Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Pursuit of Proof - cover

Pursuit of Proof

Elizabeth Janette

Publisher: Elizabeth Janette

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Welcome to Hill's Creek, Texas, where the townsfolk like their secrets the same way they like their steaks . . . big and juicy. Don't worry. Nobody's secrets stay buried for long. 
Until his socialite sister took a swan dive out her penthouse window, FBI Agent Jonah White's life had been fairly simple: track down bad guys and slap a pair of silver bracelets on them. Nursing a guilty conscience gnawing at his heart, he heads to Hill's Creek, Texas to investigate the one woman who just might be connected to his sister's death. Falling in love with her, a possible accomplice to murder, was never part of the plan.  
Recently widowed Maya Savantes is barely keeping her head above water. With a precocious five-year-old to raise, and a growing pile of debt to wade through, she doesn't have time for a romp through the sheets with a mysterious stranger – no matter how sexy he is. But when her husband's trigger-happy loan shark comes looking to collect on old debts, Jonah might be the only one who can protect her. 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Stranger Within - cover

    The Stranger Within

    Tara Lyons

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A London detective must get inside the mind of a mentally ill killer in this psychological thriller by the author of No Safe Home.   Detective Inspector Denis Hamilton is looking forward to a little time with his family when he’s called into an urgent briefing on his weekend off. Someone’s been murdered inside a mental health facility—a crime that draws Hamilton back into an investigation he thought had been closed long ago. Putting his personal worries aside, Hamilton and his Murder Investigation Team go on the hunt for Grace Murphy: an escaped mental patient hell-bent on revenge.   As the case dredges up difficult memories from his tragic past, Hamilton will have to open his mind to the difficulties of mental illness in order to solve it. How do you track a person who’s become a stranger to herself? But when a colleague's life is threatened, it’s Hamilton unlock the truth of Grace’s illness before it’s too late
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • Cleaning the Gold - A Jack Reacher and Will Trent Short Story - cover

    Cleaning the Gold - A Jack...

    Karin Slaughter, Lee Child

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW SHORT STORY FROM KARIN SLAUGHTER AND LEE CHILD!  
    Jack Reacher and Will Trent 
      
    Twice the action. 
    Twice the drama. 
    Double the trouble.  
    Will Trent is undercover at Fort Knox. His assignment: to investigate a twenty-two-year-old murder.  His suspect's name: Jack Reacher. 
    Jack Reacher is in Fort Knox on his own mission: to bring down a dangerous criminal ring operating at the heart of America’s military.  Except now Will Trent is on the scene. 
    But there’s a bigger conspiracy at play – one that neither the special agent nor the ex-military cop could have anticipated. And the only option is for Jack Reacher and Will Trent to team up and play nicely. If they can…
    Show book
  • Zero Zone - A Novel - cover

    Zero Zone - A Novel

    Scott O'Connor

    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    When one of Jess Shepard’s critically-acclaimed art installations in the desert is hijacked by individuals experiencing a “religious awakening” inside, her artwork is turned into a media sensation for all the wrong reasons. She tries to move past the incident, the violent fallout, and the guilt of having inadvertently caused this pain; but she is forced to confront it head-on when she’s asked to help one of the very same individuals who distorted her artwork. 
    For fans of California noir, as well as art-world thrillers like those by B.A. Shapiro and Maria Hummel’s Still Lives and fictional cult narratives like The Girls, Zero Zone expertly joins the hazy atmosphere of the 1960/70’s art scene with the heart-pounding, goosebump-inducing reading experience of literary thrillers like Woman No. 7 
    Inspired by an incredibly positive experience at the James Turell Ganzfeld room at LACMA, and a contrasting, unsettling encounter with a reader at a public Q&A for one of his books, Scott O’Connor’s Zero Zone probes the responsibility of the artist. We celebrate the positive impact of art, but what about the negative experiences, and negative impacts that art can have? What, if anything, does the artist owe those impacted by their art in either direction? 
    Scott O’Connor is the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award winning-author of Untouchable, and his work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and elsewhere. He is based in Altadena, CA. 
    Acquired by Counterpoint Editor in Chief Dan Smetanka, editor of Maria Hummel’s Still Lives
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • The Zolin Conspiracy - cover

    The Zolin Conspiracy

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Konrad Savast is the Malykant: the most secret servant of the God of Death. His job? To track down the foulest of murderers and bring them to The Malykt's Justice. No mercy. No quarter.
     
    Out in the deep snow lies the body of a gentleman, dressed for a party — and missing his head. Konrad investigates, only to find a surprising dearth of information about the victim. Bogdan Zolin was a man with a glittering social record — and little else.
     
    Just who was he? What secrets lie in his mysterious past? With the help of a wayward witch, a mild-mannered police inspector, and an undead street urchin, Konrad must delve deep into the hidden secrets of the aristocratic world. And hope to emerge alive.
    Show book