Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Closing the Book: Travels in Life Loss and Literature - cover

Closing the Book: Travels in Life Loss and Literature

Joelle Renstrom

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Closing the Book: Travels in Life, Loss, and Literature explores the intersection of literature and life in personal essays about traveling, teaching, reading, writing, living, and dying. Each essay's narrative arc is formed and informed by the act of reading literature that makes a reader feel like the book she's reading was somehow written specifically for her to read in that exact moment. Renstrom relies on science fiction as a catalyst for grief, as well as a means of pushing past grim realities to begin envisioning life reconstructed and to embrace the idea that "there's nothing wrong with rebuilding forever."

Other books that might interest you

  • Abigail and John - Portrait of a Marriage - cover

    Abigail and John - Portrait of a...

    Edith Gelles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.” — Washington Times  
    “A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.” — Oklahoma City Oklahoman  
    Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’s Founding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.
    Show book
  • Holding the Line - Women in the Great Arizona Mine Strike of 1983 - cover

    Holding the Line - Women in the...

    Barbara Kingsolver

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Holding the Line, Barbara Kingsolver's first non-fiction book, is the story of women's lives transformed by an a signal event. Set in the small mining towns of Arizona, it is part oral history and part social criticism, exploring the process of empowerment which occurs when people work together as a community. Like Kingsolver's award-winning novels, Holding the Line is a beautifully written book grounded on the strength of its characters.Hundreds of families held the line in the 1983 strike against Phelps Dodge Copper in Arizona. After more than a year the strikers lost their union certification, but the battle permanently altered the social order in these small, predominantly Hispanic mining towns. At the time the strike began, many women said they couldn't leave the house without their husband's permission. Yet, when injunctions barred union men from picketing, their wives and daughters turned out for the daily picket lines. When the strike dragged on and men left to seek jobs elsewhere, women continued to picket, organize support, and defend their rights even when the towns were occupied by the National Guard. "Nothing can ever be the same as it was before," said Diane McCormick of the Morenci Miners Women's Auxiliary. "Look at us. At the beginning of this strike, we were just a bunch of ladies."
    Show book
  • The Vanished - cover

    The Vanished

    Lotte Hammer, Søren Hammer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lying at the bottom of his apartment stairs, a postman is found dead.  
     
    At first glance, his death appears to be a simple fall, a straightforward accident and the perfect case for Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen to return to after a severe heart attack. But when he is called to investigate, new forensic evidence comes to light and something doesn't add up. Did the postman fall or was he pushed? 
     
    When life-size images of a girl are discovered plastering the walls of the dead man's attic, the case takes a new and sinister turn. Who is she? Could she be alive? 
     
    Soon the homicide team find themselves delving into the past, but as they approach the truth, Simonsen discovers long-hidden skeletons in his own closet.
    Show book
  • Cornwall's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary but true stories - cover

    Cornwall's Strangest Tales -...

    Peter Grego

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Cornwall, or as it is sometimes obscurely referred to, Merry Jack. Though this isnt the usual side of the county the tourists, travellers and residents see. This is the real Cornwall, the strange and twisted nooks and crannies of the countys bizarre history past, present and future. Following on from the bestselling Portico Strangest titles now comes a book devoted to Englands gloriously coastal, yet most haunted, region. Located in the toes of the outstretched legs of Britains old man, Cornwall is a county with more strangeness than you can shake a Cornish pasty at. Cornwall is an area of outstanding natural beauty, as well as outstanding strangness from ye olde tales of plundering pirates to foulish ghosts drinking in local pubs right through to the most famous of all myths the bizarre beast that forever stalks Bodmin Moor. Spooky. Cornwalls Strangest Tales is a treasure trove of the hilarious, the odd and the baffling an alternative travel guide to some of the countys best-kept secrets. Read on, if you dare! You have been warned. Word count: 35,000
    Show book
  • The Mechanics of Homosexual Intercourse - cover

    The Mechanics of Homosexual...

    Lonely Christopher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dennis Cooper to help promote book, since he is the curator the Little House on the Bowery series, of which this is the latest selection. Publicity to mainstream media, along with gay/lesbian media.
    Show book
  • Roman Centurions 753–31 BC - The Kingdom and the Age of Consuls - cover

    Roman Centurions 753–31 BC - The...

    Raffaele D’Amato

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A detailed glimpse into the weapons, equipment and uniforms worn by Roman Centurions from the Roman Kingdom right through to the height of the Republic. Including new research, photographs of artefacts and the signature Men-at-Arms artwork, this is an essential addition to the series and includes several artwork reconstructions of actual named individuals and two lavish scenes depicting combat between Centurions and a Triumphal procession.
    Show book