Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Incident at Muc Wa (Go Tell the Spartans) - A Story of the Vietnam War - cover

Incident at Muc Wa (Go Tell the Spartans) - A Story of the Vietnam War

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This is the story that inspired the acclaimed Burt Lancaster film, Go Tell the Spartans. It's 1964--early days in South Vietnam--and the U.S. Army Raiders have garrisoned a town that the French abandoned ten years before. The Viet Cong attack; the Americans reinforce. They're not about to repeat the mistakes of the French! "'Sad, bawdy, and compelling," wrote the Detroit Free Press. Prophetic, too, of how the larger war would end. Revised 2015 edition.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Undertaking of Tess - A Novella - cover

    The Undertaking of Tess - A Novella

    Lesley Kagen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    During the summer of 1959, ten-year-old Theresa "Tessie" Finley has her work cut out for her. Not only is she attempting to come to grips with the devastating loss and guilt she feels after witnessing her father's death, but her kid sister, Birdie, refuses to believe that their beloved daddy is really gone. Tessie needs to make sure that she does before their mom gets wind of how much "weirder" her sister’s getting. Stronger and more down to earth than ethereal Birdie, Tess has always watched over her sister, so it's only natural for her to come up with a plan that she jots down on one of her never-ending to-do lists. If she can't achieve her goals, she's desperately worried that her beautiful, but self-centered mother, Louise, might send emotionally fragile Birdie to the county insane asylum.
     
    Her daddy always told her, "A Finley never throws in the towel," so more than anything Tess wants to make him proud. But despite her resourcefulness and grit, she's smart enough to know that the odds are stacked against her and her time is running out.
     
    Heartbreaking, funny, nostalgic, and spiritually uplifting, you’ll cheer the Finley sisters on from the first page to the last of this charming novella that sets the stage for the accompanying novel, The Resurrection of Tess Blessing.
    Show book
  • The Dragon Series - Dragon's Winter and Dragon's Treasure - cover

    The Dragon Series - Dragon's...

    Elizabeth A. Lynn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From a two-time winner of the World Fantasy Award: The complete series praised by George R. R. Martin as “the sort of fantasy we don’t see enough of . . . a treat.” A dragon lord seeks to claim his birthright and fulfill his destiny in this epic duology.  Dragon’s Winter: Born to the shape-shifting dragon king of Ippa, Karadur is destined to one day become a dragon and rule the kingdom. But in an act of jealous betrayal, his twin brother, Tenjiro, stole the talisman that would allow Karadur to take his true dragon form, and fled to a distant, icy realm. Now, years later, Tenjiro has reappeared as the evil sorcerer Ankoku. His frozen stronghold threatens to destroy Dragon Keep, and Karadur must lead his shape-shifting warriors on a journey to defeat his brother—and reclaim his destiny.  Dragon’s Treasure: As the new lord of Dragon’s Keep, Karadur Atani must unleash his dragon’s vengeance when foul murder in the countryside demands justice. He destroys the outlaw Unamira clan without mercy, but two members of the family survive his wrath. Karadur will take one as a lover in order to soothe his troubled heart—and produce the dragon-changeling heir he so fervently desires. The other, his new lover’s half brother, will pursue the criminal life he was born into, becoming a threat to the fragile peace of the dragon lord’s realm.
    Show book
  • My Man Jeeves - cover

    My Man Jeeves

    P.G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My Man Jeeves is a collection of short stories by P. G. Wodehouse. Of the eight stories in the collection, half feature the popular characters Jeeves and Bertie Wooster, while the others concern Reggie Pepper, an early prototype for Wooster.
    
    Although the book was not published in the United States, all the stories had appeared there, mostly in The Saturday Evening Post or Collier's Weekly, and in the Strand in the UK, prior to the publication of the UK book.
    
    Several appeared later in rewritten form in Carry on, Jeeves (1925), such as "Helping Freddie", which in its later incarnation was called "Fixing It for Freddie" and featured Jeeves and Wooster. The other Reggie Pepper stories were included in the U.S. version of The Man with Two Left Feet (1917).
    
    Jeeves and Wooster had first appeared in the short story "Extricating Young Gussie", which appeared in the Saturday Evening Post in 1915, and was included in The Man with Two Left Feet.
    Show book
  • The Blue-Eyed Shan - cover

    The Blue-Eyed Shan

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The battle between East and West explodes in a remote corner of Burma in this electrifying saga from master storyteller Stephen Becker In the years before World War II, Harvard-trained anthropologist Greenwood journeyed to the Shan States in eastern Burma to study the people of Pawlu, an isolated mountain village. He fell in love with Loi-mae, a local woman, and fathered a daughter, but when war erupted across the globe, Greenwood left his family behind to fight for the Allied cause.   In 1949, he returns to Pawlu to help an old friend on the run from China’s Red Army—a friend who claims to be in possession of the missing bones of the Peking Man. But Greenwood isn’t welcomed back to Burma with open arms. Loi-mae has a new husband who doesn’t take kindly to the return of her former lover, and the village is preoccupied by attacks from the wild Wa, a fearsome, headhunting tribe. When a band of refugee Chinese soldiers arrives, the stage is set for a dramatic showdown in which Greenwood risks everything to save the people he loves.  The Blue-Eyed Shan is the 3rd book in the Far East Trilogy, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Mudbound - cover

    Mudbound

    Hillary Jordan

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    In Jordan's prize-winning debut, prejudice takes many forms, both subtle and brutal. It is 1946, and city-bred Laura McAllan is trying to raise her children on her husband's Mississippi Delta farm—a place she finds foreign and frightening. In the midst of the family's struggles, two young men return from the war to work the land. Jamie McAllan, Laura's brother-in-law, is everything her husband is not—charming, handsome, and haunted by his memories of combat. Ronsel Jackson, eldest son of the black sharecroppers who live on the McAllan farm, has come home with the shine of a war hero. But no matter his bravery in defense of his country, he is still considered less than a man in the Jim Crow South. It is the unlikely friendship of these brothers-in-arms that drives this powerful novel to its inexorable conclusion. The men and women of each family relate their versions of events and we are drawn into their lives as they become players in a tragedy on the grandest scale. As Kingsolver says of Hillary Jordan, "Her characters walked straight out of 1940s Mississippi and into the part of my brain where sympathy and anger and love reside, leaving my heart racing. They are with me still."
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book