Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Anissa of Syria: A Christian Refugee’s Saga from the Syrian War to the American Dream - The Love of Antioch #1 - cover

Anissa of Syria: A Christian Refugee’s Saga from the Syrian War to the American Dream - The Love of Antioch #1

Jonah Pierce

Publisher: Jonah Pierce

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Anissa is a young woman traumatized by the most brutal conflict of the 21st Century: the Syrian Civil War.  
In 2012, Islamists in Homs terrorize a Syrian-Christian community and destroy everything that she holds dear. Narrowly escaping death, Anissa restarts her devastated life as a college student in New York City. She is bewildered and lost, but hopeful for a better life in a new land. 
 
Anissa is soon drawn to two powerful individuals: Michael Kassab, the Syrian-American leader working to found the first Mideast Christian state, and Julien Morales, her Columbia University professor who runs a $20 billion hedge fund. 
 
But Michael is still attached to his ex-girlfriend and Julien is the most sought after bachelor in Manhattan (and has hidden demons that even his therapist can't extract).  
The most personal secrets are revealed through Anissa's heartfelt diary, Julien's journal, and Michael's confessions. When shocking lies and truths surface, intimacy and trust are rocked to their core. 
Julien or Michael? Anissa's heart and her communal ties pull her in different directions, as she seeks hope and renewal in a dark world. 
Anissa of Syria might be compared to The Kite Runner, Exodus, and The Diary of Anne Frank. 
 
NOTE: This is a "clean read" edition of The Syrian Virgin (i.e., this version has no profanity and just a few, brief scenes of minimally described intimacy without reference to any explicit details or sexual anatomy). Due to war themes, this book is not recommended for readers under 16.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sequel to Serpents Rising (2014) in the Cullen and Cobb series of western crime novels that teams up a former cop with an investigative journalist
    A crime series set in Calgary, a booming city often overlooked in genre fiction
    Author has written 20+ books and has a high profile, particularly in western Canada
    As an actor and award-winning novelist, author is a savvy marketer, speaker, and interviewee
    Author has won the Sakura Medal in Japan, been shortlisted for the Forest of Reading White Pine Award, and is currently a writer in residence at the Saskatoon Public Library
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Broken Angels - cover

    Broken Angels

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As they came nearer, the black-clad body came into view, lying on its side in the shallows... 
     
    One cold spring morning in County Cork, two fishermen find a body floating in the Blackwater River: the mutilated corpse of a retired music teacher. His hands and feet are bound, and his neck bears the mark of a garrotting wire. 
     
    The Garda want to wrap this case up before the press get hold of it. But when a second man is found murdered, the body bears all the same marks as the first. And Detective Superintendent Katie Maguire fears this case carries the hallmark of a serial murderer...
    Show book
  • Taken for Dead - cover

    Taken for Dead

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Katie Maguire is one of Ireland's best detectives. 
     
    So why can't she catch these killers? 
     
    In a secluded cove just outside the reaches of the city of Cork, a woman wakes up into a nightmare. She is buried in the sand, unable to escape. The gulls wheel silently overhead. Nobody could imagine the cruelty of her fate... 
     
    Katie Maguire of the Cork Garda is soon on the trail of a terrifying gang of torturers calling themselves the High Kings of Erin. She'll do anything to stop them before they can claim their next victim – but somehow they are always one step ahead. 
     
    Is Detective Katie Maguire losing her touch? Or is somebody close to her less trustworthy than they seem?
    Show book
  • Secrets We Keep - cover

    Secrets We Keep

    Nolon King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    He thought what happened in London would stay in London. He was wrong.
     
    John Treadwell should be happy. He’s a successful author with a wife and two daughters that he loves. But while an ocean away from his family, he drunkenly hooks up with one of his biggest fans to chase away the loneliness.
     
    After his one-night stand, John is sure he’ll be able to hide this moment of weakness from his wife and daughters. After all, the woman he slept with lives in London, and there’s no way they’ll ever see each other again. He’ll be able to pretend it never happened.
     
    But John isn’t about to get away so easy. His biggest fan has much bigger plans than a single drunken night...
     
    Secrets We Keep by Nolon King is an intense psychological thriller that explores the ways secrets can destroy those who hold them. Pick up your copy today!
    Show book
  • Cold Bayou - A historical mystery set in New Orleans - cover

    Cold Bayou - A historical...

    Barbara Hambly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everyone at the family wedding was hoping someone would murder the bride … The intriguing new Benjamin January mystery.  
    “Don’t go to Cold Bayou, brother … Nuthin’ good waiting for you there.” 
    New Orleans, 1839.  Despite his misgivings, Benjamin January has agreed to play the piano at the wedding of wealthy French Creole landowner Veryl St-Chinian. All is not well, for the marriage of 67-year-old, profoundly infatuated Uncle Veryl to an 18-year-old Irish tavern-slut spells potential disaster for everyone in the inter-married Viellard and St-Chinian clans. But the old man is determined to marry Miss Ellie Trask, and nothing will stand in his way.
    On the isolated plantation of Cold Bayou where the ceremony is to take place, tension is rife even before the body is discovered in the woods behind the dower house, its throat cut. A yet more disturbing turn of events sees January himself accused of the crime…
    Show book