Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
When I Am Going: Growing Up In Ireland and Coming to America 1901-1927 - cover

When I Am Going: Growing Up In Ireland and Coming to America 1901-1927

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Kilnahone Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Annie Crowley was one of eleven children born in the farmhouse at Kilnahone, outside the village of Ballygarvan in the County Cork. Their father died a few weeks after the youngest was born, and the eldest emigrated to Australia not long after. Annie was six at the time, and a pupil at Ballygarvan National School, where the English language and English history were drilled into Irish children. 
Then came the First World War, and the oldest girl went off to become a nurse in England. Annie was needed at home then, to take care of the house and the younger children. She loved the farm work, but soon became a rebel against the English crown, in the fight for independence that began at Easter Week in 1916. 
The struggle ended in a bitter civil war, as diehard Republicans fought the leaders willing to accept an Irish Free State with token allegiance to London. Thousands of veterans of the Irish Republican Army emigrated to America, including her sweetheart Pat Forde from Ballinhassig. Thus Annie came to leave home, never again to see her mother or siblings, or the farm at Kilnahone. 
An enchanting story of girlhood, growth, love, war, and loss. Includes a chapter from Michael's War, Daniel Ford's novel of the IRA. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • I AM~A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - cover

    I AM~A Book of Unintentional...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man's girl friend aborts their child spinning the author into a soul searching depression which he writes about in detail.
    Show book
  • Grand master - cover

    Grand master

    Alex Dong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The story of Dong Ying Jie, Tai Chi champion of China. First time in English. 
    More than 250-million people worldwide practice Tai Chi Chuan, an ancient art of physical, mental and spiritual culture. Developed in China for self-defense, health and meditation, it was passed down in secret for many centuries. In the 1900s, the Yang family of Tai Chi masters began spreading the art more publicly, in order to “strengthen the nation” of modern China. Yang Chen Fu, master of the Yang family style, took on as his senior student a young prodigy named Dong Ying Jie. When Yang died, Dong Ying Jie became Grand Master of a new lineage, linked to the old, which continues to spread all over the world. Alex Dong, his great-grandson and fourth generation master, compiled and translated this work from original sources and continues to teach this immortal art. David Saltman, biographer of Gilda Radner, producer of CNN's Pinnacle biographies, and himself a highly experienced Tai Chi teacher, has edited and augmented the original material.
    Show book
  • Don't You Know Who I Think I Am? - Confessions of a First-Class Asshole - cover

    Don't You Know Who I Think I Am?...

    Justin Ross Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who is JRL?
    
    How dare you not know! Justin Ross Lee is a completely self-created, self-inflated Internet celebrity; “Jew Jetter”; and social media virtuoso. When he’s not causing trouble on Bravo or headlining VH1, you’ll find Justin having red-carpet run-ins with A-list celebrities, getting blacklisted from airlines and nightclubs, and monopolizing the tabloid pages with his boisterous bad-boy behavior. Famous for being famous? He’s famous for telling you he’s famous.
    
    So how did this privileged prick from Scarsdale become a jet-setting, luxury-loving, travel-hacking aristo-brat with an army of followers on social media? Don’t worry, JRL is here to tell you. Love him or loathe him—he doesn’t care—he promises to make you laugh so hard you’ll cry, whether it’s at him or with him. Is this book satire or the instructional manual for the modern narcissist? Either way, Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am? is a story of how one man was dubbed “The ego that attacked NYC” by the New York Post and what that man can teach you so you’ll never have to wait in line again.
    Show book
  • Jane Eyre - An Autobiography - cover

    Jane Eyre - An Autobiography

    Charlotte Brontë

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    There was no possibility of taking a walk that day.  We had been wandering, indeed, in the leafless shrubbery an hour in the morning; but since dinner (Mrs. Reed, when there was no company, dined early) the cold winter wind had brought with it clouds so sombre, and a rain so penetrating, that further out-door exercise was now out of the question.
    
    I was glad of it: I never liked long walks, especially on chilly afternoons: dreadful to me was the coming home in the raw twilight, with nipped fingers and toes, and a heart saddened by the chidings of Bessie, the nurse, and humbled by the consciousness of my physical inferiority to Eliza, John, and Georgiana Reed.
    ***
    The SoTo publishing house, founded in 2014, was in the beginning an Imprint publisher only. During the years it was shown that the readers are still preferring the classics of history of literature.
    Nowadays the SoTo publishing house combines the program divisions Literature and nonfiction book. The Literature Program includes Classics in german language and internationals as well.
    All books are published as paperback and as eBook.
    Show book