Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
French Tango - cover

French Tango

Bruce Rousseau

Publisher: Dark Teal Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Welcome to modern-day Saint-Jardé, France. A charming old-world village, nestled in the progress-resisting foothills of the southern French Alps.
 

	When the priest dies under suspicious circumstances, the townspeople suspect the local Don — a Monte Carlo mob boss who has a villa in town. But when the Church sends a mysterious Envoy instead of a new priest, they suspect he’s a Vatican hit-man.
 

	At the center of French Tango is Luc, a troubled 17-year-old who becomes swept up in Saint-Jardé’s chaos, and caught in multiple crosshairs. His goal was simply to make money — now it's simply to survive.
 

	A miracle here. A body there. C'est la vie.
 

	French Tango is an unconventional mystery novel combining humor, action, and tangled webs of suspicion. The plot is character driven with an emphasis on forward movement.
 

	French Tango contains moderate language. U.S. English. 298 pages based on the trade paperback.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trap Lane - cover

    Trap Lane

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The troubled past of the Black Dog’s manager returns to haunt him in the intriguing new Cotswold village mystery featuring pub owner Alex Duggins.
    Although he has always kept his past carefully hidden, as the ever-reliable manager of her well-stocked pub, The Black Dog, Hugh Rhys has Alex Duggins’ total trust. However the unexpected arrival of two women from his past raises the fury of the usually even-tempered Hugh, threatens his carefully-crafted reputation and sends shockwaves through the village.
    When a battered body is discovered in a deep pond near Hugh’s estate, Alex and her partner Tony are once again pulled into a chilling murder investigation. With Hugh’s odd behaviour ensuring that he becomes the police’s chief suspect, Alex determines to prove his innocence. But she’s about to find herself walking a dangerous line, looking for a killer she may wish she had never found …
    Show book
  • Risking It All - cover

    Risking It All

    Stephanie Harte

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Gemma is about to risk it all for the man she loves. Will she survive entering into a life of crime? 
     
    Gemma has always been there for Nathan. He's the love of her life and she made a commitment to him, one she'd never consider breaking... until smooth-talking gangster Alfie Watson comes into their lives and changes everything. 
     
    Alfie doesn't care about true love – he wants Gemma, and the gangster always gets what he wants. When Nathan ends up owing him money, Alfie gets payback by recruiting Gemma to carry out a jewellery heist. To everyone's surprise, she's a natural. Until Alfie forgives Nathan's debt, she has no choice but to accompany the gangster on more and more daring heists – even though one slip-up could cost her everything. 
     
    Nathan might have fallen under Alfie's spell, but it doesn't take long for him to realise that he needs to save Gemma from his own mistakes if their marriage is to have any chance of surviving. But when that means taking on the East End's most notorious gangster at his own game, will he find himself up to the challenge? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Emma Tallon and Jessie Keane.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Goes by Train - cover

    Inspector Ghote Goes by Train

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Quietly dignified Inspector Ghote, 'one of the great creations of detective fiction' (Alexander McCall Smith), finds himself trapped on a train with a fellow passenger who may - or may not - be the legendary confidence trickster he is travelling to collect, in this classic mystery - with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
     
    When Inspector Ganesh Ghote boards the train to Calcutta, he's looking forward to spending forty hours detached from his responsibilities, but nevertheless still doing his job. He is on his way to collect legendary swindler A. K. Bhattacharya, who's defrauded wealthy art-lovers for years, and bring him back to Bombay to stand trial.
     
    But his peace and quiet is immediately disturbed by a chatty fellow traveller, who, Ghote soon realises, talks relentlessly but never gives anything personal away. Who is this man, who never takes off his sunglasses, and whose hair appears freshly dyed? The good inspector's heart stops when he sees the initials on his companion's case: A.K.B.
     
    A. K. Bhattacharaya, the master trickster, is in prison in Calcutta, awaiting transfer under Ghote's custody to Bombay. It would be the wildest fantasy to think he should be sitting on the train with Ghote instead. 
    
