Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Bloodlines - cover

Bloodlines

S.L. Dearing

Publisher: SLDearing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When Sascha and Eduard Engle flee nazi occupied Germany and arrive at a small cottage deep in the woods of France, they have no idea what is in store for them or who the kindly old man is who is taking care of them. But on a cold winter the night, they will learn everything they have been yearning to know about their... Bloodlines. 
 
This is a paranormal short story. It was originally published in the anthology, Paranormal Anthology with a Twist.

Who read this book also read:

  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Two Tales of Korval - Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #1 - cover

    Two Tales of Korval - Adventures...

    Steve Miller, Sharon Lee

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Adventures in the Liaden Universe® Number One.  Originally published by SRM Publisher in 1995.  Includes the two classic Liaden stories, "To Cut an Edge," and "A Day at the Races." 
     
    "To Cut an Edge" details a Scout trainee's meeting with an alien; and "A Day at the Races," pits two young gentlemen of fashion against their very proper aunt.
    Show book
  • No Love Lost - cover

    No Love Lost

    Margery Allingham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Comprising of two short novellas, The Patient at Peacock's Hall and Safer than Love, No Love Lost is a thrilling work of suspense.   
     
    In The Patient at Peacock's Hall a young female doctor, struggling to save the life of her rival in love, is threatened by a cunning madman, driven to his madness by the woman Dr Ann Fowler is caring for. In Safer than Love Elizabeth Lane marries a safe and secure headmaster to escape a more dangerous love, but finds husband's body stuffed down a well – and herself as the chief suspect.
    Show book
  • The 10 Works to read in this life Vol:1 (Phoenix Classics) - cover

    The 10 Works to read in this...

    Edgar Allan Poe, George Eliot,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The 10 Works to read in this life Vol:1, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!
    The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    contents :
    
    Middlemarch by George Eliot
    Cabin Fever by B. M. Bower
    Bel-Ami by Guy de Maupassant
    The Black Cat by Edgar Allan Poe
    Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
    The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
    A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare
    Hamlet by William Shakespeare
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
    20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
    Show book
  • The One Tree of Luna - And Other Stories - cover

    The One Tree of Luna - And Other...

    Todd McCaffrey

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Seven fantastic tales of wild futures, strange visions, and unexpected comings-of-age, by the acclaimed coauthor of the bestselling Pern novelsNew York Times–bestselling author Todd McCaffrey is proof positive that when it comes to vision, talent, and imagination without boundaries, the apple never falls far from the tree. The son of fantasy fiction legend Anne McCaffrey, as well as her frequent coauthor, he offers up seven captivating tales that run the gamut from science fiction to humor to horror, each one a treasure and a marvel.   With heart, wit, and astonishing invention, Todd McCaffrey carries us away to places we never before dreamed we could go—whether he is chronicling the trials of a young boy with a most unfortunate name or a notorious convict released on parole. He treats us to a wild night in Paris that ends with a bang and introduces us to a talking car that simply will not shut up. With the chilling tale of a famous astronaut’s orphaned daughter, whose search for an unknown parent leads her to dark places, the strange yarn of a moon child and her very special tree, and the heartfelt story of a child burdened with soul-crushing responsibilities and the remarkable answer to his prayers, Todd McCaffrey shows himself to be a peerless storyteller whose short works of fiction are as exhilarating and powerful as his novels.
    Show book
  • The Business of Naming Things - cover

    The Business of Naming Things

    Michael Coffey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Riveting . . . vibrant and unsparing.” —Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review)“Superb. . . . Startlingly original.” —Library Journal (starred review)“Once I started reading these stories, I couldn’t stop. They absorbed me thoroughly, with their taut narratives and evocative language—the language of a poet.” —JAY PARINI, author of Jesus: The Human Face of God and The Last Station“Sherwood Anderson would recognize this world of lonely, longing characters, whose surface lives Coffey tenderly plumbs. These beautiful stories—spare, rich, wise and compelling—go to the heart.” —FREDERIC TUTEN, author of Self Portraits: Fictions and Tintin in the New World“Whether [Coffey is] writing about a sinning priest or a man who’s made a career out of branding or about himself, we can smell Coffey’s protagonists and feel their breath on our cheek. Like Chekhov, he must be a notebook writer; how else to explain the strange quirks and the perfect but unaccountable details that animate these intimate portraits?”  —EDMUND WHITE, author of Inside a Pearl and A Boy’s Own StoryAmong these eight stories, a fan of writer (and fellow adoptee) Harold Brodkey gains an audience with him at his life’s end, two pals take a Joycean sojourn, a man whose business is naming things meets a woman who may not be what she seems, and a father discovers his son is a suspect in an assassination attempt on the president. In each tale, Michael Coffey’s exquisite attention to character underlies the brutally honest perspectives of his disenchanted fathers, damaged sons, and orphans left feeling perpetually disconnected.Michael Coffey is the author of three books of poems and 27 Men Out, a book about baseball’s perfect games. He also co-edited The Irish in America, a book about Irish immigration to America, which was a companion volume to a PBS documentary series. He divides his time between Manhattan and Bolton Landing, New York. The Business of Naming Things is his first work of fiction.
    Show book