Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story

Holly Winter Huppert

Publisher: Winuply Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story follows a 6-year-old boy who helps protect his family from the coronavirus by following the "Healthy 7" habits. 
  
The story is told from the viewpoint of Hans as he spends a day with his great-aunt where he creates art projects, plays outside and brings food to family members who live in isolation due to the pandemic. 
  
He questions why he has to clean his hands so often, why his great-grandmother is wearing plastic gloves and why he must practice social distancing from his cousin, who isn't old. 
  
With an overarching theme of stopping the spread of the virus, Hans learns about the "Healthy 7" habits (Stay home, wash hands, drink water, eat healthy foods, exercise, be kind and get enough sleep) that will help keep his family safe. Throughout the story he practices each of the habits and is finally able to complete them without reminders. 
  
Though the book is a work of fiction, the author does have a great-nephew who spent a day with her; this book is based on that day. The photos in the book are of Hans, his real name, as he learned how to feel good, "Like a superhero." about helping to stop the spread of the virus. 
  
In a time when the entire world is struggling to stay healthy, Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story, empowers children to help their extended family stay healthy during the coronavirus pandemic and long after it's over. 
  
From the Back Cover: 
"Hi. My name is Hans. This is the story of how I learned about the "Healthy 7" habits so my family and I could stay safe from the virus germs. At first there was too many things to remember, but after a while, I started remembering everything all by myself.  I like to pretend I'm a superhero helping to stop the spread of the coronavirus, but really I'm just a kid who wants to go back to school. That's why I help." 

Other books that might interest you

  • In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart - cover

    In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart

    Melody Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Third book in the Hannah Smart trilogy about a precocious, impulsive pre-teen girl with a knack for finding the spotlight — and getting into trouble
    Hannah is 14 now and has a part-time job working at the local TV station
    Carries on theme of self-reliance and responsibility
    Comedic and light-hearted in tone, but with messages including the importance of being yourself and not feeling you have to exaggerate or lie to impress others
    Material has tested well with grade 5 and 6 students of both sexes
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 15
    • 85
    • 1
    The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.  
     
    At least, he's not a beast all the time.  
     
    As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. 
     
    From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Kings of the Court - cover

    Kings of the Court

    Alison Hughes

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When the Gladiators basketball team's nasty coach finally gets turfed midseason, things couldn't possibly get worse. The team hasn't won a game yet, and morale is at rock bottom. Sameer, who announces the games and keeps score, and Vijay, the team mascot, have their hands full keeping the team's spirits up. When they get promoted to assistant coach and manager, can they help a small, unathletic, Shakespeare-quoting drama teacher coach the team to victory, or at least to dignity? Or will the courtside drama eclipse even the school play?
    Show book
  • Tales of the Protectors - Almost Heaven - cover

    Tales of the Protectors - Almost...

    Lisa Pence

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Elevates children to a position of responsibility without losing their childlike wonder
    Helps children gain the ability to empathize with others 
    A battle between the forces of good and evil
    Provokes the thought in children that they have the ability to work for good each and every day
    Teaches children how to handle difficult situations through the fictional characters’ decision whether to attempt to solve the life or death situation in which they find themselves or turn it over to strangers who may or may not succeed
    Show book
  • White Jade Tiger - cover

    White Jade Tiger

    Julie Lawson

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Winner of the 1993 Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize, shortlisted for the Silver Birch Award and the CLA Book of the Year Award  
     
    Jasmine is not sure she likes the idea of being stuck in Victoria while her father goes to China for a year. But on a field trip to Chinatown, she explores a curious shop in Fan Tan Alley and accidentally passes through a hidden door. She finds herself in Victoria's Chinatown of the late 1880's. Mistaken for a Chinese boy, she is soon caught up in a race through the Fraser Canyon to find a tiger amulet.
    Show book