Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1 - cover

Starless and Blackand the Case of the Perfect Girl - Starless and Black Mysteries #1

Allan Boroughs

Publisher: Faster-Than-Light Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For Adam Starless, the future's not what it used to be... 
As the youngest member of the crew of Gargantua – thirteen-year-old, Adam Starless is leaving Earth for a life amongst the stars. But instead of discovering a new world, Adam wakes from cryo-sleep to find his family are missing and his spaceship has been sold to the scrapyards of Primus City. Worse still, if the ship's mission clock is to be believed, Adam has been asleep for a very long time indeed. 
  
Now Adam must learn to survive in a future where he doesn't belong, where the machines are in charge and an unwary boy can get mugged for his kidneys. His only hope of finding his family lies with a distant cousin – a fourteen-year-old droid hunter, named Finity Black, a girl with a big gun and a bad attitude.  If Adam and Finity can work together, they might solve a mystery that threatens the entire city…if only they don't kill each other first. 
  
'Starless and Black...and the case of the perfect girl', is the first in a new series of science-fiction, detective stories from Allan Boroughs. A classic sci-fi adventure that will appeal to fans of Philip Reeve, Jonathan Stroud and Douglas Adams.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sadie Sketchbook Collection - cover

    The Sadie Sketchbook Collection

    Naomi Kinsman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this four-eBook bind-up of the Faithgirlz Sadie’s Sketchbook series by Naomi Kinsman, readers meet twelve-year-old Sadie Douglas. Sadie is a regular girl struggling with everyday things like friendships, moving, family, and faith … and relying on that faith to survive. 
      
    This eBook collection includes: 
      
    Shades of Truth: It’s Going to Be a Bear of a Year Sadie thought she’d have a perfect fresh start when she moved to Owl Creek, Michigan, but finding her place in her new school proves harder than she expected. In this divided town, Sadie’s father’s job mediating between bear hunters and researchers doesn’t help her social life. Sadie’s art instructor encourages her to explore her beliefs and express herself through her sketchbook, and things improve after Sadie befriends a kind girl from school and a researcher’s son---but she can’t stop worrying about the bears. As everything swirls around her, Sadie must learn what it means to have faith when you don’t have all the answers. 
      
    Flickering Hope: Can You Ever Trust the Enemy? Things finally seem to be falling into place for Sadie. Bear season is over, and her relationship with her art teacher is on the mend. Her home life is going better than ever, and even her enemy, Frankie, wants to be friends. But can Frankie be trusted? Ruth and Andrew think she’s spying for her father, helping him find a way to capture Sadie’s favorite bear. But Sadie suspects something else is going on with Frankie. She must decide who to trust and find out if---and how---her growing faith can get her through. 
      
    Waves of Light: Where is God when you need him? After struggling to fit into a new town and school, Sadie faces questions about her faith, family, and friendships, questioning all she has come to believe. Sadie’s life is spinning out of control. Her friend moved away, her mom remains ill, and her dad wants to leave town. At least the play Sadie is helping produce appears to be going well. After all, she gets to create the sets with her art teacher’s help. But even that falls apart when a flash flood destroys her teacher’s home and art. How can she trust or even believe in a God who would allow all this? God isn’t fair. With everything crumbling and her faith on the edge, Sadie must find strength in the God she’s questioning in order to hold on in the midst of her struggles. 
      
    Brilliant Hues: Sketching A Whole New Life Won’t Be Easy Life comes full circle for Sadie as she heads back to Menlo Park, California. But Sadie finds she no longer fits in, especially when one of her dad’s cases thrusts her into the spotlight and puts her in danger. She turns to her faith, but the youth group just isn’t the same, and Sadie has a lot to think about when she hears what some kids believe. She returns to Owl Creek for a reprieve, but everything feels different. She just wants things to go back the way they used to be. Will her faith be strong enough to get her through?
    Show book
  • The Magical Match - cover

    The Magical Match

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Born to be a tooth fairy, Cory Feathering has been busy proving she's meant for another life -one of matchmaking! 
     
    It seems like everything is falling into place for Cory. Her uncle Micah is engaged to his perfect match, and she's lucky in love herself with her boyfriend Blue. She's excited to help prepare for the wedding, but when she hears of another marriage on the horizon – her mother's, to a goblin – she knows things might not go quite as planned. The fairy guilds have promised to leave Cory alone, but she knows they still don't agree with her lifestyle, so truly anything is possible. Add to that a witchy match that proves more difficult than usual and an upcoming Battle of the Bands -- all while hiding that she's Cupid! -- and Cory's got her hands full! In the end, will true love conquer all?  
     
    This fun and joyful fourth book in E.D. Baker's Fairy-Tale Matchmaker series is perfect for fans of fairy-tale retellings!
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #2: A World without Princes - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #2:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    In the New York Times bestselling sequel to Soman Chainani's debut, The School for Good and Evil, Sophie and Agatha are back in Gavaldon, living out their Happily Ever After, but life isn't quite the fairy tale they expected.  
    Witches and princesses reside at the School for Girls, where they've been inspired to live a life without princes, while Tedros and the boys are camping in Evil's old towers. A war is brewing between the schools, but can Agatha and Sophie restore the peace? Can Sophie stay good with Tedros on the hunt? And whose heart does Agatha's belong to—her best friend or her prince? 
    Soman Chainani has created a spectacular world that Newbery Medal-winning author Ann M. Martin calls "a fairy tale like no other, complete with romance, magic, humor, and a riddle that will keep you turning pages until the end." 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend of the Rift - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    Jack, Marco, Cass, and Aly’s quest to find the seven magic orbs buried beneath each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World has hit a perilous snag. King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast. But before all is said and done, they must return to where it all began, to Atlantis, to save Aly, themselves…and the world. 
    Don’t miss The Legend of the Rift, the epic finale to Peter Lerangis’s earth-shattering, New York Times bestselling adventure series, Seven Wonders.
    Show book
  • Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour - cover

    Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    The sixth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour. 
    The time has come for Fireheart—now Firestar, leader of ThunderClan—to face his destiny. Tigerstar’s sinister ambitions have brought the whole forest to the brink of a terrible and deadly battle. Now prophecies will unfold, and heroes will rise….
    Show book
  • Warriors: Leafpool's Wish - cover

    Warriors: Leafpool's Wish

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 21
    • 0
    In this digital original novella from the world of Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series, discover the thrilling story behind Leafpool's greatest secret. 
    Leafpool always knew medicine cats weren't meant for love . . . until she fell for the WindClan warrior Crowfeather. Now she's determined to keep their kits a secret. But to fool all of ThunderClan, she'll need help—from her sister Squirrelflight, and perhaps even from StarClan. . . .  
    Set between the events of the The New Prophecy and Power of Three series, Warriors: Leafpool's Wish also includes a teaser to Dawn of the Clans #1: The Sun Trail.
    Show book