Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Pursuit of Proof - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Pursuit of Proof

Elizabeth Janette

Publisher: Elizabeth Janette

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Welcome to Hill's Creek, Texas, where the townsfolk like their secrets the same way they like their steaks . . . big and juicy. Don't worry. Nobody's secrets stay buried for long. 
Until his socialite sister took a swan dive out her penthouse window, FBI Agent Jonah White's life had been fairly simple: track down bad guys and slap a pair of silver bracelets on them. Nursing a guilty conscience gnawing at his heart, he heads to Hill's Creek, Texas to investigate the one woman who just might be connected to his sister's death. Falling in love with her, a possible accomplice to murder, was never part of the plan.  
Recently widowed Maya Savantes is barely keeping her head above water. With a precocious five-year-old to raise, and a growing pile of debt to wade through, she doesn't have time for a romp through the sheets with a mysterious stranger – no matter how sexy he is. But when her husband's trigger-happy loan shark comes looking to collect on old debts, Jonah might be the only one who can protect her. 

Other books that might interest you

  • On a Summer Tide (Three Sisters Island Book #1) - cover

    On a Summer Tide (Three Sisters...

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes love hurts--and sometimes it can heal in the most unexpected way.Camden Grayson loves her challenging career, but the rest of her life could use some improvement. "Moving on" is Cam's mantra. But there's a difference, her two sisters insist, between one who moves on . . . and one who keeps moving. Cam's full-throttle life skids to a stop when her father buys a remote island off the coast of Maine. Paul Grayson has a dream to breathe new life into the island--a dream that includes reuniting his estranged daughters. Certain Dad has lost his mind, the three sisters rush to the island. To Cam's surprise, the slow pace of island life appeals to her, along with the locals--and one in particular. Seth Walker, the scruffy island schoolteacher harbors more than a few surprises.  With On a Summer Tide, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher begins a brand-new contemporary romance series that is sure to delight her fans and draw new ones.
    Show book
  • The Kent Family Chronicles Volumes One Through Three - The Bastard The Rebels and The Seekers - cover

    The Kent Family Chronicles...

    John Jakes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first three novels in a sweeping American epic from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author who “makes history come alive” (Nelson DeMille). This multigenerational saga follows the Kent family and their pursuit of a foothold and future in the expanding United States. From the family’s initial journey traveling to America’s shore to their voyage to the Western frontier, their fate is intertwined with the course of American history in these first three volumes of the series.  The Bastard: Denied his birthright as the illegitimate son of the Duke of Kentland, Philippe Charboneau seeks a new life in London, where he meets Benjamin Franklin and reads the works of patriot firebrand Sam Adams. Inspired by such brave new ideas, he travels to the American colonies at the brink of the Revolution. There he will choose his own name—Philip Kent—and finally decide his own fate.  The Rebels: Philip Kent fights as a Continental soldier at the Battle of Bunker Hill. In a bold move, he has taken up arms for the future of his new family. Spirited and unwavering in his dedication to his adopted homeland, Philip fights in the most violent battles in America’s early history. But far from the front lines, another battle rages that will sweep his wife, Anne, on her own perilous journey that may destroy all Philip has fought for.  The Seekers: Returning from fighting valiantly on the frontier, Abraham Kent—son of Philip and Anne—returns to Boston, only to realize that he cannot abide the confines of civilization. Determined not to live in his father’s shadow, he takes his young bride and settles on the American frontier. But the life of a pioneer comes at a high price, and the cost of Abraham’s restless ambitions may be more than he can bear.
    Show book
  • Love Uncovered - cover

    Love Uncovered

    Diane Holiday

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • On a Coastal Breeze (Three Sisters Island Book #2) - cover

    On a Coastal Breeze (Three...

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    For Madison Grayson, life is good. Newly licensed as a marriage and family therapist, she can't wait to start her practice. Despite the unfortunate shortage of eligible bachelors on the island--they're all too young, too old, or too weird--Maddie feels like she's finally found her sweet spot. Not even one panic attack in the last year. Not one. 
     
    And then Ricky O'Shea drops in. Literally. Floating down from the pure blue sky, the one man in the world she hoped never to see again--the one who'd been her archnemesis from kindergarten through her senior dance--parachutes into town, landing on Boon Dock, canopy draping behind him like a superhero. Ricky O'Shea. Now Pastor Rick, the new minister on Three Sisters Island. 
     
    Time to panic. 
     
    With wit and a bit of whimsy, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites you back to Three Sisters Island where family, forgiveness, and a second chance at love await.
    Show book
  • Hannah's Choice (Journey to Pleasant Prairie Book #1) - A Novel - cover

    Hannah's Choice (Journey to...

    Jan Drexler

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Hannah Yoder loves her quiet life on the banks of the Conestoga Creek. In 1842, this corner of Lancaster County is settled and peaceful--yet problems lurk beneath the placid façade. Hannah's father worries about the spread of liberal ideas from their Mennonite and Brethren neighbors. And Hannah blames herself for a tragedy that struck their home nine years ago. She strives to be the one person who can bind the threads of her family together in spite of her mother's ongoing depression and her sister's rejection of their family. But her world is threatening to unravel.When two young men seek her hand in marriage--one offering the home she craves and the other promising the adventure of following God's call west--Hannah must make a choice. Faithfully perform her duties to her family? Or defy her father and abandon her community?With a tender hand, Jan Drexler teases out the threads of a romance that will captivate readers in this brand-new Amish historical series.
    Show book
  • A Game of Desire - cover

    A Game of Desire

    Sharon Ibbotson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    This Regency is a sure bet. “A splendid historical romance . . . the story has depth and emotion, on top of being a fun and entertaining read.” —The Book Review   The Queen of Diamonds never loses . . .      Felicity Fox is a rarity for a woman living in the early 1800s. Not only does she frequent the “gambling hells” where most ladies would not dare to tread, she can also beat any man at his own game. It’s no wonder she’s gained notoriety as the “Queen of Diamonds.”    Edward, Earl of Addington, despises gambling and is not exactly enamored of Felicity Fox either, especially since she one tried to swindle his family. Except now the Earl requires assistance from the Queen of Diamonds—and he has everything to lose. But involving herself with Edward might be the most dangerous game that Felicity has ever played . . .    “Stunning . . . a sexy, exciting and entertaining romance.” —Chicks, Rogues and Scandals 
    Show book