Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Things Are Not What They Seem - cover

Things Are Not What They Seem

Anne Rothman-Hicks, Kenneth Hicks

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

What would you do if you were sitting on a park bench, minding your own business, and one of those annoying pigeons suddenly started to talk to you? And what if the pigeon didn’t just talk to you – in a meticulous British accent, no less – but pleaded with you to help untangle a piece of string that had accidentally attached his leg to a wrought iron fence surrounding the playground? And what if, while you are still convinced that this is all a big nasty trick, a hawk swoops down out of the sky and starts cursing at you, also in the King’s English, for getting in his way when he wanted to execute the pigeon?
 

	That is the quandary in which Jennifer (almost 13 years old and probably a bit too smart for her own good) finds herself one sweltering July morning while babysitting her 11-year-old (very precocious) brother James and his mopey, allergy-prone friend Sleepy.   She soon learns that the bird is actually a man named Arthur Whitehair, a 19th-century Englishman who had been turned into an eternally-lived pigeon by misreading an ancient spell that was supposed to give him eternal life as a human. Likewise, an unscrupulous colleague of his, named Malman, had been turned into a hawk by Whitehair’s blunder. After years of searching, Whitehair claims (half-truthfully) that Malman has found him hiding in Central Park and is now out for revenge. On top of all this strange business, Jennifer has recently begun having weird dreams in which a crazy-looking man with curly red hair speaks cryptic phrases in Latin. Are they random phrases, or messages? And why would some sketchy guy be sending her messages in her dreams?

Who read this book also read:

  • The Princess Diaries Volume II: Princess in the Spotlight - cover

    The Princess Diaries Volume II:...

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. 
    Just when Mia thought she had the whole princess thing under control, things get out of hand, fast. First there’s an unexpected announcement from her mother. Then Grandmère arranges a national primetime interview for the brand-new crown princess of Genovia. On top of that, intriguing, exasperating letters from a secret admirer begin to arrive. Before she even has the chance to wonder who those letters are from, Mia is swept up in a whirlwind of royal intrigue the likes of which she’s never before witnessed.  
     
    Princess in the Spotlight is the second book in the beloved, bestselling series that inspired the feature film starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews.
    Show book
  • The Princess Diaries Volume VIII: Princess on the Brink - cover

    The Princess Diaries Volume...

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The eighth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. 
    At last, Mia is a junior. An upperclassperson. So why is it that everything is going so terribly wrong? What is she doing in Intro to Creative Writing? When she has made it through Algebra and Geometry, why must she be faced with Precalculus? All this is nothing compared to the news Michael springs on her, however. Her beloved boyfriend could be leaving for Japan for a year—or more! Precalc has nothing on preparing for the worst separation ever! 
    Turns out there is one way she might convince Michael to stay. But will she? Or won't she? No matter what, Mia seems headed for disaster. 
    Princess on the Brink is the eighth book in the beloved, bestselling series that inspired the feature film starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews.
    Show book
  • Aiden - The Keatyn Chronicles Series #9 - cover

    Aiden - The Keatyn Chronicles...

    Jillian Dodd

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    The God of all Hotties, with his dreamy green eyes and abs to die for. When Keatyn goes to Eastbrooke, their attraction is intense. He gives her a four-leaf clover, kisses her atop the Ferris wheel, and turns her brain to cotton candy. 
    But . . . there’s always a but in love stories, right?  
    Discover when and how Aiden learned who Keatyn really was, and why he didn’t confront her with his knowledge in pivotal new scenes from his point of view.  
    **This book contains series spoilers. Please finish book seven before reading this.
    Show book
  • Hector fox and the giant quest - cover

    Hector fox and the giant quest

    Fastpencil Premiere

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hector Fox, Mo Marten, Charlie Chipmunk, Jeremiah Rabbit, and Lucy Skunk venture far from home to find a fairytale giant. Will they make a huge discovery? Find out in the first Hector Fox & Friends book!
    
    Astrid Sheckels, a native of the small farming town of Hatfield, Massachusetts, cannot remember a time when she was not telling or illustrating stories. Her illustrations are primarily done in watercolor. Starting with a storyboard, she creates countless sketches and pencil drawings in the process of developing the layout of the book. Astrid goes on location photo shoots to discover the right setting, and bases each of her illustrated characters on real people. Nic and Nellie is one of her most beloved books that she both wrote and illustrated. She also illustrated the award-winning titles The Scallop Christmas (2009) and The Fish House Door (2010), as well as Hope Somewhere in America (2012), Black Cloud (2012), and Tennessee Rose (2012). Astrid has won the Archibald MacLeish Prize for Art and the Medici Award in the Visual Arts. Astrid now lives in Greenfield, Massachusetts.
    Show book
  • Teeth - cover

    Teeth

    Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first bite is only the beginning. 
    Twenty of today's favorite writers explore the intersections between the living, dead, and undead. Their vampire tales range from romantic to chilling to gleeful—and touch on nearly every emotion in between. 
    Neil Gaiman's vampire-poet in "Bloody Sunrise" is brooding, remorseful, and lonely. Melissa Marr's vampires make a high-stakes game of possession and seduction in "Transition." And in "Why Light?" Tanith Lee's lovelorn vampires yearn most of all for the one thing they cannot have—daylight. Drawn from folk traditions around the world, popular culture, and original interpretations, the vampires in this collection are enticingly diverse. 
    But reader beware: The one thing they have in common is their desire for blood. . . .
    Show book
  • Shadows in the Silence - cover

    Shadows in the Silence

    Courtney Allison Moulton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the final installment of the stunning Angelfire trilogy, Courtney Allison Moulton brings her dark and compelling world of epic battles and blistering romance to a blazingly bright conclusion. 
    The ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth against Lilith, Sammael, and the armies of Hell will be a struggle to win—and even survive. As the Archangel Gabriel, Ellie knows that the darkest and toughest moments are still to come, but she has everything to fight for: for Will, for humanity, and to save herself. 
    Full of cinematic, gripping action and blistering battle scenes, as well as epic romance, Shadows in the Silence is perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Cynthia Hand, and Lauren Kate.
    Show book