Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Things Are Not What They Seem - cover

Things Are Not What They Seem

Anne Rothman-Hicks, Kenneth Hicks

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

What would you do if you were sitting on a park bench, minding your own business, and one of those annoying pigeons suddenly started to talk to you? And what if the pigeon didn’t just talk to you – in a meticulous British accent, no less – but pleaded with you to help untangle a piece of string that had accidentally attached his leg to a wrought iron fence surrounding the playground? And what if, while you are still convinced that this is all a big nasty trick, a hawk swoops down out of the sky and starts cursing at you, also in the King’s English, for getting in his way when he wanted to execute the pigeon?
 

	That is the quandary in which Jennifer (almost 13 years old and probably a bit too smart for her own good) finds herself one sweltering July morning while babysitting her 11-year-old (very precocious) brother James and his mopey, allergy-prone friend Sleepy.   She soon learns that the bird is actually a man named Arthur Whitehair, a 19th-century Englishman who had been turned into an eternally-lived pigeon by misreading an ancient spell that was supposed to give him eternal life as a human. Likewise, an unscrupulous colleague of his, named Malman, had been turned into a hawk by Whitehair’s blunder. After years of searching, Whitehair claims (half-truthfully) that Malman has found him hiding in Central Park and is now out for revenge. On top of all this strange business, Jennifer has recently begun having weird dreams in which a crazy-looking man with curly red hair speaks cryptic phrases in Latin. Are they random phrases, or messages? And why would some sketchy guy be sending her messages in her dreams?

Other books that might interest you

  • As You Wish - cover

    As You Wish

    Jackson Pearce

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Ever since Viola's boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a young genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes. 
    Jinn is anxious to return home, but Viola is terrified of wishing, afraid she will not wish for the right thing, the thing that will make her truly happy. As the two spend time together, the lines between master and servant begin to blur, and soon Jinn can't deny that he's falling for Viola. But it's only after Viola makes her first wish that she realizes she's in love with Jinn as well . . . and that if she wishes twice more, he will disappear from her life—and her world—forever. 
    Jackson Pearce spins a magical tale about star-crossed lovers, what it means to belong . . . and how important it is to be careful what you wish for.
    Show book
  • Geek Girl: Model Misfit - cover

    Geek Girl: Model Misfit

    Holly Smale

    • 4
    • 183
    • 0
    You can make a geek a model, but you can't make her chic. More hilarity and high fashion await in the second book in the internationally bestselling Geek Girl series! 
    Harriet Manners is a model—but she feels even less popular and more awkward than she did when she was just a geek. So a summer modeling job in Japan sounds like the perfect vacation, even if she has to bring along her crazy grandma Bunty, and even if she might run into Nick, her gorgeous supermodel ex-boyfriend. No one is going to ruin Harriet's fabulous Tokyo adventure—unless she accidentally ruins it herself. . . . 
    This sequel to Holly Smale's #1 bestselling debut novel, Geek Girl, is perfect for fans of Mag Cabot's Princess Diaries series and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series.
    Show book
  • From This Moment - cover

    From This Moment

    Lauren Barnholdt

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    Each book in The Moment of Truth trilogy is told from the perspective of former best friends Lyla, Aven, and Quinn. When they were freshman, they wrote emails to themselves about one thing they hoped to accomplish before they graduate. Over the course of the series, which takes place on their senior trip, each girl tackles that email all while learning about life, love, and the truth about the fight that ended their perfect friendship. 
    In the final book, Aven must decide if, when it comes to deciding between friendship and true love, she is able to listen to her heart. For the past four years she has shared everything with her best friend, Liam . . . except for the secret she knows would ruin their friendship. The one about how she's loved him since the first time they met. 
    But now everything is about to change. 
    With the end of high school drawing near, and the seniors headed to Florida for a class trip, Aven is determined to tell Liam the truth. Even though he already has a girlfriend. Even though Aven's finally met a great guy who likes her back. Even though Liam reciprocating her feelings is as terrifying as him rejecting her. Because no matter what he says, Aven knows that once the truth is out, things will never be the same.
    Show book
  • Eleven Things I Promised - cover

    Eleven Things I Promised

    Catherine Clark

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Catherine Clark has crafted a poignant story about the distances one girl is willing to go in the name of friendship that is at once funny, heartbreaking, and utterly romantic. 
    Seventeen-year-old Frances wouldn’t describe herself as adventurous. Until now . . . 
    Frances has one week—while she’ll be away from home competing in a high school bike race—to do every single thing on the Fix-It List. Ten crazy, totally out-of-character ideas her best friend, Stella, came up with to make the bike ride unforgettable. However, as each item on the F-It List opens Frances up to new adventures, new friends, and possibly even a new romance, it becomes increasingly difficult for Frances to keep the one promise that she knows she absolutely must obey—her promise to not tell anyone the truth about the accident that left Stella broken and angry, and started Frances on her quest to complete the list. 
    When it comes to friendship, Frances must decide what distances she’s willing to go, and what risks she’s willing to take, for the person she cares about the most.
    Show book
  • The Dolls - cover

    The Dolls

    Kiki Sullivan

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Pretty Little Liars meets Beautiful Creatures in this steamy southern suspense novel about a group of powerful teen voodoo queens who will do anything to get what they want. 
    Eveny Cheval has just moved back to Carrefour, Louisiana—a town she left fourteen years ago in the wake of her mother's suicide. An outsider at first, Eveny quickly finds herself embroiled in a web of intrigue, betrayal, and lies. Enter Peregrine Marceau, Chloe St. Pierre, and their group of rich, sexy friends collectively known as the Dolls. They want to bring Eveny into their circle and share their darkest truths with her. 
    Eveny is wary of these girls, but after murder strikes and she discovers that everything she believes about herself, her family, and her life is a lie, she's forced to turn to the Dolls for answers. Something's wrong in paradise, and it's up to Eveny, Chloe, and Peregrine to save Carrefour and make it right.
    Show book
  • The Mediator #4: Darkest Hour - cover

    The Mediator #4: Darkest Hour

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    The Darkest Hour is the fourth book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
     
    When the nineteenth-century ghost of Maria de Silva wakes her up in the middle of the night, Suze knows this is no ordinary visitation—and not just from the knife at her throat, either. In life, Maria was the fiancée of Jesse—the same Jesse who was murdered 150 years before. The same Jesse Suze is in love with.  
    Maria threatens Suze: The backyard construction must cease. Suze has a pretty good idea what—or rather, who—Maria doesn't want found. But in solving Jesse's murder, will Suze end up losing him forever? 
     
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book