Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
French Tango - cover

French Tango

Bruce Rousseau

Publisher: Dark Teal Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Welcome to modern-day Saint-Jardé, France. A charming old-world village, nestled in the progress-resisting foothills of the southern French Alps. 
	When the priest dies under suspicious circumstances, the townspeople suspect the local Don — a Monte Carlo mob boss who has a villa in town. But when the Church sends a mysterious Envoy instead of a new priest, they suspect he’s a Vatican hit-man. 
	At the center of French Tango is Luc, a troubled 17-year-old who becomes swept up in Saint-Jardé’s chaos, and caught in multiple crosshairs. His goal was simply to make money — now it's simply to survive. 
	A miracle here. A body there. C'est la vie. 
	French Tango is an unconventional mystery novel combining humor, action, and tangled webs of suspicion. The plot is character driven with an emphasis on forward movement. 
	French Tango contains moderate language. U.S. English. 298 pages based on the trade paperback.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Accident - A heart-stopping thriller with shocking secrets that will keep you hooked - cover

    The Accident - A heart-stopping...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tragic accident, an unbearable loss and a marriage in crisis – but who can she trust or is she all alone? A gripping, debut psychological thriller that will keep you hooked. Perfect for the fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson. 
     
    Veronica Pullman's comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident. 
     
    Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter's death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship. 
     
    Scarlet is everything Veronica could've been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable. But as she approaches what would have been Grace's 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything. 
     
    Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game? 
     
    'This novel is a beautifully written, if disturbing, exploration of how grief affects friendships, marriage and the main character's sense of self' Anita Davison.
    Show book
  • The Nanny - A Novel - cover

    The Nanny - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “The Nanny kept me in white-knuckled suspense until the very last page. Gilly Macmillan’s breakout thriller is a dark and twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong.” — Tess Gerritsen,  New York Times bestselling author 
    The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew conjures a dark and unpredictable tale of family secrets that explores the lengths people will go to hurt one another. 
    When her beloved nanny, Hannah, left without a trace in the summer of 1988, seven-year-old Jocelyn Holt was devastated. Haunted by the loss, Jo grew up bitter and distant, and eventually left her parents and Lake Hall, their faded aristocratic home, behind. 
    Thirty years later, Jo returns to the house and is forced to confront her troubled relationship with her mother. But when human remains are accidentally uncovered in a lake on the estate, Jo begins to question everything she thought she knew. 
    Then an unexpected visitor knocks on the door and Jo’s world is destroyed again. Desperate to piece together the gaping holes in her memory, Jo must uncover who her nanny really was, why she left, and if she can trust her own mother… 
    In this compulsively readable tale of secrets, lies, and deception, Gilly Macmillan explores the darkest impulses and desires of the human heart. Diabolically clever, The Nanny reminds us that sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie.
    Show book
  • Copy Boy - A Novel - cover

    Copy Boy - A Novel

    Shelley Blanton-Stroud

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “This is Raymond Chandler for feminists.” ―Sharma Shields, author of The Cassandra“An expressive and striking story that examines what one does for family and for oneself.” ―Kirkus ReviewsJane’s a very brave boy. And a very difficult girl. She’ll become a remarkable woman, an icon of her century, but that’s a long way off. Not my fault, she thinks, dropping a bloody crowbar in the irrigation ditch after Daddy. She steals Momma’s Ford and escapes to Depression-era San Francisco, where she fakes her way into work as a newspaper copy boy. Everything’s looking up. She’s climbing the ladder at the paper, winning validation, skill, and connections with the artists and thinkers of her day. But then Daddy reappears on the paper’s front page, his arm around a girl who’s just been beaten into a coma one block from Jane’s newspaper―hit in the head with a crowbar. Jane’s got to find Daddy before he finds her, and before everyone else finds her out. She’s got to protect her invented identity. This is what she thinks she wants. It’s definitely what her dead brother wants.
    Show book
  • Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory - cover

    Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of...

    Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe

    • 3
    • 52
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe, who delivered the late beloved author’s brilliance in Sidney Sheldon’s After the Darkness, is back with an addictive, edge-of-your-seat thriller filled with shocking twists, money, power, and betrayal involving an influential family and the beautiful and formidable woman at its center whose dark secrets can destroy them all. 
    The conservative party's newest superstar, Alexia De Vere has worked hard to realize her political ambitions. The brilliant and ruthless wife of wealthy aristocrat Teddy De Vere, Alexia relishes her power and the control it gives her to shape and destroy lives. 
    Yet success has also demanded sacrifice. Her daughter, Roxie, a bitter young woman confined to a wheelchair after a failed suicide attempt, blames Alexia for ruining her life. Alexia's dashing son, Michael, is risking the family's good name to jump-start his entre-preneurial dreams. Thankfully, Alexia has Teddy, her devoted husband who will stop at nothing to protect her. 
    But beneath Alexia De Vere's gilded life and formidable facade lie secrets that are ugly, dirty, and deadly. When long-buried mistakes of her youth begin to resurface, old hatreds are rekindled and Alexia finds herself on the brink of losing everything—her power, her family, and even her own life. Now the woman who rose so high is on the brink of a perilous fall. For when the tides of memory rise, the only thing that might save her is the truth. . . .
    Show book
  • Dead Man Walking - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dead Man Walking - A country...

    Simon R. Green

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”
    
    A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time. 
    
    Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book