Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge - A Hercule Poirot Case - cover

The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge - A Hercule Poirot Case

Agatha Christie

Publisher: Diamond Book Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In Agatha Christie’s short story, “The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge,” Poirot and Hastings are enlisted by a Mr Roger Havering to help investigate the murder of his aristocrat uncle at his hunting lodge. Hastings discusses the murder with the housekeeper on the scene, but Poirot quickly deduces that her story doesn’t add up.

Other books that might interest you

  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book
  • The Connection Trilogy - Blood Red Code Blue Mortal Green - cover

    The Connection Trilogy - Blood...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three novels starring the dedicated investigators at the Connection Investigation Agency: “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller.” —Avonna Loves Genres The Connection Investigation Agency team takes on crimes old and new in this collection of thrillers by the bestselling author, including:Blood Red The Connection Investigation Agency has seen big changes, and new partners Tessa, Luke, and Beth have taken over. Just as the agency reopens, a body is discovered in the office outhouse, and their first case begins with bones that have lain undiscovered for twenty-five years. Luke takes on the challenge of solving his first solo case, while former DI Tessa digs into the murders of two women who received threatening notes. But as the agency digs deeper into the past and a link between the two cases is revealed, will it help or hinder?Code Blue Five years ago, John and Caroline Coates were happily expecting the birth of twin girls—until an intruder ended their dreams. Now, John has come to the agency for help tracking down the man who caused them such grief. Back then, Tessa’s involvement was cut short when the cold case department quickly took over. This is a chance for her and Luke to follow the facts and finally lay this case to rest—but will the truth they reveal bring the Coateses the peace they crave or take them to further depths of despair?Mortal Green An author has moved into Leaf Cottage for a month-long research break in Eyam. When she disappears during a long walk around the village, no one misses her, presuming she’s working in solitude on her novel. Then her husband contacts the agency, and when they find the cottage empty, it’s only the beginning of a twisting trail of danger . . .
    Show book
  • The Dark Flood - cover

    The Dark Flood

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disappearances ensnare two South African detectives in a web of corruption in this stunning thriller by the Barry Award–winning author of The Last Hunt.   Assigned to investigate the disappearance of a young university student and brilliant computer programmer detectives Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido hit dead ends. But the trail—including the death of a fellow police officer—leads to a series of gun heists and the alarming absence of certain weapons from the police registry, the ramifications of which could be devastating.   As Griessel and Cupido intensify their search, real estate agent Sandra Steenberg confronts her own crisis: state corruption has caused the real estate market to crash, exacerbating the dire financial straits facing her family. She puts aside her misgivings to work for a notorious billionaire and playboy, only to have him disappear on her. Now Griessel is forced to juggle between the man’s bitter wife, protective lawyer, and Steenberg, the last person to see him alive.   With propulsive and intricate plotting, sharp prose, and an ending that takes one’s breath away just when the dust seems to have settled, The Dark Flood spotlights the state capture and corruption that has overtaken the country, lending political weight to a powerful story.  Praise for the Benny Griessel series   “[An] outstanding series.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” —Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times–bestselling author   “The undisputed champion of South African crime. Meyer grabs you by the throat and never lets you go.” —Wilbur Smith, New York Times–bestselling author
    Show book
  • Blood White and Blue - A Gripping Crime Thriller - cover

    Blood White and Blue - A...

    James Silvester

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this gripping spy thriller, post-Brexit tensions are high across the UK, and the fate of the nation is in the hands of a desperate agent.  
     
    Britain is a hotbed of racial discord and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected Member of Parliament, can ease tensions. But as tenuous talks begin, a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees. 
     
    Lucie Musilova is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she has no choice but to accept an assignment with a secret branch of intelligence services. As the Hartnel case—and her mysterious role in it—spiral out of control, one false move could cost future of the nation . . . not to mention Lucie’s life.
    Show book
  • Scars - An Unforgettable Psychological Thriller - cover

    Scars - An Unforgettable...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The wounds you can’t see take the longest to heal in this modern gothic thriller from the bestselling author of Girl A and Damaged.   In an isolated cottage on the banks of a Scottish loch, a reclusive couple take on a new live-in carer.   As Lucy gets to know her employers, she realizes the house and the people in it aren’t what they seem. Is the house haunted or is something far more sinister living within the walls?   As secrets and lies begin to unravel, Lucy starts to question what is real. But one thing seems certain, if scars cannot heal, people will never forgive . . .  Praise for Girl A “A psychological thriller with a chill factor off the charts! . . . a real nail-biter.” —The Eclectic Review  “Girl A has everything I look for in a book: dark psychological thriller, great storyline, and an unpredictable plot. I’m not exaggerating when I say I couldn’t put it down. This book is so well-written, with a plot that unravels bit by bit, just at the right times.” —Joyful Antidotes   “The story flicks from present to past as it unfolds slowly and almost stalker-like . . . compelling, gritty, dark and twisted.” —Sharon Beyond the Books   “Superbly written . . . Reading Girl A was like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several shocks and surprises along the way.” —gingerbookgeek   “Fantastic! . . . what brilliant writing . . . A book full of suspense, thrills and drama.” —The Comfy Chair Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Shooting Pains - cover

    Shooting Pains

    Mairi Chong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A British doctor is caught up in suspicions of spousal abuse and murder in a riveting mystery by the author of Death by Appointment.   When a patient visits Dr. Cathy Moreland with a disturbing story of marital tension and a bruise on her upper arm, Cathy is understandably concerned. But the young woman, Fiona, refuses further help despite confiding that she’s afraid of her husband.   Cathy is more worried still when, just days later, Fiona’s husband urges her to sign his gun licence form. With no reason not to, Cathy reluctantly complies. Soon after, Cathy is horrified to hear of a death during a shooting party on a local estate. But Fiona is not the victim. Nor is Fiona’s husband the one who pulled the trigger—but it was his gun that took the victim down. Now Cathy is left questioning whether what looks like an accident is really a coincidence, and what’s been going on behind closed doors . . .
    Show book