exploits as he encounters a man rumored to be the most wicked in Poland in “How the Brigadier Came to the Castle of Gloom.” “How the Brigadier Slew the Brothers of Ajaccio” portrays the very singular affair which propelled his career upwards and established his secret bond with Emperor Napoleon. And Gerard modestly recounts how he cemented his place in history as one of Napoleon’s greatest confidants in “How the Brigadier Was Tempted by the Devil.”  “In its pages you will find adventure, action, romance, love and self-sacrifice, hair’s-breadth escape and reckless courage, gallantry, panache and a droll, backhand humor that rivals that of P.G. Wodehouse. You will also find yourself, even more than with the celebrated stories of Holmes and Watson, in the hands of an indisputable artist. For more than any other adventure stories I know, these stories have a power to move the reader.” —Michael Chabon on NPR’s You Must Read This
Available since: 11/29/2022.
Print length: 438 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Widow's Breakfast - A Short Story from '20th Century Ghosts' - cover

    The Widow's Breakfast - A Short...

    Joe Hill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Killian is a drifter, a rail-car-rider, in the summer of '35, when no one can find work and even fewer make a living. But jumping off a train a little too soon one afternoon, he finds himself at the breakfast table of a recently widowed woman – and the recipient of an unexpected gift.A HarperAudio production.
    Show book
  • The Gatecrashers - cover

    The Gatecrashers

    Alexander Fullerton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The extraordinary, breathless final volume in the Nicholas Everard Naval Thrillers.Six submarines are about to be towed underwater from Scotland to Norway. Their targets: the giant German warships Tirpitz, Scharnhorst and Lutzow.The odds seem stacked against the smaller craft. But if they can survive the nightmarish 2,000-mile tow, Commander Paul Everard will have a chance to gatecrash the fjords and cripple the ship Churchill calls ‘the Beast’.Whether or not he succeeds, the chances of getting out alive are slim. If he fails, his father Nick Everard, escort commander for Arctic convoy PQ19, is in trouble: none of his ships can stand up to Tirpitz’s broadsides. As The Gatecrashers draws to its thunderous climax, father and son face their final and most searching test…Based on the thrilling true story of Operation Source, The Gatecrashers is the blistering culmination of the bestselling Nicholas Everard Naval Thrillers, perfect for fans of Max Hennessy and Alan Evans.Praise for The Nicholas Everard Naval Thrillers‘The prose has a real sense of urgency, and so has the theme. The tension rarely slackens.’ Times Literary Supplement‘The research is unimpeachable and the scent of battle quite overpowering.’ The Sunday Times‘The accuracy and flair of Forester at his best… carefully crafted, exciting and full of patiently assembled technical detail that never intrudes on a good narrative line’ Irish Times
    Show book
  • Between Rounds - cover

    Between Rounds

    O. Henry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    O. Henry was the pen name of William Sydney Porter (1862-1910), an American writer of outstanding short stories, known for their wit, wordplay, warm characterization, and surprise endings. "Between Rounds" is the tale of a lost child, the six-year old son of the owner of a boarding house with a colourful and ecclectic range of boarders. For the brief period of the child's absence the inhabitants pause in their regular activities and relationships. The interlude is described in a warm and gently humorous manner.
    Show book
  • The Christmas Miracle - Tales From The Shattered Earth - cover

    The Christmas Miracle - Tales...

    Josh Hilden

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    One year after the Shattering and the great collapse, survivors in Columbus, Ohio, are barely holding things together. Then, on December 24th, when all seemed lost, a new hero appears, and he is determined to protect all the children of the earth.
    Show book
  • A Haunted House - cover

    A Haunted House

    Virginia Woolf

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Adeline Virginia Woolf (January 1882-1941) was an English writer and one of the preeminent modernists of the 20th century. Her stories often seem to take the form of a stream of consciousness.'A Haunted House' tells the story of a ghostly couple flitting from one room to the next in search of their hidden treasure...but what is it?
    Show book
  • Old Fashioned Christmas Eve An - cover

    Old Fashioned Christmas Eve An

    Peter Christen Asbjørnsen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Peter Christen Asbjørnsen (1812 - 1885) was a Norwegian writer, scholar and collector of traditional folk tales. "An Old Fashioned Christmas Eve" describes a young Norwegian soldier recovering from an illness, who finds himself stranded on Christmas Eve with a family who sit around the fire telling a series of quite extraordinary folk tales and ghost stories.
    Show book