As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Welcome to the Revolution - cover

Welcome to the Revolution

Steven Mendel

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The year is 1968 and revolution is in the air. 
Thousands of young people around the world are challenging every aspect of society from the war in Vietnam, to attitudes about sex, drugs and rock and roll. 
 Mark Simon, a leader of the radical Students for a Democratic Society (SDS), in an upstate New York college is trying to make the revolution a reality while having to choose between the girl he loves and his political beliefs. 
  Mark and his fellow radicals are leading hundreds of students in an escalating series of confrontations with the college administration. When they are not taking over buildings, talking politics, or throwing a cream pie in the college president's face, they are listening to music, smoking dope and exploring their sexuality.  
But there is a rift in SDS, as one faction plans to go underground and blow up a campus facility contributing to the war in Vietnam. 
The personal collides with the political as one student considers suicide at the prospect of coming out about his homosexuality. Another student, the elder statesman of SDS, has to make a choice between his personal integrity and taking care of his growing family. Mark, the protagonist, has to betray his girlfriend to stay true to his politics. All the while there is an undercover cop who has infiltrated SDS.

Other books that might interest you

  • Killing Beauties - cover

    Killing Beauties

    Pete Langman

    • 2
    • 29
    • 0
    In a world made for men, Susan Hyde is no ordinary woman.And no one would suspect that the sister of Edward Hyde, chief advisor to King in exile Charles Stuart, spends her time peddling state secrets and fomenting rebellion rather than on her tapestry.As a she-intelligencer – female spy – Susan’s mission is to extract information from Oliver Cromwell’s unsuspecting spymaster, by any means necessary.In a shadow-world of ciphers, surveillance, poison, seduction and duplicity, this daring spy will risk everything for king and country. Based on the astonishing true story of England’s earliest female spies, Killing Beauties will transport you to a seventeenth-century London rife with political intrigue, betrayal and conspiracy.
    Show book
  • Flights and Falls - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Flights and Falls - A BC Blues...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    Book four of the B.C. Blues crime series starring sleuths Dion and Leith solving murders and twisted cases in the Pacific Northwest.
    An apparent traffic accident turns into a homicidal game, and a crime in Dion's past may be wrapped up in the plot
    Booklist "A series to watch," Kirkus "Greenaway brings a keen understanding of love, loyalty, frailty, and greed," Toronto Star "More good things ahead."
    Show book
  • The Summer Country - A Novel - cover

    The Summer Country - A Novel

    Lauren Willig

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" – Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network 
    A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados. 
     
    Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.  
     
    When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. 
     
    Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom. 
     
    THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.  
     
    Show book
  • Resistance Women - A Novel - cover

    Resistance Women - A Novel

    Jennifer Chiaverini

    • 0
    • 10
    • 1
    One of BookBub's best historical novels of the year and Oprah magazine's buzziest books of the month.  
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American—Mildred Fish Harnack—and her circle of women friends who waged a clandestine battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin. 
     
    After Wisconsin graduate student Mildred Fish marries brilliant German economist Arvid Harnack, she accompanies him to his German homeland, where a promising future awaits. In the thriving intellectual culture of 1930s Berlin, the newlyweds create a rich new life filled with love, friendships, and rewarding work—but the rise of a malevolent new political faction inexorably changes their fate.  
    As Adolf Hitler and his Nazi Party wield violence and lies to seize power, Mildred, Arvid, and their friends resolve to resist. Mildred gathers intelligence for her American contacts, including Martha Dodd, the vivacious and very modern daughter of the US ambassador. Her German friends, aspiring author Greta Kuckoff and literature student Sara Weitz, risk their lives to collect information from journalists, military officers, and officials within the highest levels of the Nazi regime.  
    For years, Mildred’s network stealthily fights to bring down the Third Reich from within. But when Nazi radio operatives detect an errant Russian signal, the Harnack resistance cell is exposed, with fatal consequences.  
    Inspired by actual events, Resistance Women is an enthralling, unforgettable story of ordinary people determined to resist the rise of evil, sacrificing their own lives and liberty to fight injustice and defend the oppressed.
    Show book
  • Ghost at Work - cover

    Ghost at Work

    Carolyn Hart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bailey Ruth Raeburn has always been great at solving mysteries. Why should a little thing like her death change anything? In fact, being dead gives her more of an opportunity to be on top of events. Bailey Ruth is delighted that her unique position as a ghost makes it possible for her to lend a helping hand, sometimes seen and sometimes not. And if anybody needs a little help, it's Kathleen, the pastor's wife. There's a dead man on her porch, and once the body is discovered, the pastor is sure to become a suspect. 
    Uncharitable people might call it meddling, but Bailey Ruth knows Kathleen needs her help! As a member of Heaven's Department of Good Intentions, Bailey Ruth goes back to earth to extricate Kathleen from a dire situation. If Bailey Ruth has to bend a few rules to help Kathleen save her family, Wiggins, her fussbudget supervisor, will make sure it all turns out right in the end.
    Show book
  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Second in the B.C. Blues Crime Novel series, beginning with Cold Girl, characterized by entertaining cases, strong characters, and taut backstories
    First long-running police procedural set in North Vancouver
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    Author is familiar with the setting, as she was brought up on B.C.’s Lower Mainland, and has done extensive research about the area
    Author is a court reporter/court transcriber and has plenty of insight into the system and how trials are conducted, as well as a feel for dialogue and how experts speak about crime
    Show book