As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1 - cover

Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1

Allan Boroughs

Publisher: Faster-Than-Light Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For Adam Starless, the future's not what it used to be... 
As the youngest member of the crew of Gargantua – thirteen-year-old, Adam Starless is leaving Earth for a life amongst the stars. But instead of discovering a new world, Adam wakes from cryo-sleep to find his family are missing and his spaceship has been sold to the scrapyards of Primus City. Worse still, if the ship's mission clock is to be believed, Adam has been asleep for a very long time indeed. 
  
Now Adam must learn to survive in a future where he doesn't belong, where the machines are in charge and an unwary boy can get mugged for his kidneys. His only hope of finding his family lies with a distant cousin – a fourteen-year-old droid hunter, named Finity Black, a girl with a big gun and a bad attitude.  If Adam and Finity can work together, they might solve a mystery that threatens the entire city…if only they don't kill each other first. 
  
'Starless and Black...and the case of the perfect girl', is the first in a new series of science-fiction, detective stories from Allan Boroughs. A classic sci-fi adventure that will appeal to fans of Philip Reeve, Jonathan Stroud and Douglas Adams.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Twelve Dancing Princesses - cover

    The Twelve Dancing Princesses

    Brigette Barrager

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The talented Brigette Barrager lavishly illustrates this beautiful retelling of the Grimm Brothers' "The Twelve Dancing Princesses." In this fairy tale, twelve princesses wake up every morning to find their shoes are worn out and they are totally exhausted! A handsome suitor discovers that the princesses are enchanted, and that each night, in their sleep, they travel to a magical world to dance at a ball. Will this handsome suitor be able to break the spell and rescue the princesses?
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 13
    • 115
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Survivors #3: Darkness Falls - cover

    Survivors #3: Darkness Falls

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 31
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, comes the third book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Wild Pack’s ruthless Alpha has reluctantly agreed to allow the Leashed Dogs to join his Pack—but not before learning of Lucky’s role as a spy, and casting him out of the Pack forever. Lucky tries to be happy to have his freedom again, but this new world is treacherous for a Lone Dog. For the first time since the Big Growl, Lucky is desperate to have other dogs by his side . . . but it might be too late.
    Show book
  • Throne of Glass - cover

    Throne of Glass

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 40
    • 1
    After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. 
     
    Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.  
     
    Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 
     
    Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.
    Show book
  • Lies - cover

    Lies

    Michael Grant

    • 3
    • 32
    • 0
    The third book in Michael Grant's New York Times bestselling Gone series, Lies is another heart-in-your-throat page-turner, both chilling and thought-provoking. 
    It's been seven months since all the adults disappeared. Gone. 
    It happens in one night. A girl who died now walks among the living; Zil and the Human Crew set fire to Perdido Beach, and amid the flames and smoke, Sam sees the figure of the boy he fears the most: Drake. But Drake is dead. Sam and Caine defeated him along with the Darkness—or so they thought. 
    As Perdido Beach burns, battles rage: Astrid against the Town Council; the Human Crew versus the mutants; and Sam against Drake, who is back from the dead and ready to finish where he and Sam left off. And all the while deadly rumors are raging like the fire itself, spread by the prophetess Orsay and her companion, Nerezza. They say that death is a way to escape the FAYZ. Conditions are worse than ever and kids are desperate to get out. But are they desperate enough to believe that death will set them free? 
    “Disturbing, brilliantly plotted, and boasting a balanced mix of action and scheming.” —ALA Booklist 
    Read the entire series:GoneHungerLiesPlagueFearLightMonsterVillainHero
    Show book
  • Dragon Slippers - cover

    Dragon Slippers

    Jessica Day George

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    This enchanting tale of dragons, betrayals, and the power of friendship is the first in a charming and thrilling series by New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George.  
     
    Creel can't believe her aunt wants to sacrifice her to the local dragon. It's a ploy to lure a heroic knight so that he will fight the dragon, marry Creel out of chivalrous obligation, and lift the entire family out of poverty. Creel isn't worried. After all, nobody has seen a dragon in centuries. 
     
    But when the beast actually appears, Creel not only bargains with him for her life, she also ends up with a rare bit of treasure from his hoard: a pair of simple blue slippers, or so she thinks. But Creel learns that these shoes could be used to save her kingdom from the brink of war--or destroy it. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book