Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Book of Skulls - Doctresses - cover

The Book of Skulls - Doctresses

David Hutchison

Publisher: Flying Sheep Publising

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A Victorian tale of gender-bending, hidden identity, obsession and gruesome murder, set in Edinburgh's Old Town. 
  
1875. Liz Moliette; a poor orphan of unknown heritage, and Amulya Patel; from a wealthy Indian family, are the only female students at the Edinburgh Medical School, where a hostile attitude towards women is driven by Professor Atticus. However Liz and Amulya have allies in fellow student Campbell Preeble, The Reekie reporter Hector Findlay and the charming Dr Paul Love. 
In dire need of funds, Liz becomes assistant to gruff lecturer and police surgeon Dr Florian Blyth.  When a series of grisly murders take place the doctor and Liz help Inspector Macleod in his investigation, which leads to the Edinburgh Asylum, the  Burry Man festival and the quack science of phrenology.   
The search for the killer comes dangerously close to Liz as she uncovers her own family secrets. 
  
First book in the Doctresses series.

Other books that might interest you

  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • Odd Child Out - A Novel - cover

    Odd Child Out - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     How well do you know the people you love…? 
    Best friends Noah Sadler and Abdi Mahad have always been inseparable.  But when Noah is found floating unconscious in Bristol's Feeder Canal, Abdi can't--or won't--tell anyone what happened. 
    Just back from a mandatory leave following his last case, Detective Jim Clemo is now assigned to look into this unfortunate accident.  But tragedy strikes and what looked like the simple case of a prank gone wrong soon ignites into a public battle.  Noah is British.  Abdi is a Somali refugee.   And social tensions have been rising rapidly in Bristol.  Against this background of fear and fury two families fight for their sons and for the truth.  Neither of them know how far they will have to go, what demons they will have to face, what pain they will have to suffer. 
    Because the truth hurts.
    Show book
  • The Pupil - An unforgettable psychological thriller with a shocking twist perfect for summer reading - cover

    The Pupil - An unforgettable...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. A chance for revenge. 
     
    Viola Matthews is sure she's met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she vows to discover the truth and why exactly she can't remember their meeting. 
     
    As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. As memories begin to filter back and the tension in her relationship rises, Viola begins to piece together the truth and Katherine needs to pay for what happened twelve years ago... 
     
    Perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Mother in Law, Mel Sherratt and Claire Allan.
    Show book
  • Billionaire - cover

    Billionaire

    J. L. Ryan

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    Reluctant billionaire Alexander Jacobs was not prepared for the events that would forever change his life. His parents were recently killed by a drunk driver, and now, he's forced to run the family's corporation. There's only one problem. He has zero business experience. He's dreading the upcoming funeral for his parents, but when he learns that his longtime friend Brienne Warhol is coming, it makes him feel just a little better. She's attending Columbia Law School, but when she hears about his parents, she knows she has to be with him.
     
    He went to college locally and missed Brienne's friendship when she left for New York. She fantasizes about him constantly, but he thinks of her only as "one of the guys." When she finally graduates from law school, they meet up for a celebratory glass of champagne.
     
    She has too much to drink, and before she can stop herself, she kisses him. Her head is spinning, and after he looks at her like she crossed the line, she feels sick. She wishes she could take back that damn kiss.
     
    Did Brienne ruin her chances of a romantic relationship with Alexander, the only man she's ever wanted in her life, or did her "move" spark something inside him that he's never felt before?
     
    ★★Books Included In This Romance Boxed Set★★
     
    The Billionaire's Desire 
     
    Unexpected Romance 
     
    The Billionaire's Addiction 
     
    If you love billionaire romance, bbw romance, curvy romance, bad boy romance, or a good billionaire love story, then don't miss this billionaire steamy romance series!
     
    ★★Buy Now!★★
    Show book
  • Glitch - cover

    Glitch

    Andrew Mackay

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    HACK IN > GO EVERYWHERE > KILL EVERYONE.
     
    Genius programmer Evan Cole’s life was looking up…
     
    … when something bad went down.
     
    The headquarters at InstaBate, the nation’s go-to cheating app, was raided.
     
    They destroyed the servers, and gunned Evan down when he tried to stop them. More than fifty million user profiles were compromised.
     
    Kara Milton is one such user. She’s terrified that her dirty little secret will reach her family, and the fat cats at InstaBate will stop at nothing to keep the incident away from prying eyes.
     
    But Evan Cole isn't dead--he's a vigilante pack of pixels out for REVENGE.
     
    Seconds before dying he uploaded himself into the corporation’s mainframe. He's using 6G to travel through laptops, tablets, and cell phones to hunt his killers. This new, angry breed of cyberpunk is on a quest for the truth, and a lot of blood.
     
    But when he appears as The Skull on Kara's cell phone, her world is turned upside down. She's compelled to help Evan get revenge if she wants her dirty secret buried. With the odds stacked against them, they’ll risk everything to protect her family, bring Evan’s killers to their feet… and an evil corporation to its knees.
    Show book
  • Deadly Science - cover

    Deadly Science

    Ken Brigham

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Former Nashville detective and Rhodes Scholar, Shane Hadley, hasn’t been involved in a murder case since a stray bullet transected his spinal cord, ending his career and stranding him in a wheelchair.
     
    One Sunday morning, the familiar pop,pop,pop of gunshots draws Shane like a magnet. He wheels himself onto the balcony of his apartment overlooking Printers Alley, the once-beating heart of Music City USA. There, he sees Bonz Bagley, proprietor of Bonz’s Booze and Music, lying dead in front of his club.
     
    Shane’s wife, neurologist Katya Karpov, is doubly alarmed by the murder—she was fond of the old man, and also, she knows that he was taking an experimental drug for Alzheimer’s disease that was invented by Katya’s boss at the university.
     
    Hardy Seltzer, the police detective assigned to the case, knows Shane as a department legend from before the accident that sidelined him. When fate brings them together, Hardy takes advantage of Shane’s uncanny intuitions as they race to find the murderer.
    Show book