Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Curse The Moon - Cold War Series - cover

Curse The Moon - Cold War Series

Lee Jackson

Publisher: Lee Jackson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Curse The Moon: Cold War Rising 
Cold War Series 
A Story Of Intrigue And Courage 
The Cold War. A backdrop to betrayal. A playground to power. His code-name is Atcho. Cuban-born. West Point Graduate. To save his daughter, he must be a sleeper agent for men he'd rather kill. 
Atcho's rise in national prominence opens doors into the US Defense Industry even as a seemingly omniscient KGB officer holds unflinching sway over his actions. His public life clashes with secrets that only he and his tormentor share, isolating him in a world of intrigue among people he'd give his life for. Atcho fights fiercely against the daunting reality that he is the factor that could trigger nuclear war. 
“Splendid! A real page-turner. Ya’ done good, Bubba.” NYT Best Selling Author Joe Galloway, co-author of “We Were Soldier’s Once,…” 
“Riveting. Couldn't put it down.” Lieutenant-General Ricky Lynch (Retired), former Commanding General, 3rd Infantry Division during the Surge in Iraq." 
Atcho is at his best when he's being Atcho --taking names and kicking ass. Highly enjoyable when in all-out-action mode..." Kirkus Reviews  
“Lee Jackson writes in the style of the early and notable Robert Ludlum or Ken Follett. The story is action-packed, riveting, adrenaline-pumping reading that is sure to make this a best-seller. The moon can be friend or enemy and Atcho clearly knows the difference! Superb historical thriller!” Crystal Book Reviews  
Curse the Moon has it all, packaging its tense thriller in the cloak of understanding motivations both political and personal. It's all about danger, sacrifice, and how even would-be romance bows to the pressure of a covert operator's obligations. In the end the personal moves into political realms and comes full-circle to promise Atcho a life he could barely have imagined at the novel's beginning. The warrior's façade may soften, but can it transform to something more than constant struggle and fighting? D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review 

Other books that might interest you

  • One Night in Winter - A Novel - cover

    One Night in Winter - A Novel

    Simon Sebag Montefiore

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Inspired by a true story, prize-winning historian and acclaimed novelist Simon Sebag Montefiore explores the consequences of forbidden love in this heartbreaking epic of marriage, childhood, danger, and betrayal that unfolds in Stalin's Moscow during the bleak days after World War II. 
    As Moscow celebrates the motherland's glorious victory over the Nazis, shots ring out on the crowded streets. On a nearby bridge, a teenage boy and girl—dressed in traditional nineteenth-century costumes—lie dead. But this is no ordinary tragedy, because these are no ordinary teenagers. As the son and daughter of high-ranking Soviet officials, they attend the most elite school in Moscow. Was it an accident, or murder? Is it a conspiracy against Stalin, or one of his own terrifying intrigues?  
    On Stalin's instructions, a ruthless investigation begins into what becomes known as the Children's Case. Youth across the city are arrested and forced to testify against their friends and their parents. As families are ripped apart, all kinds of secrets come spilling out. Trapped at the center of this witch-hunt are two pairs of illicit lovers, who learn that matters of the heart exact a terrible price. By turns a darkly sophisticated political thriller, a rich historical saga, and a deeply human love story, Montefiore's masterful novel powerfully portrays the terror and drama of Stalin's Russia.
    Show book
  • Thirty Pieces of Silver - A Play in Three Acts - cover

    Thirty Pieces of Silver - A Play...

    Howard Fast

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A couple in Washington, DC, is torn apart when a friend is accused of treasonJane and David Graham live upper-middle-class lives in mid-century Washington, DC. Jane minds the home with the help of a fulltime maid, and David works at the Treasury Department. But when the FBI visits their house one evening to ask questions about a friend’s political beliefs, the answers the two give separately cause them both to wonder whether they truly know each other. Soon nothing is certain as the ideological fears plaguing the nation threaten to destroy Jane and David’s family. Howard Fast’s first play, Thirty Pieces of Silver was performed in several countries, from Australia to Europe, and offers an insightful look at the destructive power of reactionary politics in America. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Big Wind - cover

    The Big Wind

    Beatrice Coogan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It all began on the night of the Big Wind. A wild and savage night in January 1839 when a storm struck Ireland, leaving such suffering and devastation in its path that a mark remained on the minds and hearts of Irishmen, and the land itself, ever after. It was the night Sterrin O'Carroll, 'blossom of the storm', was born in Kilsheelin Castle. 
     
    Growing up during Ireland's darkest hours, Sterrin forms a bond with a household servant called Young Thomas that deepens over the years into a forbidden love – a love as fierce and relentless as the storm that ushered her into the world. But their paths are divided by devastating events that change the course of Ireland's history. After the bitterness and the sorrow finally wane, Sterrin's indomitable spirit never weakens because, Thomas, like her beloved land, will return to her.
    Show book
  • Rich Man Poor Man - A Novel - cover

    Rich Man Poor Man - A Novel

    Irwin Shaw

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    This New York Times–bestselling saga of two brothers in postwar America, the basis for the classic miniseries, is “a book you can’t put down” (The New York Times).  Siblings Rudy, Tom, and Gretchen Jordache grow up in a small town on the Hudson River. They’re in their teens in the 1940s, too young to go to war but marked by it nevertheless. Their father is the local baker, and nothing suggests they will live storied lives. Yet, in this sprawling saga, each member of the family pushes against the grain of history and confronts the perils and pleasures of a world devastated by conflict and transformed by American commerce and culture.   A memorable novel by one of America’s greatest twentieth-century authors, Rich Man, Poor Man offers a gripping ride through America between the Second World War and Vietnam. It was made into one of the first primetime TV mini-series, and starred Nick Nolte, Peter Strauss, and Susan Blakely.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Irwin Shaw including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Irish Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Irish Girl - A Novel

    Santa Montefiore

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Ireland. The early twentieth century.  
      
    Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.  
      
    Read their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."  
      
    Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...  
      
    Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. 
      
    As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.  
      
    A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. 
    Previously published as The Girl in the Castle
    Show book
  • The Accursed - A Novel - cover

    The Accursed - A Novel

    Joyce Carol Oates

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A major historical novel from "one of the great artistic forces of our time" (The Nation)—an eerie, unforgettable story of possession, power, and loss in early-twentieth-century Princeton, a cultural crossroads of the powerful and the damned 
    Princeton, New Jersey, at the turn of the twentieth century: a tranquil place to raise a family, a genteel town for genteel souls. But something dark and dangerous lurks at the edges of the town, corrupting and infecting its residents. Vampires and ghosts haunt the dreams of the innocent. A powerful curse besets the elite families of Princeton; their daughters begin disappearing. A young bride on the verge of the altar is seduced and abducted by a dangerously compelling man–a shape-shifting, vaguely European prince who might just be the devil, and who spreads his curse upon a richly deserving community of white Anglo-Saxon privilege. And in the Pine Barrens that border the town, a lush and terrifying underworld opens up.  
    When the bride's brother sets out against all odds to find her, his path will cross those of Princeton's most formidable people, from Grover Cleveland, fresh out of his second term in the White House and retired to town for a quieter life, to soon-to-be commander in chief Woodrow Wilson, president of the university and a complex individual obsessed to the point of madness with his need to retain power; from the young Socialist idealist Upton Sinclair to his charismatic comrade Jack London, and the most famous writer of the era, Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain–all plagued by "accursed" visions. 
    An utterly fresh work from Oates, The Accursed marks new territory for the masterful writer. Narrated with her unmistakable psychological insight, it combines beautifully transporting historical detail with chilling supernatural elements to stunning effect.
    Show book