Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Burnt - cover

Burnt

Tim Kirk

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A dark, multi-generational drama that follows three interwoven stories for nearly a century. The first tale begins in 1873, in the deserts that reach into Mexico where an outlaw and his daughter face crooked lawmen, horse thieves, a Padre named David, and a bloodthirsty posse. Another story unfolds in Los Angeles, establishing itself in 1923 before making its way through 1947, with an industrialist, a socialite, their daughter Lotus, and everyone from pioneering policewoman Minnie Barton to Evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson and her Angelus Temple. The third and final story takes place in 1970 where hippy-hating Jay takes his young daughter on a desperate journey through the near-dead remains of a defunct counter-culture to a final confrontation with his guru father in the mountains of Colorado. Each story is full of surprises that zig-zag across time and place and weave through history with imagination and intrigue.

Other books that might interest you

  • Family is Murder - McKinley Mysteries #5 - cover

    Family is Murder - McKinley...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “You know that big smile you wear after you just finish a good book? The one that seems to cement the mood for the rest of the day? Well, that’s what I felt after reading Family is Murder.” 
    –Christine Warner, International bestselling author 
     
    If only there was someone to clean up this mess… 
     
    Sean and Sara McKinley put out an ad for a maid, never expecting Sara’s birth mother to apply. Or at least that’s who the woman is claiming to be. While Sean is suspicious of the woman’s true identity and her motives, Sara opens her heart to the woman. But when a dead body turns up soon after Sara’s supposed mother takes off without so much as a goodbye, they both must question the truth. 
     
    Could they have welcomed a killer into their home without even knowing it?
    Show book
  • Asterisk - cover

    Asterisk

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Master of suspense Campbell Armstrong delivers a spine-tingling espionage novel about two men struggling to stop—and survive—a murderous conspiracy based in the darkest corners of the American government John Thorne lives a good life in Washington, DC, with a girlfriend he adores and a stable job at the White House. But when an old family friend, Major General Burckhardt, gives him an attaché case with a file inside labeled “the Asterisk Project,” John starts investigating. What he uncovers is a secret that could change the world—if it doesn’t kill him first.
    Show book
  • Death of a Novice - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

    Death of a Novice - A mystery...

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    The sudden death of a young novice nun raises a series of puzzling questions in the latest Reverend Mother historical mystery.The Reverend Mother is delighted with her new entrant to the convent. Young Sister Gertrude is well-educated, has worked for an accountant and has an appealing sense of humour. But one autumn morning, Sister Gertrude is found dead inside a small wooden shed, just beside the river. Surely a young nun could not die from alcohol poisoning?But when the Reverend Mother delves more deeply into Sister Gertrude’s background, she finds some puzzling anomalies. Why did the young nun not delay her entry to the convent until after her sister’s wedding?  Is it a coincidence that her father died of a similar illness not long before? And could there be a link between Sister Gertrude’s death and the gunpowder explosion on Spike Island? The Reverend Mother must find the answers to these questions if she is to safeguard her community from suspicions of murder.
    Show book
  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Edgar Allan Poe - works - cover

    Edgar Allan Poe - works

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Edgar Allan Poe (/poʊ/; born Edgar Poe; January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849) was an American writer, editor, and literary critic. Poe is best known for his poetry and short stories, particularly his tales of mystery and the macabre. He is widely regarded as a central figure of Romanticism in the United States and American literature as a whole, and he was one of the country's earliest practitioners of the short story. Poe is generally considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre and is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction.  "The Cask of Amontillado" "A Descent into the Maelström" "The Fall of the House of Usher" "The Gold-Bug" "The Masque of the Red Death" "The Imp of the Perverse" "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" "The Oval Portrait" "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" "The Oval Portrait" "The Pit and the Pendulum" "The Premature Burial" "The Purloined Letter" a. o.
    Show book
  • Politics is Murder - McKinley Mysteries #4 - cover

    Politics is Murder - McKinley...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “An entertaining and fast read, making you want to read more.” 
    –My Train of Thoughts 
     
    There’s no time for a vote… 
     
    Sean and Sara’s popularity as a murder-solving duo has gained momentum since they retired from the Albany PD. But it’s not until a local television interview in which they meet Reanne Mable that they end up finding themselves involved with a truly high-profile investigation. 
     
    Reanne is the sister-in-law of Albany’s Mayor Davenport, and his daughter, Halie, has gone missing from her university campus. With his desire to keep the matter out of the media spotlight, Davenport turns to Sean and Sara to find her. But with the police already investigating the matter, taking this case would pit them against their friends from the police department, including their former sergeant Jimmy Voigt. 
     
    As time goes on, though, the fate of the girl is not up for debate, and the McKinleys set out to discover what really happened. With the mayor taking the heat for a recently passed zoning bylaw, maybe an enraged small-business owner is behind Halie’s disappearance. Or did she simply grow tired of living in her father’s limelight and run away? 
     
    To get the answers, Sean and Sara will need to use all the resources at their disposal and may have to call upon their good friend Jimmy for help.
    Show book