Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Home Ice Advantage - The Dallas Comets #2 - cover

Home Ice Advantage - The Dallas Comets #2

Jaymee Jacobs

Publisher: Jaymee Jacobs

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Iris may have home ice advantage, but Mark is the hometown hockey hero. 
Mark Klingensmith just played the worst season of his career. He’s got one season left on his contract with the Dallas Comets, and he’s worried that the team won’t re-sign him. Mark doesn’t have time to think about his future, though, because he gets the bad news that his mother is still sick with cancer and is undergoing a second round of chemotherapy. 
Iris Olson has been taking care of Mark’s mother, Sandra, while Mark was off playing pro hockey. Sandra had always been like a mother to Iris, and Iris gladly takes on the duty of helping Sandra after her diagnosis. 
When Mark returns to Grand Rapids, Minnesota, for the summer to help with his mother, Iris’s life gets much more complicated. They have a history: she and Mark were once engaged. The two former flames team up to help Sandra through her treatment, and working together so closely reminds them of why they were so in love—but they are also reminded of why they couldn’t make it work. 
Can they reconcile their love for each other while pursuing their dream careers? Will they try to give their relationship a second chance? And will Sandra beat her cancer? 
Previously released in the Seduced by the Game anthology, published October 28, 2015.

Other books that might interest you

  • An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House Book #3) - cover

    An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 4
    • 13
    • 0
    "Engaging Regency romance to sweep you away."--USA Today Happy Ever After BlogLife for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier if she hid in her older sister's shadow--which worked until her sister got married. Even with thepressure of her socially ambitious mother, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience to save her previously spotless reputation.Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn't be happier that he is not the duke in the family. He's free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, which includes grand plans of wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he doesn't know, his dream of a marriage like his parents' seems lost forever. Already starting their marriage on shaky ground, can Adelaide and Trent's relationship survive the pressures of London society?
    Show book
  • Duchess By Night - cover

    Duchess By Night

    Eloisa James

    • 4
    • 10
    • 0
    A Mischievous Charade . . .  
    Harriet, Duchess of Berrow, is tired of her title and the responsibilities that come along with it. Enough with proper tea parties and elegant balls; what Harriet really wants is to attend an outrageous soiree where she can unleash her wildest whims and desires. But to attend such an event—especially if the event in question is Lord Justinian Strange's rollicking fete, filled with noble rogues and rotters, risqué ladies and illicit lovers—would be certain scandal. That's why she must disguise herself . . . 
    Looking forward to a night of uninhibited pleasure, Lord Strange is shocked to discover that beneath the clothes of a no-good rake is the most beautiful woman in the room. Why is a woman like her risking her reputation at his notorious affair? And can he possibly entice her to stay . . .  forever?
    Show book
  • Romancing the Duke - Castles Ever After - cover

    Romancing the Duke - Castles...

    Tessa Dare

    • 7
    • 39
    • 0
    As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens.  She never doubted romance would be in her future, too.  The storybooks offered endless possibilities. 
    And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off.  One by one by one.   Ugly duckling turned swan?   Abducted by handsome highwayman?   Rescued from drudgery by charming prince? 
    No, no, and . . . Heh. 
    Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head.  What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed? 
    This one.
    Show book
  • A Sister's Struggle - A gripping 1930s saga of love loss and friendship - cover

    A Sister's Struggle - A gripping...

    Mary Gibson

    • 2
    • 26
    • 0
    The heartfelt new saga from Mary Gibson, bestselling author of Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts. 
     
    London, 1935. 
     
    Ruby is always hungry, but she will go without if it means her young brothers can eat. 
     
    1930s Bermondsey might be called the larder of London, with its pie, pickle and jam factories, but for the poor working classes, starvation is a heartbeat away. 
     
    When Ruby's neighbour suggests she go to the Methodist Mission for free food, Ruby knows her father will be furious, but that she has no other option. 
     
    It is a decision that will change the course of her life forever and lead her to face a terrible choice between duty and a great love. 
     
     Praise for A SISTER'S STRUGGLE: 
     
    'Affecting, poignant and intensely emotional ... A stirring and captivating read guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings that is absolutely perfect for fans of Call the Midwife' Julie, Bookish Jottings. 
     
    'Beautifully written book. I feel so honoured to have witnessed this raw and heartfelt story and I am hoping this review will give the book the justice it deserves ... An emotional and heartfelt journey [...] told with pure honesty and heart' Stacey is Reading. 
     
    'A brilliant saga filled with intrigue and questions ... Full of friendship, family and choices, it's a book I can highly recommend to all saga fans. But do remember to set aside a day to read, because once you start, you won't want to put the book down' Lauren, Mixing Reality with Fiction. 
     
    'Brilliant depiction of London and life during trying times. I immediately wanted Ruby and her family to be OK and was rooting for them' Katherine's Book Universe. 
     
    'Perfect reading on a cold winter's night ... Set around the same time as the popular Call the Midwife, so if you are a fan of that you are sure to like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much that it's one I will read again' Rachel Bustin. 
     
    'A truly beautiful book ... It gives you a glimpse into real London in the 1930s ... An eye-opening book, and if you love Call the Midwife, you will LOVE this book' Cara's Book Boudoir.
    Show book
  • The Ugly Duchess - cover

    The Ugly Duchess

    Eloisa James

    • 12
    • 67
    • 0
    “Eloisa James is extraordinary.”—Lisa Kleypas 
    “Nothing gets me to the bookstore faster than a new novel by Eloisa James.”—Julia Quinn 
    New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James gives the classic Hans Christian Andersen story of “The Ugly Duckling” a wonderful, witty, and delightfully passionate twist. The Ugly Duchess is another fairytale inspired romance from the unparalleled storyteller whose writing, author Teresa Medieros raves, “is truly scrumptious.” A sexy and fun historical romance, James’s winning tale of a glorious reawakening does not feature ducks and swans—rather it’s a charming story of a young woman unaware of her own beauty, suddenly duty-bound to wed the dashing gentleman who has always been her platonic best friend…until now.
    Show book
  • Along Came a Duke - Rhymes With Love - cover

    Along Came a Duke - Rhymes With...

    Elizabeth Boyle

    • 6
    • 25
    • 0
    “Wit, passion, and adventure, Elizabeth Boyle has it all!”—Julia Quinn 
    New York Times bestselling RITA® Award winner Elizabeth Boyle is a wonder, and with Along Came a Duke—the first book in her delectable Rhymes with Love series based on well-known nursery rhymes—she proves once more that no one writes wittier, more endearing and original historical romance. Returning once more to England during the colorful Regency Era, Boyle transports readers to the small town of Kempton, where a local curse prevents the female residents from wedding—a fact that cannot deter a plucky young heiress who needs to marry to inherit her fortune, as she strikes out for London to wed a rakish and unsuspecting duke. Funny, touching, and wonderfully sensuous, Along Came a Duke is a prime example of the exceptional romantic magic that puts Elizabeth Boyle in the same master class as Lisa Kleypas and Christina Dodd.
    Show book