Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Burnt - cover

Burnt

Tim Kirk

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A dark, multi-generational drama that follows three interwoven stories for nearly a century. The first tale begins in 1873, in the deserts that reach into Mexico where an outlaw and his daughter face crooked lawmen, horse thieves, a Padre named David, and a bloodthirsty posse. Another story unfolds in Los Angeles, establishing itself in 1923 before making its way through 1947, with an industrialist, a socialite, their daughter Lotus, and everyone from pioneering policewoman Minnie Barton to Evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson and her Angelus Temple. The third and final story takes place in 1970 where hippy-hating Jay takes his young daughter on a desperate journey through the near-dead remains of a defunct counter-culture to a final confrontation with his guru father in the mountains of Colorado. Each story is full of surprises that zig-zag across time and place and weave through history with imagination and intrigue.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Suffering of Strangers The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Suffering of Strangers The - A...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    When a six-week-old baby is stolen from outside a village shop, Detective Inspector Costello quickly surmises there?s more to this case than meets the eye. As she questions those involved, she uncovers evidence that this was no impulsive act as the police initially assumed, but something cold, logical, meticulously planned. Who has taken Baby Sholto ? and why?Colin Anderson meanwhile is on the Cold Case Unit, reviewing the unsolved rape of a young mother back in 1996. Convinced this wasn?t the first ? or last - time the attacker struck, Anderson looks for a pattern. But when he does find a connection, it reaches back into his own past . . .
    Show book
  • No Spoken Word - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    No Spoken Word - A Manchester...

    David Menon

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Why would a woman who runs a corner shop in South Manchester be shot dead in cold blood in apparently contract killing? Who could she have offended so much that they wanted her out of the way permanently? And what's happened to her partner? They're supposed to be inseperable but she hasn't been seen at all on the day of the killing and has disappeared.
    
     
    DSI Jeff Barton and his team, including newcomer Louisa Pilkington who joins as a civilian member but who holds a pretty big secret of her own, begin to unravel a complicated trail in pursuit of a killer who brings a touch of espionage and the Cold war into the investigation. More murders put the pressure on Jeff to find a way through and see what's really going on and apprehend a determined killer.
    Show book
  • The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

    The Alice Network - A Novel

    Kate Quinn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
      
    NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
    #1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
    One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
    One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
    Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
    The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
    A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
      
    In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
    1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
    1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
    Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
    “Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 2 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 2

    Meredith Wild

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    She’s the only link to his past…
     
    Six years ago, Tristan Stone was everything to me. My whole heart, my future. We were unshakeable, bound tighter by any force that tried to drive us apart. Then he disappeared from my life, leaving me in tatters, broken and running away to one of the most intense cities in the world. Somehow he found me, but now nothing is the same…
     
    Tristan claims someone wants me dead. He’s scarred and dangerous, but all of that seems to melt away when we touch. I might be the only one who can give him his memories, but I want more. The lover I could never forget is trapped inside the heartless man he’s become. I won’t stop until I reach him. I won’t stop until I find the answers he’s not giving me.
    Show book
  • Thrown Down - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    Thrown Down - A Manchester crime...

    David Menon

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A former IRA terrorist is murdered in the Manchester flat he's lived in since he was released from prison. The next day the son of one of his victims is also murdered and it looks like he was expecting his killer. Meanwhile, on the other side of the world in Melbourne, Australia, a seemingly ordinary suburban housewife with three grown up children is 'outed' as a former member of the IRA Army Council who was the sister of the murdered IRA terrorist. But why was she outed? And by who?
    
     
    DSI Jeff Barton has his work cut out when the sectarian troubles of 1970's Northern Ireland are brought into contemporary Manchester life and old wounds surface that were buried long ago. Jeff and his team battle with special branch over information that could help his investigations and added to that a member of the Victoria state police is sent over to Manchester to assist Jeff's team. But whilst they provide him with a welcome personal diversion he risks everything in the final denouement to bring the right suspects to justice in an ever complicated investigation.
    Show book