    Wouldn't it?
    Show book
  • The Second Wife - cover

    The Second Wife

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gwen Lake is a forty-five-year-old police officer with a desk job, an ex-husband and a future not even close to the American dream. A year after her divorce, and more out of boredom and curiosity than anything else, she agrees to a meeting with her ex's new wife. She has no idea that the encounter will lead to murder. And she has decidedly mixed emotions when her ex-husband is arrested for the crime. Instead of accepting the lead detective's advice to book a Club Med vacation and leave the investigation to the professionals, Gwen decides to work the case on her own. Her life is about to get a lot less predictable and a lot more dangerous.
    Show book
  • Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder - cover

    Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales...

    Lincoln Michel, Nadxieli Nieto

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Immensely fun to read, Tiny Crimes is a playful mashup of crime genres (noir, sci-fi, cozy, absurdist, humor, international, and more); the collection is also a "who's who" of literature today:  Carmen Maria Machado, J. Robert Lennon and Amelia Gray, Laura van den Berg and Brian Evenson, Yuri Herrera and Amber Sparks, to name just a few
    Perfect gift for the fans of True Detective, Fargo, and Westworld; quickly digestible stories make it great read for commuting and short attention spans
    The reader can begin anywhere she likes, with each story a stellar entry point into the collection's immersive, punchy, and cinematic tone
    Includes stories in translation by Yuri Herrera (Spanish), Fuminori Nakamura (Japanese), Fabien Clouette & Quentin Leclerc (French), with both the English version and the original appearing sequentially in the collection, and featuring celebrated translators including Lisa Dillman, Allison Powell, and Jeffrey Zuckerman
    Featuring several comics among the stories in the collection
    For readers who loved My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, and the Akashic City Noir series
    Contributors located in Berkeley, CA; Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria; Brooklyn, NY; Cambridge, MA; Chicago, IL; Columbia, SC; Decatur, GA; Denver, CO; Irvine, CA; Ithaca, NY; Lincolnville, ME; Los Angeles, CA; Madison, WI; Merida, Mexico; New Orleans, LA; New York, NY; Minneapolis, MN; Oswego, NY;  Philadelphia, PA; Rennes, France; Salt Lake City, UT; Tokyo, Japan; Toronto, Canada; Washington, D.C. 
    List of every contributor's favorite independent bookstore available on request
    Physical ARCs will include endorsements from independent booksellers, and digital ARC available on Edelweiss
    
    Bookseller Praise for Tiny Crimes
    "I picked up this book for two primary reasons: (1) Elizabeth Hand. 'Nuff said. (2) I really liked a previous Catapult anthology called Watchlist. Well, I was not disappointed. As with any multi-author anthology, some stories were more to my taste than others. But the editors have put together a wonderful array of voices, each of whom brings a different perspective to the overall crime theme. I also loved that the translated stories included the original text on facing pages. Tiny Crimes has definitely given me a list of new authors to check out, which, as far as I'm concerned, means an anthology has done its job!" —Rebecca, Kramerbooks (Washington, D.C.)
    
     
    "Tiny Crimes is a flash fiction redefinition of the crime genre, encompassing a wide array of stunningly original voices. Asking 'What is criminal in this moment?,' the collection is imbued with a wild sense of wrongness. It’s haunted by the ghosts of murdered prairie dogs, held hostage by loneliness. The tiny crimes within are everyday offenses, cheeky explorations, and heinous acts (the index, perhaps the greatest delight, includes such entries as: PENIS—glowing faintly in the dark, DOG—eaten down to spine, and TURNSTILE—hopped by nun). Ultimately, it places a mirror before the reader. It demands an interrogation of one’s own understanding of criminality and personal culpability." —Elizabeth Willis, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
    Show book
  • Long Silence The - A 1920s' Hollywood noir mystery - cover

    Long Silence The - A 1920s'...

    Gerard O'Donovan

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series. February, 1922.  Hollywood is young but already mired in scandal. When a leading movie director is murdered, Irish-American investigator Tom Collins is called in by studio boss Mack Sennett, whose troubled star, Mabel Normand, is rumoured to be involved.But Normand has gone missing.  And, as Collins discovers, there’s a growing list of suspects.  His quest leads him through the brutal heart of Prohibition-era Los Angeles, from speakeasies and dope dens to the studios and salons of Hollywood’s fabulously wealthy movie elite, and to a secret so explosive it must be kept silent at any cost … Inspired by the unsolved real-life murder of movie director William Desmond Taylor, The Long Silence is the first in a richly evocative, instantly compelling series of new noir mysteries set in Hollywood’s early days.
    Show book