Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Taildragger Tales: My Late-Blooming Romance with a Piper Cub and Her Younger Sisters - cover

Taildragger Tales: My Late-Blooming Romance with a Piper Cub and Her Younger Sisters

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Dan Ford learned to fly at the age when most men are well into retirement. In this short book, he tells how it was to have a flight instructor one-third his age, to make a Sentimental Journey to the Pennsylvania airport where the Piper Cub first saw the light of day, to practice spins and aerobatic turns in a Great Lakes biplane, to fly low and slow in New Jersey, to make a leisurely tour around Lake Winnipesaukee and into his past, and to have a close encounter with the National Defense Emergency of September 11, 2001. A delightful read for anyone who ever dreamed of becoming a pilot. About 11,000 words (44 print pages).

Other books that might interest you

  • The Secret Art of Being a Grown-Up - Tips Tricks and Perks No One Thought to Tell You - cover

    The Secret Art of Being a...

    Bridget Watson Payne

    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    Hello, grown-ups of all ages! Eclectic, bite-sized bursts of advice meet quirky illustrations in this playful guide to feeling like the grown-up we all wanted to be as a kid. From thoughts on the best way to open a champagne bottle to a short list of the kitchen tools you actually need, these tips and tricks reveal secrets that are attainable, not intimidating. Anyone can make a life upgrade using these insights alongside the traits they already have—their wits, creativity, and enthusiasm. This engaging guide is the perfect gift for recent grads, first-apartment dwellers, and anyone who's ready to grow up, one step at a time.
    Show book
  • The Little Book of Limericks - A Collection of Limericks #1 - cover

    The Little Book of Limericks - A...

    Jessica Rivers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Limericks my favorite form of verse. Every day I try to create at least one new limerick and write it down in my journal. I have decided to collect them and share them with the world. 
    This book contains around 100 funny, non-rude limerick peoms, suitable for children as well as adults. 
    This is the first book in the series and I hope you enjoy it!
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • House Cleaning Guide - House Cleaning Secrets and Tips - cover

    House Cleaning Guide - House...

    Angela Pierce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Housecleaning might be a very daunting task if you look at it in the whole entirety of it, especially if your house is quite big with many rooms to clean. Wouldn't it be better to leave it up to your housekeeper or someone else more capable of doing so? Yes, that would be possible but what if the task fell upon you to complete and there's no getting around it? Then you better suit up, cleaning clothes I mean, and read up on these tips and tricks on proper housekeeping and how to effectively clean your house in a jiffy.
    Show book
  • The Clutter-Busting Handbook - Clean It Up Clear It Out and Keep Your Life Clutter-Free - cover

    The Clutter-Busting Handbook -...

    Rita Emmett

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Clutter Busting Handbook is a streamlined guide to uncluttering your life from the best-selling author of The Procrastinator's Handbook.We are the clutter generation, inundated by a seemingly daily or weekly influx of clothes, accessories, gadgets, catalogs, mail, and e-mail. Clutter crowds our lives, is a chief source of stress, contributes to sidetracked dreams and opportunities, and can cause guilt and anxiety. If clutter is a problem in your life, then Rita Emmett-herself a reformed clutterer-can help you tame it.  
     
    The Clutter-Busting Handbook is a concise, energizing guide giving readers insight and direction as well as proven tips, methods, and strategies that will change lives for the better. Emmett reveals:  
    - the four primary causes of clutter  
    - that cluttering is a habit that can be broken 
    - the powerful connection between clutter and procrastination 
    - how to help a pack rat part with unneeded objects 
    - how to prevent clutter from returning, forever.  
     
    As entertaining as she is helpful, Emmett offers practical advice on separating what you need or truly want from what you have been hanging onto for the wrong reasons. Her combination of experience and good humor-based on her hundreds of seminars and advice received from people all over the country-will win over the most reluctant convert.
    Show book
  • The Meaning of Flowers - Myth Language & Lore - cover

    The Meaning of Flowers - Myth...

    Ann Field, Gretchen Scoble

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Should you send a rose of crimson or of white to the one you love? What gift of flowers best expresses thanks to a dear friend? From ancient days, long before words complicated what we say to one another, flowers have been our messengers, invested with our most cherished feelings. Illustrated with luscious collages by acclaimed artist Ann Field, this enchanting tribute to the power and symbolism of flowers offers a contemporary introduction to an age-old tradition. The text draws on botanical, historical, and mythological sources worldwide, from ancient Rome to Victorian England, from Asia to the Americas, presenting portraits of almost 50 blossoms favored for all time. In Persia, for instance, the black medulla of the red tulip was said to represent the lover's heart, burnt to a coal by love's passion. To Victorians, lavender signified a broken trust, hollyhocks fertility, and nasturtiums a jest or whimsy. Blending fact, folktale, natural history, and original art, The Meaning of Flowers explores the language and lore of nature's most intimate and beautiful gifts.
    Show book