Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Getting New Mexico - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Getting New Mexico

Rhenna St. Clair

Publisher: Pace Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Aaron Schuyler is a ne'er-do-well, a cheat, an exploiter, a drunk, and a lifelong New Yorker. New Mexico is about to change everything about Schuyler, in this fresh and witty comedy about second chances and redemption. 
At 52, Aaron Schuyler has destroyed his life and doesn't care. Professionally ruined, flat broke, and estranged from his ex-wife and children, Schuyler's only concerns are sponging free drinks by crashing funerals and staying on the good side of his primary money supply, his formidable British mother, Clementine.  But Clementine has a plan. Praying for divine aid from her personal god, Winston Churchill, Clementine creates a Winston-inspired scheme to reform her worthless son. Clementine presents Schuyler with an ultimatum―she'll bail him out one last time, if he moves from New York to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and takes a job at the local Sam's Club.  In New Mexico, Schuyler meets people unlike any he's ever known―the enigmatic Indian artist Lone Goose, the blue collar Sam's Club workers who accept him as one of their own, and the beautiful and no-nonsense Anita Chatterjee, with whom Schuyler is immediately smitten.  For the first time in his life, Schuyler wants to be a better person―and as he rereads his diary of his past life, he realizes the extent of his failures and his misdeeds. Can Schuyler adapt to a life of responsibility? To a mature relationship? To New Mexico? To shaking scorpions out of his boots? Winston help him!
Available since: 11/05/2019.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Ladies' Room Reader Revisited - A Curious Compendium of Fascinating Female Facts - cover

    The Ladies' Room Reader...

    Alicia Alvrez

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Full of Fascinating Fun Facts." -Chicago TribuneMore than 50,000 copies sold of The Ladies' Room Reader and every woman who discovered she needs to have sex at least 640 hours in her life to be considered average is waiting for more of Alicia Alvrez's insatiable thirst for facts about women, then and now! Back by popular demand, The Ladies' Room Reader Revisited picks up where its predecessor, the highly successful The Ladies' Room Reader, left off. In this wildly entertaining sequel, Alicia Alvrez provides even more fascinating female facts about women throughout history and from around the world. Discover and uncover that: September is the month with the highest birthrate. 80 percent of women think a vacation is the best way to rekindle romance. The divorce rate is 23 percent lower in cities with major league baseball teams than in those without. In ancient Egypt, between 3500 and 2500 b.c., the only career not open to women was judge.
    Show book
  • Everybody's Right - A Novel - cover

    Everybody's Right - A Novel

    Paolo Sorrentino

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An aging singer abandons Italy for South America as he struggles with the loss of his stardom, in a Strega Prize–nominated novel by the famed filmmaker.   Born on the streets and born singing, Tony Pagoda has had his day. But what a day it was! He had fame, money, women, and talent. He spent his golden years entertaining a flourishing and garishly happy Italy. His success stretched over borders and across the seas. But somewhere things began to go awry, the public’s tastes in music first and foremost. His band is now a shadow of its former self and his life is fraught with mundane but infuriating complications. It’s time to make a clean break with the past.   Following a brief tour in Brazil, Tony decides to decamp and make a life for himself in South America. Here, his vision of the world, shaped by those years in which he hobnobbed with Sinatra and enjoyed the adoration of audiences the world over, is under assault. Now that he has abandoned music, the world strikes him as a barren place completely at odds with his understanding of it. Tony’s story is the story of a worldly yet strangely naive man forced to reconcile with life or lose himself entirely.   “Tony’s episodic account of his life is a nonstop onslaught of sex, profanity, high-rolling and low-dealing across decades. . . . A furious, ironic, idiosyncratic, unexpurgated torrent, capturing Italian modernity through the lens of a monstrous character.” —Kirkus Reviews   “The vignettes that showcase Tony’s moral ineptitude are decidedly entertaining.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Do You Mind If I Cancel? - (Things That Still Annoy Me) - cover

    Do You Mind If I Cancel? -...

    Gary Janetti

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This program is read by the author.Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey...meet your new friend Gary Janetti.Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.Gary spends his 20s in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar.As Gary himself says, “These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.”Original, brazen, and laugh-out-loud funny, Do You Mind If I Cancel? is something not to be missed.
    Show book
  • Dishwasher - One Man's Quest to Wash Dishes in All 50 States - cover

    Dishwasher - One Man's Quest to...

    Pete Jordan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dishwasher is Public Radio favorite and underground celebrity Pete Jordan’s amusing memoir of his dishwashing extravaganza. Part adventure, part parody, and part miraculous journey of self-discovery, it is the unforgettable account of Jordan's transformation from itinerant seeker into "Dishwasher Pete"—unlikely folk hero, writer, publisher of his own cult zine, and the ultimate professional dish dog—and how he gave it all up for love.“For 12 years, I was the most prolific dishlicker of them all. From 1989 to 2001, I dished my way around the country, unwittingly searching for direction. From a bagel joint in New Mexico to a Mexican joint in Brooklyn; from a dinner train in Rhode Island to the Lawrence Welk Resort in Branson, Missouri; from an upper-crust ladies’ club to a crusty hippie commune—I washed the nation’s dishes. Whether it was a gig so lousy that I walked out within an hour or one where I toiled 120 hours a week, I remained a man on a mission: to bust suds in every state in the union.”—Pete JordanA smart, funny, and surprising look at life, Dishwasher is sure to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perotta.
    Show book
  • Taxi Driver Wisdom - cover

    Taxi Driver Wisdom

    Risa Mickenberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Insights on love, pleasure, fate, and other topics” collected from conversations with New York City cabbies (AM New York). 
     
    The worse a town’s economy is, the better looking the guys who work at the local gas station are. 
     
    I see more of what is going on around me because I am not concerned with finding a parking place. 
     
    There is no chivalry. For that you have to go upstate. 
     
    Real taxi drivers know more than how to get you there without a GPS—often, they know how to get you there in life. This twentieth anniversary edition of the wise and hilarious classic, as true now as ever, is a celebration of the witty, philosophical perspective on human nature culled from real quotations from real cab drivers who’ve been around the block.
    Show book
  • The Other Coast - Road Rage in Beverly Hills - cover

    The Other Coast - Road Rage in...

    Adrian Raeside

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What would road rage in Beverly Hills look like? From the whimsical perspective of The Other Coast creator Adrian Raeside, it would involve a prim-and-proper hurling of a jar of Grey Poupon at the offending driver. The Other Coast: Road Rage in Beverly Hills is the first collection of Adrian Raeside's strip featuring his off-kilter view of contemporary life. Raeside's lighthearted look at culture, politics, fashion, society, and life in general is both insightful and hilarious. Whether it's taking a clever poke at our obsession with wireless phones, our inability to maintain a workout program, or the witty banter of married life, The Other Coast is a bastion of original thinking, wry wit, and out-loud laughs. Much of the humor comes at the expense of Toulose, the eccentric screenwriter, and his cause-seeking wife, Vicki. But the strip also features a colorful cast of repair people, kids, contractors, tech-support goons, agents, pets, and much more. Those enjoying strips that provide more than the "same ol' schtick" are sure to relish a visit to The Other Coast, where folks aren't deep enough to be shallow.
    Show book