Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Incident at Muc Wa (Go Tell the Spartans) - A Story of the Vietnam War - cover

Incident at Muc Wa (Go Tell the Spartans) - A Story of the Vietnam War

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This is the story that inspired the acclaimed Burt Lancaster film, Go Tell the Spartans. It's 1964--early days in South Vietnam--and the U.S. Army Raiders have garrisoned a town that the French abandoned ten years before. The Viet Cong attack; the Americans reinforce. They're not about to repeat the mistakes of the French! "'Sad, bawdy, and compelling," wrote the Detroit Free Press. Prophetic, too, of how the larger war would end. Revised 2015 edition.

Who read this book also read:

  • Killer of Kings - cover

    Killer of Kings

    Matthew Harffy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    AD 636. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 
     
    Beobrand has land, men and riches. He should be content. And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens. But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southward, to escort holy men bearing sacred relics. 
     
    When Penda of Mercia marches a warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and his men are thrown into the midst of the conflict. Beobrand soon finds himself fighting for his life and his honour. 
     
    In the chaos that grips the south, dark secrets are exposed, bringing into question much that Beobrand had believed true. Can he unearth the answers and exact the vengeance he craves? Or will the blood-price prove too high, even for a warrior of his battle-fame and skill?
    Show book
  • Judith - A Novel - cover

    Judith - A Novel

    Lawrence Durrell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A breathtaking novel of passion and politics, set in the hotbed of Palestine in the 1940s, by a master of twentieth-century fictionIt is the eve of Britain’s withdrawal from Palestine in 1948, a moment that will mark the beginning of a new Israel. But the course of history is uncertain, and Israel’s territorial enemies plan to smother the new country at its birth. Judith Roth has escaped the concentration camps in Germany only to be plunged into the new conflict, one with stakes just as high for her as they are for her people. Initially conceived as a screenplay for the 1966 film starring Sophia Loren, Lawrence Durrell’s previously unpublished novel offers a thrilling portrayal of a place and time when ancient history crashed against the fragile bulwarks of the modernizing world. This ebook features an introduction by editor Richard Pine, which puts Judith in context with Durrell’s body of work and traces the fascinating development of the novel. Also included is an illustrated biography of Lawrence Durrell containing rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate and the British Library’s modern manuscripts collection.
    Show book
  • A Mortal Glamour - cover

    A Mortal Glamour

    Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “One of the most perverse stories you have ever written, A Mortal Glamour is among the best revelations of the difference between good and evil in fiction,” said Douglas Clegg to Chelsea Quinn Yarbro when the novel first came out. Set in southern France at the end of the three pandemics of Black Plague that ravaged Europe in the second half of the fourteenth century, the convent at Saunt-Vitre-lo-Sur shows in miniature the collapse of medieval society, and the chaos an incubus/succubus demon brings to nuns and courtiers alike.
    Show book
  • Beloved Vows Book 4 - (The Lost MacGreagor Books) #4 - cover

    Beloved Vows Book 4 - (The Lost...

    Marti Talbott

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The year was 1912, but rumors of a war in Europe was the last thing on Blair MacGreagor’s mind. Engaged and hopelessly in love, she returned to America from the United Kingdom on the HMS Mauretania thinking only of planning her wedding. Yet, by the end of her first day on dry land, her whole world was turned upside down. 
    In 1713, in order to secure his passage to America, Scotland’s Rory MacGreagor happily signed an indentured servant contract and boarded a tall ship. It wasn’t long before he suspected it was a decision he would come to regret.
    Show book
  • Refining Fire (Brides of Seattle Book #2) - cover

    Refining Fire (Brides of Seattle...

    Tracie Peterson

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Twenty-two-year-old Militine Scott is in training at the Madison Bridal School in Seattle, yet she has no intention of pursuing marriage. What respectable man would have her? But she has found the school provides the perfect opportunity to keep her unsavory past hidden.Thane Patton, though fun-loving and fiercely loyal to his friends, hides a dark secret, as well. He finds himself drawn to Militine, sensing that she harbors a haunting pain similar to his own. Will they allow God to make something new and beautiful from the debris of their past?
    Show book
  • Love Everlasting (Brides of Seattle Book #3) - cover

    Love Everlasting (Brides of...

    Tracie Peterson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Exciting Conclusion to Tracie Peterson's Brides of Seattle SeriesAbrianna Cunningham has always viewed her longtime friend, Wade Ackerman, as a protective brother. Lately, however, she's begun to see him differently and finds herself attracted romantically to him. But she's confused and overwhelmed by these unfamiliar feelings. Wade, on the other hand, has loved Abrianna for some time and has been waiting for her to realize they are more than just friends. When he asks her to marry him, she asks for time to adjust to their changed relationship. And then there's Priam Welby, who has been relentlessly pursuing Abrianna. Will his underhanded tactics succeed in luring Abrianna into marriage with him?
    Show book