Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Azalea Avenue - The Day the Saucers Came #2 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Azalea Avenue - The Day the Saucers Came #2

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1956: On the surface, Rosemary Wilson is a happily married wife and mother, enjoying a perfect life in the quiet suburb of Shady Groves. But the house on Azalea Avenue harbours a dark secret, for Rosemary's husband Don is an abusive drunk, who vents his frustrations on Rosemary and their three children. 
  
After nine years of abuse, Rosemary finally decides to leave Don. But her plans of escape are interrupted, first by Don coming home early from a weekend hunting trip and then by the appearance of a flying saucer from outer space in the sky above Shady Groves… 
  
This is a novelette of 10400 words or approx. 38 pages in the The Day the Saucers Came… series, but may be read as a standalone. 
Content warning for domestic violence.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 5
    • 22
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book
  • The Wolves of Savernake - A gripping medieval mystery from the bestselling author - cover

    The Wolves of Savernake - A...

    Edward Marston

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ralph Delchard, a soldier who fought at the Battle of Hastings, and Gervase Bret, a talented lawyer, have been commissioned by William the Conqueror to look into irregularities brought to light during the compilation of the Domesday Book, the great survey of  England. Their investigations take them throughout the kingdom, but the pair often find themselves embroiled in more sinister mysteries in the towns they visit. The King’s work is a dangerous business. 
    A man’s body is found mutilated in Savernake Forest and the residents of Bedwyn sleep uneasy at night, fearing a monster stalking the town. When Ralph Delchard and Gervase Bret arrive, they soon discover that the locals are harbouring dark secrets and that the real killer may be a little closer to home…
    Show book
  • Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller - cover

    Hush Little Baby - the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons. 
     
    Someone stole a baby... 
     
    One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her. 
     
    They silenced her cry... 
     
    Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia? 
     
    But the truth will always out. 
     
    When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child's disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected... 
     
    The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt on For Better, For Worse. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • Del Rio - A Novel - cover

    Del Rio - A Novel

    Jane Rosenthal

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Del Rio, California, a once-thriving Central Valley farm town, is now filled with run-down Dollar Stores, llanterias, carnicerias, and shabby mini-marts that sell one-way bus tickets straight to Tijuana on the Flecha Amarilla line. It’s a place you drive through with windows up and doors locked, especially at night—a place the locals call Cartel Country. While it’s no longer the California of postcards, for local District Attorney Callie McCall, her dying hometown is the perfect place to launch a political career and try to make a difference.But when the dismembered body of a migrant teen is found in one of Del Rio’s surrounding citrus groves, Callie faces a career make-or-break case that takes her on a dangerous journey down the violent west coast of Mexico, to a tropical paradise hiding a terrible secret, and finally back home again, where her determination to find the killer pits her against the wealthiest, most politically connected, most ruthless farming family in California: her own.
    Show book
  • Murder in the Manor (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 1) - cover

    Murder in the Manor (A Lacey...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    MURDER IN THE MANOR (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 1) is the debut novel in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, needs a drastic change. She needs to quit her job, leave her horrendous boss and New York City, and walk away from the fast life. Making good on her childhood promise to herself, she decides to walk away from it all, and to relive a beloved childhood vacation in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Wilfordshire is exactly as Lacey remembers it, with its ageless architecture, cobblestone streets, and with nature at its doorstep. Lacey doesn’t want to go back home—and spontaneously, she decides to stay, and to give her childhood dream a try: she will open her own antique shop.
    
    Lacey finally feels that her life is taking a step in the right direction—until her new star customer turns up dead.
    
    As the newcomer in town, all eyes are on Lacey, and it’s up to her to clear her own name.
    
    With a business to run, a next-door neighbor turned nemesis, a flirty baker across the street, and a crime to solve – is this new life all that Lacey thought it would be?
    
    Book #2 in the series—DEATH AND A DOG—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • The Lies Within - cover

    The Lies Within

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A well-crafted mystery . . . Crime writing at its best” from the bestselling author of Beneath the Ashes and Before It’s Too Late (David Evans, international bestselling author).  Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner . . . This woman is guilty of murder . . .   Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss. DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.   When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before Grace is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?   “Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Visceral and compelling reading. Another cracker from Jane Isaac.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A perfectly executed police investigation into a horrific act of violence and a moving depiction of buried secrets. My first read from Jane Isaac but definitely not my last.”—Sarah Ward, author of A Deadly Thaw   “An intelligent, convincing thriller with genuine characters and a pacy plot. Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction.”—Michael Wood, author of The Murder House   “Gripped from the very first page . . . Mesmerizing and disturbing.”—June Taylor, author of Keep Your Friends Close
    Show book