Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Noble (Yes My Liege: Princeling #1) - Yes My Liege: Princeling #1 - cover

Noble (Yes My Liege: Princeling #1) - Yes My Liege: Princeling #1

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"Selig had placed me next to the fire, both as a way to emphasize my honor – what little honor I had left – and as a way to keep me from dying of a chill. He had made it more than clear during the past three years that he considered me a frail creature, incapable of enduring the hardened life of a soldier. But, then, his opinion was shared by all in the Tascanian Army."
 

	He has lost his title, his work, and everyone's respect. That will be the easy part.
 

	When Corbin is taken hostage by York, the King of Fossenvita, he refuses to surrender to the sadistic King's demands that would allow York to win the war between the world's two kingdoms. Only thus, Corbin believes, can he help the petties of Tascania, on whose behalf Tascanian nobles such as himself are fighting the Fossenvites. Rather than lose his honor, Corbin accepts York's "gift": a wounding that will prevent him from ever again fighting with his blade.
 

	But Corbin lives in a world that has been at war for generations, in which only the nobles who command the battles and raids are considered to have honor. Stripped of his title and his ability to fight, Corbin begins to see that the petties alone may hold the answer of how he should live his life. Maimed as he is, though, Corbin cannot seek answers from the petties unless he receives the help of one man: York's son Firmin, who has warned Corbin that he will betray him.
 

	This novel is the first volume in the Princeling fantasy series.

Other books that might interest you

  • Suddenly at Home - A Brock and Poole police procedural - cover

    Suddenly at Home - A Brock and...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The latest case for Brock & Poole leads to a trip abroad . . . and tragedy at home.  When Richard Cooper is found shot to death in his luxury apartment in North Sheen, London, Detective Chief Inspector Harry Brock and Detective Sergeant Dave Poole are assigned the case. They immediately question Dennis Jones, who found Cooper’s lifeless body, and Lydia Maxwell, who lived in the apartment opposite – but is either of them telling the truth?   
    Richard Cooper appears to have been a very private man who left few clues behind. As the investigation gathers pace, however, a trip to Belgium could signal the possible unravelling of the mystery.  But it soon becomes clear that the hunt for a determined killer could lead to tragedy for Harry and his team.
    Show book
  • Murder on the Golden Hind - cover

    Murder on the Golden Hind

    Mohammed Ayya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Murder Mystery - MURDER ON THE GOLDEN HINDRead this murder mystery series book on your PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or other device.Dylan Meyers has just finished up his recent mysterious murder investigation. Little did he know that soon he will find himself engrossed within murder of a Veteran Conductor on the Golden Hind Express, through poisoning.With the mysterious death and hardly any leads or evidence in the case, Dylan is up for a challenge.Though there is an accuse in the case, but is that accused the actual murderer or there is someone else, with ulterior motive, involved.The book is filled with a complete package of twists, murder mystery of a different sort.Once you start reading it, its difficult to leave it until the end.So download your copy today!Take action today!!
    Show book
  • The Roubaud Connection - Genevieve Lenard #12 - cover

    The Roubaud Connection -...

    Estelle Ryan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Brutal murders. An ancient treasure. A rogue state. 
    A young acquaintance of nonverbal communications expert Doctor Genevieve Lenard begs her to look into the disappearance of his friend. When the friend’s tortured body is found in a forest outside Strasbourg, the case leads Genevieve and her team to the body of a second victim with many unusual secrets—a forged masterpiece the least surprising of them all; an ancient treasure shrouded in mystery the most intriguing. 
    While Genevieve is frantically searching for a motivation behind the murders, more tortured bodies are dumped in the forests surrounding the city—all connected to her young acquaintance. And the moment she discovers that the evidence points to a rogue state, her young acquaintance also disappears. 
    Without knowing who the killer is and why he’s torturing his victims, there will be no stopping him. Or saving her friend from vicious suffering and eventual death.
    Show book
  • The Sicilian Woman's Daughter - Four generations of mafia women - cover

    The Sicilian Woman's Daughter -...

    Linda Lo Scuro

    • 3
    • 7
    • 0
    Most victims of the mafia are the Sicilians themselves. The role of women both as perpetrators and victims has been grossly overlooked. Until now.
     
    As the daughter of Sicilian immigrants, in her teens Maria turns her back on her origins and fully embraces the English way of life. Notwithstanding her troubled and humble childhood in London, and backed up by her intelligence, beauty and sheer determination, she triumphantly works her way up to join the upper middle-class of British society. There she becomes a bastion of civility.
     
    But a minor incident wakes up feelings of revenge in her like those lurking in Maria's Sicilian origins. As she delves deeper into her mother's family history a murky past unravels, drawing Maria more and more into a mire of vendetta.
     
    Reviews
     
    “The charm of reading this book is that: always, and I mean always, the reader is satisfied with the result.” - Manuela Iordache
     
    “Wow – this is a great story!” - Phil Rowan
     
    "An enthralling read on many levels.” - Book Trail
     
    “It’s a must-read for mystery lovers.” - Carolyn Bowen
     
    “A cracking good read” - Ann Gough
     
    “This is an addictive read from page one to last and thoroughly enjoyable!” - Janet Cousineau
     
    “Insightful, well written and I found the pace just right” - Dawn D’auvin 
     
    “Certainly exciting and riveting reading.” - Emma B Books
     
    “I enjoyed it very much!” - Mary Weimer
     
    “I really enjoyed the book.” - Pamela Lewis
     
    **
     
    About the Author 
     
    Linda Lo Scuro lives in London. This is her first novel.
    Show book
  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Politics is Murder - McKinley Mysteries #4 - cover

    Politics is Murder - McKinley...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “An entertaining and fast read, making you want to read more.” 
    –My Train of Thoughts 
     
    There’s no time for a vote… 
     
    Sean and Sara’s popularity as a murder-solving duo has gained momentum since they retired from the Albany PD. But it’s not until a local television interview in which they meet Reanne Mable that they end up finding themselves involved with a truly high-profile investigation. 
     
    Reanne is the sister-in-law of Albany’s Mayor Davenport, and his daughter, Halie, has gone missing from her university campus. With his desire to keep the matter out of the media spotlight, Davenport turns to Sean and Sara to find her. But with the police already investigating the matter, taking this case would pit them against their friends from the police department, including their former sergeant Jimmy Voigt. 
     
    As time goes on, though, the fate of the girl is not up for debate, and the McKinleys set out to discover what really happened. With the mayor taking the heat for a recently passed zoning bylaw, maybe an enraged small-business owner is behind Halie’s disappearance. Or did she simply grow tired of living in her father’s limelight and run away? 
     
    To get the answers, Sean and Sara will need to use all the resources at their disposal and may have to call upon their good friend Jimmy for help.
    Show book