Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Long List Anthology: More Stories from the Hugo Award Nomination List - cover

The Long List Anthology: More Stories from the Hugo Award Nomination List

Aliette de Bodard, Ken Liu, Tom Crosshill, RACHEL SWIRSKY, Annie Bellet, Yoon Ha Lee, Amal El-Mohtar, Elizabeth Bear, Scott Lynch, T. Kingfisher, Sam J. Miller, Rachael K. Jones, Usman T. Malik, Xia Jia, Ruthanna Emrys, Eugie Foster, Max Gladstone, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Carmen Maria Machado, Kai Ashante Wilson

Publisher: David Steffen

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Hugo Award is one of the most prestigious speculative fiction literary awards. Every year, supporting members of WorldCon nominate their favorite stories first published during the previous year to determine the top five in each category for the final Hugo Award ballot.  Between the announcement of the ballot and the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon, these works often become the center of much attention (and contention) across fandom. 
But there are more stories loved by the Hugo voters, stories on the longer nomination list that WSFS publishes after the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon.  The Long List Anthology collects 21 tales from that nomination list, totaling about 180.000 words of fiction by writers from all corners of the world. 
Within these pages you will find a mix of science fiction and fantasy, the dramatic and the lighthearted, from near future android stories to steampunk heists, too-plausible dystopias to contemporary vampire stories. 
There is something here for everyone.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Reluctant Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Reluctant Vampire - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 18
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”—Katie MacAlister, USA Today bestselling author of A Girl’s Guide to Vampires 
    Readers can’t get enough of Lynsay Sands’ delightfully devilish novels featuring the Argeneau vampire family, and with The Reluctant Vampire, Sands soars to new heights on silken bat wings. The story of a sexy Rogue Hunter forced to babysit a new immortal with a handsome, brooding, millennia-old vampire still devastated over the loss of a lover, The Reluctant Vampire offers heart, humor, and sizzling sensuality in equal measure—hallmarks of the incomparable Lynsay’s bestselling paranormal fiction.
    Show book
  • A Faerie's Revenge - Creepy Hollow #5 - cover

    A Faerie's Revenge - Creepy...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Plot twists, action and excitement will keep you turning the pages of this bestselling YA fantasy! 
    Still reeling from a shocking revelation, guardian trainee Calla Larkenwood finds the threads of her world unraveling further when she's accused of a horrifying crime she didn't commit: A deadly magical disease has entered the Guild, threatening to wipe out every guardian--and someone is intent on framing Calla for it. 
    With the Guild Council focusing their investigation on her instead of searching for the real criminal, Calla watches her dream of becoming a guardian rapidly slipping away. 
    Time is running out. As the lines between good and bad, right and wrong, begin to blur, whom can she turn to for help? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling.
    Show book
  • Vampire Sacrifice - cover

    Vampire Sacrifice

    Vivian Lane

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    With Charlotte and Simon off being happy newlyweds, Della has resumed her work with The Agency—and Adam is back to helping her when she allows it. When a vamp cares for your family like she’s his family, you have to give a little trust, though Della is hiding this new whatever-it-is from Amelia and The Council until she figures out what to do with him.Adam was intrigued with Agent Seven from the moment they met and getting to know Della over the years has only intensified his feelings. Romance is impossible when her touch can burn him dead, but following her around the globe brings new life to his never-ending existence.Until Adam’s personal boogeyman Vittore kidnaps them both, tricks her into using a Sword of Cato, and makes a vicious bargain—reunite Della’s spirit with her body in exchange for Adam’s immortality. The only way to save her is to enter the sword’s spell world, but the consequences will change Della and Adam forever.This story is intended for readers over the age of 18 due to adult language, sexual content, and adult situations.
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 20
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • Born of Fire - The Cloud Warrior Saga #8 - cover

    Born of Fire - The Cloud Warrior...

    D.K. Holmberg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Utu Tonah is defeated and the peace Tan has wanted finally comes to the kingdoms. Before he can know that peace, Tan faces his most difficult challenge yet as he attempts to rule in Par-shon, this time without his bonded draasin to guide him.  
     
    Worse, all is not as he thought, and the history of Par-shon more complicated than he knew. Secrets emerge that change what he knows of the elementals and the power that he commands. And somehow he must navigate strange politics while discovering the source of a new threat, one where his shaping ability and connection to the elementals might not be enough.
    Show book
  • The Guardians - The Tempest Isle Series #1 - cover

    The Guardians - The Tempest Isle...

    Rena Marin, S.C. Storm

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Hidden in the beauty of a cluster of islands, unbeknownst to humans, a supernatural war rages. The Guardians, protectors of the Nexxus and the Goddess Selena, fight daily to ensure the survival of all races. Hidden agendas, supernatural politics, and sins of the past threaten to endanger the very world they all strive to protect. Led by two families who must embrace their destinies, the Guardians of Tempest must now step up to lead their races to victory.
    Show book