Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
When Sun-tzu Met Clausewitz: the OODA Loop and the Invasion of Iraq - cover

When Sun-tzu Met Clausewitz: the OODA Loop and the Invasion of Iraq

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

John Boyd was a fighter pilot in the Korean War, an instructor at the US Air Force Fighter Weapons School, and arguably America's greatest military thinker of the 20th Century. His concept of the OODA Loop helped guide the US military during two wars against Saddam Hussein's Iraq. This 4000-word 'long essay' was originally prepared for the War in the Modern World program at King's College London by Daniel Ford, an American journalist and historian. Revised 2014. With illustrations, source notes, bibliography, and a chapter from the author's book, A Vision So Noble.

Other books that might interest you

  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • The Ipswich Witch - Mary Lackland and the Suffolk Witch Hunts - cover

    The Ipswich Witch - Mary...

    David L. Jones

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Against the backdrop of the largest witch hunt in English history, this book is both an investigation of a miscarriage of justice 366 years old and an in-depth recreation of East Anglia as it once was.
    	   Ipswich, faced by the extreme challenges of war, religious dissent, poverty, sickness and the threat of foreign invasion, became an ideological battlefield during the civil wars. As Puritanism struggled against Catholic sensibilities, the Devil himself loomed at the door of every English home, and the age of the witchfinder was born. This book aims to challenge some of our stereotypes of the period, and to show how witch hunts do not stand apart from history but reflect the growth in Puritan sects, gender politics, the exploitation of the poor, the importance of popular beliefs in the occult and the rise of English power in the New world.
    	   Written by David L. Jones of the Ipswich Museum, and inspired by his time living in rural Nepal, where witchcraft is considered an everyday reality, it will fascinate visitors and residents alike.
    Show book
  • Greatest Mysteries of the Unexplained - cover

    Greatest Mysteries of the...

    Andrew Holland, Lucy Doncaster

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Many strange events defy explanation. This book is a compendium of some of the world's most mystifying conundrums, which are guaranteed to bewilder and intrigue.
     
    From the mysterious disappearance of Lord Lucan, by way of paranormal powers, to bizarre phenomena thrown up by nature, this fantastic collection of off-the-wall investigations also features scary curses, uncanny prophecies, weird medical marvels, alien abductions, lost worlds, and lots more.
     
    If you like your riddles wrapped in a mystery served up inside an enigma, then this is the book for you.
    Show book
  • The Borgias - cover

    The Borgias

    Alexandre Dumas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book
  • Thirty Pieces of Silver - A Play in Three Acts - cover

    Thirty Pieces of Silver - A Play...

    Howard Fast

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A couple in Washington, DC, is torn apart when a friend is accused of treasonJane and David Graham live upper-middle-class lives in mid-century Washington, DC. Jane minds the home with the help of a fulltime maid, and David works at the Treasury Department. But when the FBI visits their house one evening to ask questions about a friend’s political beliefs, the answers the two give separately cause them both to wonder whether they truly know each other. Soon nothing is certain as the ideological fears plaguing the nation threaten to destroy Jane and David’s family. Howard Fast’s first play, Thirty Pieces of Silver was performed in several countries, from Australia to Europe, and offers an insightful look at the destructive power of reactionary politics in America. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • Wish You Happy Forever - What China's Orphans Taught Me About Moving Mountains - cover

    Wish You Happy Forever - What...

    Jenny Bowen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wish You Happy Forever chronicles Half the Sky founder Jenny Bowen's personal and professional journey to transform Chinese orphanages—and the lives of the neglected girls who live in them—from a state of quiet despair to one of vibrant promise. 
    After reading an article about the thousands of baby girls languishing in Chinese orphanages, Bowen and her husband adopted a little girl from China and brought her home to Los Angeles, not out of a need to build a family but rather a commitment to save one child. A year later, as she watched her new daughter play in the grass with her friends, thriving in an environment where she knew she was loved, Bowen was overcome with a desire to help the children that she could not bring home. That very day she created Half the Sky Foundation, an organization conceived to bring love into the life of every orphan in China and one that has actually managed to fulfill its promise. 
    In Wish You Happy Forever, a fish out of water tale like no other, Bowen relates her struggle to bring the concept of "child nurture and responsive care" to bemused Chinese bureaucrats and how she's actually succeeding. Five years after Half the Sky's first orphanage program opened, government officials began to mention child welfare and nurturing care in public speeches. And, in 2011, at China's Great Hall of the People, Half the Sky and its government partners celebrated the launch of The Rainbow Program, a groundbreaking initiative to change the face of orphan care by training every child welfare worker in the country. Thanks to Bowen's relentless perseverance through heartbreak and a dose of humor, Half the Sky's goal to bring love the lives of forgotten children comes ever closer.
    Show book