Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Burnt - cover

Burnt

Tim Kirk

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A dark, multi-generational drama that follows three interwoven stories for nearly a century. The first tale begins in 1873, in the deserts that reach into Mexico where an outlaw and his daughter face crooked lawmen, horse thieves, a Padre named David, and a bloodthirsty posse. Another story unfolds in Los Angeles, establishing itself in 1923 before making its way through 1947, with an industrialist, a socialite, their daughter Lotus, and everyone from pioneering policewoman Minnie Barton to Evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson and her Angelus Temple. The third and final story takes place in 1970 where hippy-hating Jay takes his young daughter on a desperate journey through the near-dead remains of a defunct counter-culture to a final confrontation with his guru father in the mountains of Colorado. Each story is full of surprises that zig-zag across time and place and weave through history with imagination and intrigue.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 4
    • 31
    • 1
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • The Pastor and the Private Eye - cover

    The Pastor and the Private Eye

    T.H. Pine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “You have a right to remain silent…” the police officer directed at Pastor Vint Montrose as he bundled him into the back of the patrol car. Faced with a rape/murder charge he can’t get out from under and, with his small-town pastorate crumbling around him, things looked grim until a spunky, self-reliant private investigator from Philadelphia, named Cilla Stephenson, arrived at his door. He accepts her help and sets in motion a series of events that uncover secrets that shatter the once-peaceful, rural community of Bronson, Pennsylvania.The Pastor and the Private Eye is a murder mystery that delves into the dark side of human nature. It tells a story of hate, suspicion and unspeakable acts, as well as one of trust, redemption … and love. It examines the lengths to which people will go to hide the truth and the resourcefulness and determination others will employ to uncover it. It also explodes the myth that rural communities lay beyond the reach of the heinous horrors of the big city. Through it all, two people discover that they are never beyond the love of God. Mix equal parts of mystery, dark doings, criminal investigation and forensic medicine with a dash of romance and, above all, faith and you have the formula for The Pastor and the Private Eye.
    Show book
  • Worst Fears Realized - cover

    Worst Fears Realized

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Not a man to dwell on the past, Stone Barrington has no choice but to rattle old skeletons when the people closest to him start dying, and he has little to go on but the suspicion that the killer might be someone he once knew. The trip down memory lane isn't all bad though, for it reunites Stone with his ex-partner, Dino Bacchetti, now head of detectives in the nineteenth precinct. 
    Trying to find a brilliant killer in a sea of old faces is difficult enough without Stone's former love, Arrington, now Mrs. Vance Calder, resurfacing too—especially when she sets off her own fireworks coming nose to nose with his latest flame, a Mafia princess as beautiful as she is dangerous. 
    Caught on a thrill ride of a case that tests him as none has ever done before, Stone races to find a twisted madman with a taste for blood vengeance, with only a prayer to find him before Stone's worst fears are realized.
    Show book
  • Naked Flames - cover

    Naked Flames

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    DCI Harry Brock’s leisurely Saturday afternoon is shattered when he receives the news that Robert Sharp, a charming, good-looking man in his thirties, has been found dead in a suspicious fire in his hut at the Pretext Club, a nudist club near Harrow. 
    
    Besides being a philandering husband, it seems Robert Sharp was a conman on the wanted list of three different constabularies, a chameleon who managed to escape the police’s clutches and justice . . . until now. Plunged into a deadly mix of deception, betrayal and fraud, Harry and his colleague DS Dave Poole soon uncover a number of people with a grudge against Robert, but can they unmask his killer?
    Show book
  • When the Music's Over - An Inspector Banks Novel - cover

    When the Music's Over - An...

    Peter Robinson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A baffling murder on a remote country lane puts Alan Banks and his team to the test in the detective’s most intense and gripping case yet – from an author hailed by Louise Penny as “a writer at the top of his game.” 
    With Detective Inspector Annie Cabbot investigating the young woman’s death, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Banks finds himself taking on the coldest of cases: a fifty-year-old assault allegedly perpetrated by beloved celebrity Danny Caxton. Now Caxton stands accused at the center of a media storm, and it’s Banks’ job to discover the shocking truth. 
    As more women step forward with accounts of Caxton’s manipulation, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence – as the investigation leads him down the darkest of paths… 
    Suspenseful, powerful, and surprising, When the Music’s Over is the finest novel to date from one of the foremost suspense writers at work today.
    Show book