Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Copper Rain - Everspyyre #1 - cover

Copper Rain - Everspyyre #1

T. Lee Messick

Publisher: StrangeWorlds

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Street hustler, Kalan Laurelbane, has been at his game for more than a hundred years. More than enough to time to forget what he'd done to his father. Now, two strangers looking for a wizard to save them from a nasty drought they say could have worldwide consequences. After being caught by the local magistrate and told that he will be hanged for his crimes, it becomes apparent to the strangers that he is the wizard they seek. 
 
Kalan, unable to convince himself that he has the power to save the world from a devastating drought, wonders how can he recover a lost artifact stolen by a chimera controlled by a mad wizard bent on becoming the next Emperor of Aerolia? 
 
Amad-Dûr, the Magistrate of Yuln, runs a clean city and wants to keep it that way to ascend to the throne as Emperor of Aerolia. Kalan's swindling ways threaten that plan. As Kalan struggles to make enough money to go north in search of his mother, he must elude the city guards and the ire of the Magistrate. Amad-Dûr has another problem, he needs someone with even the simplest of training in the arcane arts to perform a spell to control the chimera that has stolen a harp that calls the rain. 
 
Kalan's choice is clear, or so he thought. He must help the Magistrate with his spell or his friends will certainly die slowly and painfully. In doing so, he might doom the whole world to an arid death controlled by a tyrannical emperor who commands a chimera.

Other books that might interest you

  • Booke of the Hidden - cover

    Booke of the Hidden

    Jeri Westerson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this urban fantasy series debut, the discovery of a mysterious book in her tea shop immerses a woman in a world of demons, witches, and murder. To get a fresh start away from a bad relationship, Kylie Strange moves across the country to open a shop in the seemingly quiet town of Moody Bog in rural Maine. During renovations on Strange Herbs & Teas, she discovers a peculiar and ancient codex, The Booke of the Hidden, bricked into the wall. Every small town has its legends and unusual histories, and this artifact sends Kylie right into the center of Moody Bog’s biggest secret. While puzzling over the tome’s oddly blank pages, Kylie gets an unexpected visitor—Erasmus Dark, an inscrutable stranger who claims to be a demon, knows she has the book, and warns her that she has opened a portal to the netherworld. Kylie brushes off this nonsense, until a series of bizarre murders put her, the newcomer, at the center. With the help of the demon and a coven of witches she befriends while dodging the handsome but sharp-eyed sheriff, Kylie hunts for a killer—that might not be human.“Westerson creates an utterly believable history of witches, demons, and magic for her claustrophobic New England village including a heroine with enough spark, smarts, and stubbornness to keep both the bad guys and the deliciously dangerous love-interest on their toes.”—Kat Richardson, author of the Greywalker series“Readers sad about the ending of Charlaine Harris’s Midnight, Texas trilogy will find some consolation in Moody Bog.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Earth Strike - Star Carrier: Book One - cover

    Earth Strike - Star Carrier:...

    Ian Douglas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of the hit television show Battlestar Galactica comes Earth Strike—the first book in the action-packed Star Carrier science fiction series by Ian Douglas, author of the popular Inheritance, Heritage, and Legacy Trilogies and one of the most adept writers of military sf working today. Earth Strike rockets readers into a vast  and deadly intergalactic battle, as humankind attempts to bring down an evil empire and establish itself as the new major power. Fans of Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War, welcome aboard the Star Carrier!
    Show book
  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Immortal Unchained - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Immortal Unchained - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In a spellbinding new Argeneau novel from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands, a dangerous rescue is just the beginning of red-hot adventure… 
    Ever since Domitian Argenis recognized Sarita as his life mate, he’s been waiting for the perfect moment to claim her. Those fantasies did not include him being chained to a table in a secret lab or both of them being held hostage by a mad scientist. Somehow, they have to escape… 
    Sarita has seen some crazy things as a cop, but nothing to rival Domitian. A vampire? Seriously? But his healing ability, incredible powers, and their mind-blowing physical connection—none of it should be possible, yet her body knows differently. Now, not only do they have to save each other, but other innocent lives are at stake. Failure is not an option, for Sarita intends that Domitian show her exactly what an eternity of pleasure feels like…
    Show book
  • Plague - The Old Lady of the Skies: Episode One - cover

    Plague - The Old Lady of the...

    Peter Oxley

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Before the Infernal Aether there was... The Old Lady of the Skies.Venice, 1855Augustus Potts is lost and confused.A young man adrift, friendless in an alien continent, running from his mistakes and towards... he doesn't know.Until a chance encounter with a renegade aristocratic airship captain sends him headlong into a conspiracy which strikes at the heart of nineteenth century Venice. A terrible plot which could threaten the whole world.Can the unlikely allies unravel the mystery before it's too late?Plague: The Old Lady of the Skies Episode One. A novella from the universe of the Infernal Aether. If you enjoy cracking adventures, glamorous locations and fantastic steampunk machines, then you'll love Plague. Get it now and start the adventure today!
    Show book
  • Hungry For You - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Hungry For You - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 25
    • 0
     “Clever, steamy…[with] a deliciously wicked sense of humor that readers will gobble up.”—Katie MacAlister Readers simply can’t get their fill of bestselling author Lynsay Sands’s paranormal romance series featuring the Argeneau family of vampires—and Hungry for You is another satisfying feast of sizzling passion and winning humor. Fans of Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse books will eat up Sands’s Hungry for You, the story of an ancient immortal masquerading as a chef to get closer to the intoxicating restaurateur who just might be the lifemate the lonely vampire has been searching for for centuries.
    Show book