Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Getting New Mexico - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Getting New Mexico

Rhenna St. Clair

Publisher: Pace Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Aaron Schuyler is a ne'er-do-well, a cheat, an exploiter, a drunk, and a lifelong New Yorker. New Mexico is about to change everything about Schuyler, in this fresh and witty comedy about second chances and redemption. 
At 52, Aaron Schuyler has destroyed his life and doesn't care. Professionally ruined, flat broke, and estranged from his ex-wife and children, Schuyler's only concerns are sponging free drinks by crashing funerals and staying on the good side of his primary money supply, his formidable British mother, Clementine.  But Clementine has a plan. Praying for divine aid from her personal god, Winston Churchill, Clementine creates a Winston-inspired scheme to reform her worthless son. Clementine presents Schuyler with an ultimatum―she'll bail him out one last time, if he moves from New York to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and takes a job at the local Sam's Club.  In New Mexico, Schuyler meets people unlike any he's ever known―the enigmatic Indian artist Lone Goose, the blue collar Sam's Club workers who accept him as one of their own, and the beautiful and no-nonsense Anita Chatterjee, with whom Schuyler is immediately smitten.  For the first time in his life, Schuyler wants to be a better person―and as he rereads his diary of his past life, he realizes the extent of his failures and his misdeeds. Can Schuyler adapt to a life of responsibility? To a mature relationship? To New Mexico? To shaking scorpions out of his boots? Winston help him!

Other books that might interest you

  • Less Than Angels - A Novel - cover

    Less Than Angels - A Novel

    Barbara Pym

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A tale of a woman’s romantic entanglements with two anthropologists—and the odd mating habits of humans—from the author of Jane and Prudence. Catherine Oliphant writes for women’s magazines and lives comfortably with anthropologist Tom Mallow—although she’s starting to wonder if they’ll ever get married. Then Tom drops his bombshell: He’s leaving her for a nineteen-year-old student.   Though stunned by Tom’s betrayal, Catherine quickly becomes fascinated by another anthropologist, Alaric Lydgate, a reclusive eccentric recently returned from Africa. As Catherine starts to weigh her options, she must figure out who she is and what she really wants.   With a lively cast of characters and a witty look at the insular world of academia, this novel from the much-loved author of Excellent Women and other modern classics is filled with poignant, playful observations about the traits that separate us from our anthropological forebears—far fewer than we may imagine.  
    Show book
  • Penrod - cover

    Penrod

    Booth Tarkington

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Booth Tarkington’s humorous take on youth, imagination, and the seemingly endless font of adult foolishness  Penrod Schofield is the epitome of a precocious twelve-year-old: crafty in his dealings developing a business and mischievous in his interactions at the local grammar school. He is neither a rascal nor a paragon of virtue, but rather an ordinary boy growing up in a rural early-nineteenth-century Indiana town. In these comic sketches by Booth Tarkington, it is up to Penrod, along with his dog, Duke, and friends Sam, Herman, and Verman, to rescue themselves from countless scrapes and humiliations—usually of the adults’ making.    Penrod is deliriously effective in its evocation both of an earlier era and of the unfettered joy of being a young man in a world of bikes, cap guns, and cranky authority figures. Tarkington’s heartwarming story highlights the naiveté of youth—and the hypocrisy of adulthood.   This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • The $64 Tomato - How One Man Nearly Lost His Sanity Spent a Fortune and Endured an Existential Crisis in the Quest for the Perfect Garden - cover

    The $64 Tomato - How One Man...

    William Alexander

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This “wildly entertaining” memoir recounts the joys—and horrors—of trying to grow your own food (The Boston Globe).   Bill Alexander had no idea his simple dream of having a vegetable garden and small orchard in his backyard would lead him into life-and-death battles with groundhogs, webworms, weeds, and weather; midnight expeditions in the dead of winter to dig up fresh thyme; and skirmishes with neighbors who feed the deer and other vermin. Not to mention the vacations that had to be planned around the harvest, the near electrocution of the tree man, the limitations of his own middle-aged body, and the pity of his wife and kids.   When Alexander runs a cost-benefit analysis, adding up everything from the live animal trap to the Velcro tomato wraps, and then amortizing it over the life of his garden, it comes as quite a shock to learn that it cost a staggering $64 to grow each one of his beloved Brandywine tomatoes. But as any gardener will tell you, you can’t put a price on the unparalleled pleasures of providing fresh food for your family.   “Engaging, funny, and down-to-earth.” —Entertainment Weekly   “A hilarious horticultural memoir.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “A delightful guide to achieving gardening bliss.” —Minneapolis Star-Tribune
    Show book
  • The Judgment of Paris - cover

    The Judgment of Paris

    Leonard Merrick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The story of a bizarre love triangle. Two popular comedians, Robichon and Quinquart vie for the love of a pretty actress. She declares that she will marry the one who is a better actor... but how to decide? The pretty Suzanne's answer is that all Paris should decide. But how is this to be achieved?The two agree that to test their acting skills they should take on a serious acting role. But as they are famous as comedians, they realise it will be difficult to agree anyone to cast them in anything other than comedy. At this moment, a stranger joins them and asks some advice. He is the former public executioner, and is about to give a lecture for the first time. He is seeking some tips from the famous performers, as he is crippled with stage fright. Robichon offers to swap places and take over this performance...knowing that if he wins over the audience in this role, he will also win Suzanne's hand. Quinquart despairs. How on earth can he possibly beat Robichon's performance? But while the lecture is a masterful triumph, events take a most unexpected turn afterwards.
    Show book
  • Declan's Cross - cover

    Declan's Cross

    Carla Neggers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For marine biologist Julianne Maroney, two weeks in tiny Declan's Cross on the south Irish coast is a chance to heal her broken heart. She doesn't expect to attract the attention of FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan, who are in Ireland for their own personal retreat. Ten years ago, art was stolen from a mansion in Declan's Cross, but it has never been recovered and the elusive thief never caught. Now, from the moment Julianne sets foot on Irish soil, everything goes wrong. The well-connected American diver who invited her to Ireland has disappeared. And now Emma and Colin are asking questions. As a dark conspiracy unfolds amid the breathtaking scenery of Declan's Cross, the race is on to stop a ruthless killer…and the stakes have never been more personal for Emma and Colin.
    Show book
  • Searching for a Silver Lining - cover

    Searching for a Silver Lining

    Miranda Dickinson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It began with a promise . . .  
    Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .  
    When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong. 
    Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson will take you on a trip you'll never forget.
    Show book