Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story - cover

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus COVID-19 Story

Holly Winter Huppert

Publisher: Winuply Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story follows a 6-year-old boy who helps protect his family from the coronavirus by following the "Healthy 7" habits. 
  
The story is told from the viewpoint of Hans as he spends a day with his great-aunt where he creates art projects, plays outside and brings food to family members who live in isolation due to the pandemic. 
  
He questions why he has to clean his hands so often, why his great-grandmother is wearing plastic gloves and why he must practice social distancing from his cousin, who isn't old. 
  
With an overarching theme of stopping the spread of the virus, Hans learns about the "Healthy 7" habits (Stay home, wash hands, drink water, eat healthy foods, exercise, be kind and get enough sleep) that will help keep his family safe. Throughout the story he practices each of the habits and is finally able to complete them without reminders. 
  
Though the book is a work of fiction, the author does have a great-nephew who spent a day with her; this book is based on that day. The photos in the book are of Hans, his real name, as he learned how to feel good, "Like a superhero." about helping to stop the spread of the virus. 
  
In a time when the entire world is struggling to stay healthy, Hans Helps: A Coronavirus/COVID-19 Story, empowers children to help their extended family stay healthy during the coronavirus pandemic and long after it's over. 
  
From the Back Cover: 
"Hi. My name is Hans. This is the story of how I learned about the "Healthy 7" habits so my family and I could stay safe from the virus germs. At first there was too many things to remember, but after a while, I started remembering everything all by myself.  I like to pretend I'm a superhero helping to stop the spread of the coronavirus, but really I'm just a kid who wants to go back to school. That's why I help." 

Other books that might interest you

  • The First Four Years - cover

    The First Four Years

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The ninth and final book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    Laura Ingalls Wilder is beginning life with her new husband, Almanzo, in their own little house. Laura is a young pioneer wife now, and must work hard with Almanzo, farming the land around their home on the South Dakota prairie. Soon their baby daughter, Rose, is born, and the young family must face the hardships and triumphs encountered by so many American pioneers. 
    And so Laura Ingalls Wilder's adventure as a little pioneer girl ends, and her new life as a pioneer wife and mother begins. 
    The nine books in the timeless Little House series tell the story of Laura’s childhood as an American pioneer, and are cherished by readers of all generations. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier, and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family. 
    Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts
    Show book
  • Detached - cover

    Detached

    Christina Kilbourne

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Author’s book Dear Jo won three Canadian young reader’s choice awards in British Columbia (Red Cedar), Saskatchewan (Snow Willow), and Manitoba (MYRCA) and was shortlisted for a young reader’s choice award in New York (New York State Charlotte Award)
    Author's book They Called Me Red was nominated for a Saskatchewan Young Reader’s Choice Award
    Examines teen suicide without judgement and from youth and adult points of view
    Breaks down common misconceptions about suicide and mental illness while conveying a message of determination and hope
    Entertaining style, with believable characters, realistic settings, and a plot that keeps readers on the edge of their seats
    A starting point for youth and adults to discuss difficult topics such as suicide and mental illness, whether at home or in the classroom
    Show book
  • When Light Left Us - cover

    When Light Left Us

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    * "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
     
    * "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
     
    When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
      
     Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
     
    In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book
  • Hijab and Red Lipstick - cover

    Hijab and Red Lipstick

    Yousra Imran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Being a teenager isn't easy. All Sara wants to do is experiment with make-up and hang out with friends. It doesn't help when you have a super-strict Egyptian dad who tells you that everything is "haram" a.k.a. forbidden. But when her family move to the Arabian Gulf, it feels like every door is being closed on Sara's future. Can Sara find her voice again? Will she ever be free?
    Show book
  • Last Dance - cover

    Last Dance

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With graduation looming, the Carter House girls are struggling with college visits, prom dress warfare, and boyfriend situations that are going from bad to worse. Mrs. Carter ups the stress level by planning a typical over-the-top Mother’s Day fashion show, and things get tense when the designer favors certain models. Through it all, surprises are in store for each girl as their time at Carter House comes to an end. As final good-byes approach, some friendships will deepen while others crumble. Will the girls resolve old differences or part ways as enemies?
    Show book