Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Up Above and the Runaway - Worlds to the Side #2 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Up Above and the Runaway - Worlds to the Side #2

Michael A. Susko

Publisher: AllrOneofUs Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Zoe and Tod meet Mac, a homeless man, he reminds them of the Rock Man, whom they experienced in a childhood fantasy. The three try to help a runaway girl, who is dissociating into a symbolic world. Meanwhile, a doctor in charge of a high-risk experimental treatment is in need of a human subject, and finds one in the runaway. In the end something uncanny happens, which reminds Zoe and Tod of their fantasy. This story explores the meaning of symbolic realities, the danger in not being understood and resolution towards true healing. 
  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw Away His Throne - cover

    Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    King Vortigern thinks he's so clever but his servant Mervyn knows he is playing a dangerous game. Can Mervyn keep the King safe from the invading Saxons, Pictish raiders, and a beautiful Saxon princess?  
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Grey 
    Ideal for ages: 8+
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    9500 years ago, as the Ice Age is ending... 
     
    Jay's grandfather is old, maybe twice as many summers as he has fingers and toes, but he is wise too. Jay loves to sit in their house by the river and listen to his stories of the Great Spirit and the Earth Mother. But outside, danger is at their door; food is getting scarcer, tribes are at war, and all the time the river water is rising... 
     
    A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological  evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry  wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • An Unlikely Spy - cover

    An Unlikely Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thrilling historical adventure from Terry Deary, the 'outstanding children's non-fiction author of the 20th century' (Books For Keeps) 
     
    This brand new, exciting adventure from bestselling Horrible Histories author Terry Deary brings the Second World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne.  
     
    World War II has begun. Brigit has been evacuated to Wales from her home near the aeroplane factories of Coventry. But when it's revealed that her father is German, Brigit runs away to join her mother in a very special training camp, where Churchill is building a secret army of spies and saboteurs known as the Special Operations Executive. 
     
    Brigit and her mother soon find themselves on the front line in Nazi-occupied France, where they search for double agents and meet with danger at every turn in their efforts to support the French resistance. But no-one will suspect Brigit is a spy, will they? After all, who would suspect a child? 
     
    Featuring characters from The Silver Hand, this page-turning adventure sheds new light on the Second World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced the Fire - cover

    Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wilfred, the Saxon village Cunning Man, is loved by all for his wondrous healing powers. But he is growing old and weary, and it will soon be time for his apprentice, Ardith, to step up. It's a risky job, and Ardith's about to learn the hard way that you need more than potions and magic words. You need to be... cunning. 
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages: 7+
    Show book
  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Mixing historical fact with fiction, these books provide both an insightful and informative read...Thoroughly enjoyable' SCOTT EVANS, THE READER TEACHER (@MrEPrimary) 
     
    A fast-paced Stone Age adventure from the best-selling author of Horrible Histories. 
     
    17,300 years ago. Lascaux, France. 
     
    Willow isn't the strongest or fastest in his tribe, he is careful and clever. But that's not what matters to the other boys. All they care about who is the best hunter, and who can provide meat for the tribe. So when the brawny and brash Bull takes over as the tribe's chief, it's going to take all of Willow's wits to survive.  
     
     An exciting tale based on real historical and archaeological evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry wit. With helpful reading notes to extend learning, this book is the perfect springboard for further study of the Stone Age under the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for children aged 7+
    Show book