As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story - cover

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story

Holly Winter Huppert

Publisher: Winuply Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story follows a 6-year-old boy who helps protect his family from the coronavirus by following the "Healthy 7" habits. 
  
The story is told from the viewpoint of Hans as he spends a day with his great-aunt where he creates art projects, plays outside and brings food to family members who live in isolation due to the pandemic. 
  
He questions why he has to clean his hands so often, why his great-grandmother is wearing plastic gloves and why he must practice social distancing from his cousin, who isn't old. 
  
With an overarching theme of stopping the spread of the virus, Hans learns about the "Healthy 7" habits (Stay home, wash hands, drink water, eat healthy foods, exercise, be kind and get enough sleep) that will help keep his family safe. Throughout the story he practices each of the habits and is finally able to complete them without reminders. 
  
Though the book is a work of fiction, the author does have a great-nephew who spent a day with her; this book is based on that day. The photos in the book are of Hans, his real name, as he learned how to feel good, "Like a superhero." about helping to stop the spread of the virus. 
  
In a time when the entire world is struggling to stay healthy, Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story, empowers children to help their extended family stay healthy during the coronavirus pandemic and long after it's over. 
  
From the Back Cover: 
"Hi. My name is Hans. This is the story of how I learned about the "Healthy 7" habits so my family and I could stay safe from the virus germs. At first there was too many things to remember, but after a while, I started remembering everything all by myself.  I like to pretend I'm a superhero helping to stop the spread of the coronavirus, but really I'm just a kid who wants to go back to school. That's why I help." 

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #3: Night Whispers - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #3:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    After the sharp-eyed Jay and the roaring Lion, peace will come on Dove's gentle wing. 
    The deadly battle between ThunderClan and ShadowClan is over, but the aftermath still echoes around all four Clans. As Dovepaw grapples with the knowledge that there are realms—and cats—her senses cannot reach, Jayfeather and Lionblaze are determined to figure out how StarClan could have allowed this fight to happen. Jayfeather soon finds the answer in the darkest of places, and he and Lionblaze prepare to do whatever they can to staunch the flow of evil into ThunderClan.  
    The ties that bind the Clans are slowly breaking in the face of the greatest threat that the warriors—and the warrior code—have ever known. As leaf-bare closes its grip upon the territories, Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw realize just how close the battle is, and how far they are from being able to succeed. And before the prey can run again, one more cat will be lost to the fight.
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 13
    • 81
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Dragon Slippers - cover

    Dragon Slippers

    Jessica Day George

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    This enchanting tale of dragons, betrayals, and the power of friendship is the first in a charming and thrilling series by New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George.  
     
    Creel can't believe her aunt wants to sacrifice her to the local dragon. It's a ploy to lure a heroic knight so that he will fight the dragon, marry Creel out of chivalrous obligation, and lift the entire family out of poverty. Creel isn't worried. After all, nobody has seen a dragon in centuries. 
     
    But when the beast actually appears, Creel not only bargains with him for her life, she also ends up with a rare bit of treasure from his hoard: a pair of simple blue slippers, or so she thinks. But Creel learns that these shoes could be used to save her kingdom from the brink of war--or destroy it. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 26
    • 206
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • On the Fence - cover

    On the Fence

    Kasie West

    • 7
    • 107
    • 0
    She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door. 
    With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the opposite sex. So when her police officer dad demands she get a summer job to pay for the latest in a long line of speeding tickets, she's more than a little surprised to find herself working at a chichi boutique and going out with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game. Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with her neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden, sitting back-to-back against the fence that separates them. Braden may know her better than anyone. But there's a secret Charlie's keeping that even he hasn't figured out—she's fallen for him. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high. 
    On the Fence is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it.
    Show book
  • Stick Dog - cover

    Stick Dog

    Tom Watson

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    Introducing everyone's new best friend: Stick Dog! 
    He'll make you laugh...he'll make you cry...but above all, he'll make you hungry! 
    Follow Stick Dog as he goes on an epic quest for the perfect burger. With hilarious text and stick-figure drawings, reluctant readers will eat this one up! 
    Perfect for fans of such series as Dog Man, Big Nate, Timmy Failure, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
    Show book