Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Remains: A Story of the Flying Tigers Who Won Immortality Defending Burma and China from Japanese Invasion - cover

Remains: A Story of the Flying Tigers Who Won Immortality Defending Burma and China from Japanese Invasion

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When young Eddie Gillespie discovers a World War II airplane in the jungle, with a grinning skeleton at the controls, he sets a story in motion. Two American fighter pilots in the Chinese Air Force, with their English and Burmese girlfriends, and a Japanese suicide pilot whose name happens to mean "tree of the sun"--they clash at Rangoon, while the British empire falls about their ears. Here is a story of the Flying Tigers, immortalized by their exploits in Southeast Asia in the opening months of the Pacific War, as told by a man uniquely qualified to write about those stirring times. 
 
Ford's history of the Flying Tigers won the award of excellence from the Aviation-Space Writers Association, while his novel of the Vietnam war inspired the Burt Lancaster film Go Tell the Spartans, which the Cincinnati Enquirer called "one of the noblest films, ever, about men in crisis." Here he deftly melds fact and fiction in an unforgettable wartime romance. "You can't beat remains, kid," Lieutenant Atherton says in a beautifully limned conclusion. "They'll tell the story every time."

Other books that might interest you

  • The Diney Costeloe Collection - cover

    The Diney Costeloe Collection

    Diney Costeloe

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A collection of three novels by global bestselling author Diney Costeloe: 
     
    THE RUNAWAY FAMILY. 
     
    A mother's struggle to protect her family and escape Nazi persecution in World War Two Germany. 
     
    THE SISTERS OF ST CROIX. 
     
    A gripping story of love, death and danger in Nazi-occupied France. 
     
    THE THROWAWAY CHILDREN. 
     
    Gritty, heartrending and unputdownable – the story of two sisters sent first to an English, then an Australian orphanage in the aftermath of World War 2.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • Human Voices - cover

    Human Voices

    Penelope Fitzgerald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A British radio station struggles through the London blitz, in a “wonderful” novel of World War II England (A.S. Byatt), by a veteran of the BBC.   The nation is listening. It’s 1940, and BBC radio is on the air. Dedicated to the cause, it’s going to do what it does best: keep the British upper lip stiff without resorting to lies. But nightly blackouts and the thunder of exploding enemy bombs are only part of the chaos faced by the staff.   There’s a battle for control between two program directors—one recklessly randy, the other efficient. Their comely assistant is suffering the pangs of unrequited love; an unwed mother is resisting the impending birth of her baby; and an exiled French general takes to the airwaves demanding Britain’s surrender. Then there’s the concert hall itself—a makeshift shelter for the displaced that quickly becomes a hotbed for quick trysts, bloody brawls, private wars between the sexes, political grandstanding, pointless deaths, and overriding fear, as the news unfolds just outside the building’s vulnerable walls.   Inspired by the Booker Prize–winning author’s own wartime experiences at the BBC, Human Voices is a novel at once “funny, touching, and authentic” (Sunday Times, London).   “Made me laugh out loud as I have hardly done since Cold Comfort Farm. It is extraordinary and immensely praiseworthy that a book with such an ultimately serious idea can be so brilliantly funny.” —Country Life   “A tribute to the unsung and quintessentially English heroism of imperfect people.” —New Criterion
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 41
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • The Married Girls - cover

    The Married Girls

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An unputdownable drama from the bestselling author of The Girl With No Name. 
     
    Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. 
     
    Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. 
     
    For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. 
     
    The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. 
     
    What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 
     
    'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 
     
    'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 
     
    'I am so pleased I found this author' 
     
    'Diney Costeloe at her best.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Into the Unknown - cover

    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown continues the exciting story begun in Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey, the flagship book in the series. A freak accident on board the HMS Spartan during a sea battle with the French navy in 1804 catapults Midshipman Harry Heron and his shipmates Ferghal O’Connor and Danny Gunn four hundred years into the future, landing them on the NECS Vanguard, flagship of the World Treaty Organisation Fleet. While Captain Blackwood and Major Heron sort out the mystery and determine whether the young men are alive or dead, Harry and his friends are faced with the challenge of learning new roles aboard a spaceship. Just as they have found their footing, they are called upon to assist the Fleet in a rescue mission on the planet Pangaea, giving them the opportunity to prove that their unique skills from the past are still very relevant in the far distant future.
    Show book