Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1

Allan Boroughs

Publisher: Faster-Than-Light Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For Adam Starless, the future's not what it used to be... 
As the youngest member of the crew of Gargantua – thirteen-year-old, Adam Starless is leaving Earth for a life amongst the stars. But instead of discovering a new world, Adam wakes from cryo-sleep to find his family are missing and his spaceship has been sold to the scrapyards of Primus City. Worse still, if the ship's mission clock is to be believed, Adam has been asleep for a very long time indeed. 
  
Now Adam must learn to survive in a future where he doesn't belong, where the machines are in charge and an unwary boy can get mugged for his kidneys. His only hope of finding his family lies with a distant cousin – a fourteen-year-old droid hunter, named Finity Black, a girl with a big gun and a bad attitude.  If Adam and Finity can work together, they might solve a mystery that threatens the entire city…if only they don't kill each other first. 
  
'Starless and Black...and the case of the perfect girl', is the first in a new series of science-fiction, detective stories from Allan Boroughs. A classic sci-fi adventure that will appeal to fans of Philip Reeve, Jonathan Stroud and Douglas Adams.

Other books that might interest you

  • All the Invisible Things - cover

    All the Invisible Things

    Orlagh Collins

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In this contemporary YA for fans of Becky Albertalli, one girl decides it's time to be really be herself--but will that cost her the best friend who once meant everything to her? 
     
    Ever since her mom died and her family moved to a new town four years ago, sixteen-year-old Vetty Lake has hidden her heart. She'd rather keep secrets than risk getting hurt--even if that means not telling anyone that she's pretty sure she's bisexual.  
      
    But this summer, everything could change. Vetty and her family are moving back to her old neighborhood, right across the street from her childhood best friend Pez. Next to Pez, she always felt free and fearless. Reconnecting with him could be the link she needs to get back to her old self. 
     
    Vetty quickly discovers Pez isn't exactly the boy she once knew. He has a new group of friends, a glamorous sort-of-girlfriend named March, and a laptop full of secrets. And things get even more complicated when she feels a sudden spark with March. 
     
    As Vetty navigates her relationship with Pez and her own shifting feelings, one question looms: Does becoming the girl she longs to be mean losing the friendship that once was everything to her?
    Show book
  • Pazienza Pizza - cover

    Pazienza Pizza

    Gabrielle Cinelli

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Anna is so excited to learn how to make her Nonna’s pizza this weekend! But as the hours and days pass, Anna begins to wonder if she will ever learn how to make pizza. Patience is a hard virtue to learn, but it might just make all the difference.
    Show book
  • In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart - cover

    In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart

    Melody Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Third book in the Hannah Smart trilogy about a precocious, impulsive pre-teen girl with a knack for finding the spotlight — and getting into trouble
    Hannah is 14 now and has a part-time job working at the local TV station
    Carries on theme of self-reliance and responsibility
    Comedic and light-hearted in tone, but with messages including the importance of being yourself and not feeling you have to exaggerate or lie to impress others
    Material has tested well with grade 5 and 6 students of both sexes
    Show book
  • Echoes of Newtown - A Novel - cover

    Echoes of Newtown - A Novel

    Blake Fite

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With the Shenandoah Valley Railroad now operational and the American Civil War lingering in recent memory, narrator Billy Washita sets his heart on finding the secret to his past.  
    
    
    Along with his friend, Rascal, Billy follows where the railroad leads. Along the way, the two fatherless wanderers encounter five more orphans, each with their own stories of abandonment. Together, their uncertain hope for adoption means facing fears, suffering unrequited love, and discovering a future no one could have imagined. Will the mystery of the past bring the hope they seek?  
    
    
    Social entrepreneur specializing in global orphan ministry, Blake Fite, turns his energy to historical fiction as he teams up with burgeoning young authors in the first book of the Carriage Kids Series for a one-of-a-kind journey from bondage to freedom—fatherlessness to family. Young readers and parents alike are drawn into the action of each chapter with engaging discussion questions and gain real-life survival tips along the way!
    Show book
  • Medusa's Scream - cover

    Medusa's Scream

    Melanie Jackson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Medusa's Scream is a thrill-ride that hurtles a train through an out-of-service gold mine in the Fraser Valley. Chase can't believe his luck when he lands a summer job in the food truck outside the ride's entrance. But then he notices strange things happening at the old mine. Chase starts to piece things together, and soon his life is threatened by a villain even scarier than the snake-headed Medusa of myth.
    Show book
  • Moonrise - cover

    Moonrise

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    From Carnegie Award-winning author Sarah Crossan comes a poignant and thought-provoking novel that explores life, sibling bonds, and forgiveness as a teen tries to reconnect with his brother on death row for a crime he may not have committed. 
     
    Seventeen-year-old Joe hasn't seen his brother in ten years. Ed didn't walk out on the family, not exactly. It's something more brutal. 
     
    Ed's locked up -- on death row. 
      
     Now his execution date has been set, and the clock is ticking. Joe is determined to spend those last weeks with his brother, no matter what other people think ... and no matter whether Ed committed the crime. But did he? And does it matter, in the end?   
      
     This poignant, timely, heartbreaking novel asks big questions: What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye? 
     
    Acclaim for Sarah Crossan 
    2016 Carnegie Award winner, One 
    Shortlisted for the 2016 FCBG Book Award, Apple and Rain 
    Shortlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Award, Apple and Rain 
    Shortlisted for the 2013 Carnegie Award, The Weight of Water
    Show book