Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Affliction - cover

Affliction

S.L. Dearing

Publisher: SLDearing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Kaila Montgomery is a vivacious young woman, enjoying her collegiate years. She excels in her classes, shares a great apartment with her best friend Kate, and has many friends. Life is great! That is until she begins to feel as if she’s being watched, and a mysterious package leads to one frightening event after another. Can Kaila figure out who is watching her, before it’s too late? 
**Affliction is a stalking short story. It contains violence, mature situations and potential triggers.**

Who read this book also read:

  • Murder at the High School Reunion - Dekker Cozy Mystery Series #5 - cover

    Murder at the High School...

    Steve Demaree

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this fifth book in the Dekker Cozy Mystery Series, rumors abound that the two people who turned up missing after the high school reunion might not have run away together, but could have been murdered.  Lt. Dekker and Sgt. Murdock will not become involved unless the missing couple's bodies are found, but then Lt. Dekker might not become involved even if that happens.  The doctor who gives all the physical examinations for the police department has told Lt. Dekker that he had gained weight, and he must lose all that he has gained, plus five more pounds in order to work on the case, should there be one.  Lt. Dekker is not eager to lose weight, because losing weight means he will have to exercise and cut back on what he is eating, neither of which pleases him.  So, he is in a quandry.
    Show book
  • The Prisoner of Castillac - cover

    The Prisoner of Castillac

    Nell Goddin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    What if Valerie is still alive?
    
    Virtually no one in the village of Castillac holds out any hope. It has been seven years, after all. Seven years since the popular, mischievous Valerie Boutillier disappeared without a trace. The exertions of the gendarmes, led by Chief Dufort, yielded almost no clues, and his failure to solve the case had been one of the main reasons he quit the force.
    
    But then a shred of evidence appears. It might be nothing. But Molly Sutton isn’t afraid to grab hold of it and take it as far as she can.
    
    Will a shred be enough? 
    
    And if Valerie is still alive, how will Molly and Ben ever find her in time?
    Show book
  • The House of Closed Doors Boxed Set: Nell's Story - cover

    The House of Closed Doors Boxed...

    Jane Steen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in the American Midwest of the 1870s, this three-novel story blends mystery, romance, history, and family drama in over 30 hours of entertaining, fast-paced reading. See why readers rave about the writing, the plot twists, and the characters. 
     
    NELL LILLINGTON is a spoiled, headstrong 16-year-old when she finds herself pregnant after letting a flirtation with handsome Cousin Jack get out of hand. More willing to bear the consequences of an illegitimate pregnancy than marry, she refuses to name the father and agrees to give birth in a Poor Farm and give the baby up for adoption. At the Poor Farm she meets Tess O’Dugan, a woman the world calls an imbecile but who soon becomes the sister Nell never had. 
     
    MARTIN RUTHERFORD, Nell’s childhood friend, only learns of baby Sarah when Nell seeks to escape from the Poor Farm—with the child. His own aversion to marriage stems from his dark, unhappy childhood, and despite his attachment to Nell he makes no objection to her plan to move to Kansas, away from prying eyes, with Tess and Sarah. Martin, now free of family ties, has his own plans—he wishes to build a grand department store in Chicago and become one of that growing city’s merchant princes. 
     
    But Nell and Martin’s plans are steered off course by the secrets and lies of other people, and their paths to happiness are strewn with murder. Nell’s story will take you from the Illinois prairie, to frontier Kansas, and back to a Chicago teeming with opportunistic new Americans and ruthless hardmen.
    Show book
  • EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #4 - cover

    EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page."—Fresh Fiction 
    Lawyer Kate Lange has survived some terrible things. And it has changed her. What scares her is that it may not be for the better. 
    Determined to take charge of her career and make sense of her life, she embarks on a bold plan—she will leave private practice and become a Crown Prosecutor. But she soon discovers that she must learn the ropes as a criminal defense lawyer to achieve her goal. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to... the accused? 
    Joining forces with Eddie Bent, a recovering alcoholic and top criminal defense lawyer, Kate takes on the case of a young woman shot while committing a puzzling crime. The shooter is none other than golden boy Member of Parliament Harry Owen.  Just months before, he had refused Kate’s plea for compassion for a dying client. And now he is both victim—and shooter—of her new client. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to… us all? 
    While Kate races to piece together the case, the lines between innocence and guilt become blurred as an online vigilante forum seeks its own brand of justice—and a devious cyber mastermind puts the final touches on an explosive plan. 
    "Intertwined in the storyline are devious cyber plots to rival anything ripped from today's political nightmares. Who is behind what plot? Can these disasters be averted? Can any illegal activity ever be for the public good? ... Although this was read as a standalone, I really want to read the first three volumes. I HIGHLY recommend this book."–Book Review Crew  
    Set in a 36-hour time period, EXPLOITED is an edge-of-the-seat thriller for fans of John Grisham, James Patterson and Lisa Scottoline. 
    The series has sold over three hundred thousand copies and is now under option for television development. 
     
     
    Praise for the novels of Pamela Callow: 
     
    "Pamela Callow's debut thriller Damaged reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical...and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning." 
    — James Rollins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    "...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..." 
    — Atlantic Books Today on Damaged 
     
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
     
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing. The insidious villain destroys a life, a reputation and a family, all as part of a chilling plan." 
    —RT Book Reviews on Indefensible, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
     
    “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; Tattooed has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.”  
    —The Eclectic Reader  
     
    Show book
  • Come Winter - A Novel - cover

    Come Winter - A Novel

    Evan Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A glamorous ski resort becomes the setting for unspeakable evil in this “chilling, fascinating novel” by the New York Times–bestselling author of Last Summer (Los Angeles Times). Sandy, David, and Peter met as bored teenagers vacationing with their parents on a small resort island. The horrific crime they committed five years ago bound them together forever, cursing their friendship in blood and setting them on a path toward nihilism and destruction.   Now in their early twenties, the glamorous and sophisticated trio has come to an exclusive ski resort just days before Christmas to satisfy their appetite for danger and enjoy the physical company of the only human beings they can still tolerate: one another. But an interloper soon finds her way into their closed circle. Mary Margaret is no gullible innocent. She’s smart and mischievous and appears bent on tearing the friends apart. Will Sandy, Peter, and David keep their sinister ménage-à-trois intact, or have they finally met their match? On the steep and icy slopes of Semanee Peak, a dangerous game of cat and mouse comes to a shattering end.   “An unforgettable exploration into the nature of evil,” Come Winter is the chilling sequel to Last Summer and a “brilliant . . . dazzling” portrait of young sociopaths at play (Burlington Free Press).  
    Show book
  • The Shadow Palace - The House of Closed Doors #3 - cover

    The Shadow Palace - The House of...

    Jane Steen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For unwed mother Nell Lillington, 1876 Chicago—and her new wealth—offer the promise of longed-for independence. She dreams of a place in society for her daughter Sarah and contentment for her friend Tess. Yet how can she settle in a town where she’s far too likely to run into Martin Rutherford and his glittering, faithless wife, Lucetta? Can she resist her love for Martin for Sarah’s sake? 
     
    Martin was doubtless joking when he told Nell that if she got herself mixed up with a murderer for the third time, he’d disown her. But when Martin himself is arrested for murder, Nell’s dreams appear to be swallowed up in the new web of secrets she constructs to help him. Secrets that threaten to alienate Tess, Sarah, and even Martin . . .  
     
    The third book in the House of Closed Doors series will take you to a Chicago teeming with opportunistic new Americans, luxury-loving merchant princes and hard-hearted denizens of the underworld.
    Show book