Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Terrible Tomboy - Adventures of a Spirited Tomboy in Early 20th Century British Boarding School - cover

A Terrible Tomboy - Adventures of a Spirited Tomboy in Early 20th Century British Boarding School

Angela Brazil

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Angela Brazil's 'A Terrible Tomboy' is a delightful coming-of-age novel that follows the adventures of the mischievous and spirited protagonist, Joan, as she navigates the challenges of growing up. The book is characterized by its engaging narrative style, vivid descriptions, and heartfelt exploration of friendship and self-discovery. Set in the early 20th century, Brazil's work offers a unique insight into the social norms and values of the time, making it a valuable piece of historical fiction. Readers will be captivated by Joan's humorous antics and relatable experiences as she learns important life lessons. Angela Brazil's writing is both charming and insightful, making 'A Terrible Tomboy' a timeless classic that continues to resonate with readers of all ages. This novel is a must-read for those who enjoy heartwarming stories filled with adventure, friendship, and personal growth.
Available since: 09/18/2023.
Print length: 203 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Story of the Nutcracker Audio - cover

    The Story of the Nutcracker Audio

    E. T. A. Hoffmann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Timeless Christmas Story 
    E.T.A. Hoffman's magical tale of an enchanted nutcracker, an evil mouse king, and a faithful young girl has been a holiday classic for generations. Combined here with the much-loved music of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite, the narrated story unfolds with a bewitching blend of wonder and drama that is sure to delight time and time again.  
    The celebrated actress, Claire Bloom, rose to international fame after her appearance in Charles Chaplin's movie masterpiece, Limelight. The classic tale of an enchanted nutcracker and an evil mouse king is paired with the sublime music of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite. A bewitching blend of wonder and drama that is sure to delight, time and time again. An ALA Notable Recording.
    Show book
  • The Little Mermaid - cover

    The Little Mermaid

    Sue Arengo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Children love stories. Bring the magic of good storytelling into your classroom with Classic Tales, and they'll love their English lessons too. Enjoy the sad tale of the mermaid who loved a prince.
    Show book
  • Black Star of Kingston The: Tales of Old Natalia 1 - cover

    Black Star of Kingston The:...

    S. D. Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Over a century before Heather and Picket's adventures in The Green Ember, a displaced community fights for hope on the ragged edge of survival.My place beside youMy blood for yoursTill the Green Ember risesOr the end of the world.Whitson Mariner and Fleck Blackstar face old fears and new enemies, forging a legend that will echo through the ages. Old wars haunt. New enemies threaten. An oath is born. A hero rises.
    Show book
  • A Deer Called Dotty - cover

    A Deer Called Dotty

    Helen Peters

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jasmine's dad is a farmer, and her mum is a large-animal vet, so Jasmine spends a lot of time caring for animals and keeping them out of trouble. Unfortunately, this often means she gets into hot water herself...
    
    A perfect animal story for younger readers by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted author Helen Peters, with beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ellie Snowdon.
    Jasmine's mother is called to help a pregnant deer who has been hit by a car. She performs an emergency Caesarean and delivers tiny, helpless Dotty, before handing her over to Jasmine to raise...
    Brilliant storytelling that will make you laugh and cry, this is Dick King-Smith for a new generation.
    Look out for Jasmine's other adventures!
    A Piglet Called Truffle
    A Duckling Called Button
    A Sheepdog Called Sky
    A Kitten Called Holly
    A Lamb Called Lucky
    A Goat Called Willow
    An Otter Called Pebble
    An Owl Called Star
    Show book
  • The Soccer Diaries Book 1 - Rocky Takes LA - cover

    The Soccer Diaries Book 1 -...

    Tom Palmer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Rocky Race is going to be the best soccer player in the world!Rocky Race is not your average fourteen-year-old. She's determined, ambitious, and the best football player you've ever seen. So, when she gets a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to attend a prestigious soccer camp in California, United States, she takes it. But far from home, Rocky suddenly finds herself out of her comfort zone. Fake friends, her own anxieties, and a brand-new world with strange rules all threaten to derail her new life before it's even started—does Rocky have what it takes to succeed?The Soccer Diaries is a brand-new series starring Rocky Race, a British footballer looking to make it big in a United States soccer school. Perfect for fans of Up For Air and Squad Goals!
    Show book
  • The Drone Pursuit - cover

    The Drone Pursuit

    Victor Appleton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When your dad funds the Swift Academy of Science and Technology, you’re bound to have a bunch of tech at your disposal. So no one bats an eye when Tom and his best friend, Noah, test their new virtual reality drone before class. At the academy, once class starts and the drone is parked, their brainiac friends then launch into farfetched discussions about the curriculum. And when they watch a documentary about the FBI’s most wanted hackers from the eighties, they quickly start speculating that the academy custodian is one of them. At first, Tom dismisses the idea as another one of his friends’ conspiracy theories. But using their new drone, he spies the custodian acting suspiciously around school. As Tom and his friends search for evidence that the custodian is the missing hacker, the signs become impossible to ignore when Tom gets threatening messages that warn him away from investigating. And when someone releases a virus in the school servers, all bets are off as the adjoining servers at tech giant Swift Enterprises come under fire. Can Tom and his friends uncover the true culprit before it’s too late?
    Show book