Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Open Portal - Conquest of the Veil #1 - cover

The Open Portal - Conquest of the Veil #1

Michael Scott Clifton

Publisher: Michael Scott Clifton

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

But with dreams, there can also be nightmares 
Lonely and plain-featured, Mona Parker is just another faceless teenager at Spring Hill High School when she angers a beautiful and arrogant classmate. Bullied relentlessly and with nowhere to turn, Mona's colorless life turns into a hellish existence. Mona considers suicide until one night, Thaddeus Finkle, her guardian angel, appears and offers her a way out; 
Swap lives with another.   
Mona takes the angel up on his offer. She awakes on Meredith, a parallel world of Earth where magic has replaced technology. Mona discovers she is Alexandria, a woman of stunning beauty, and the daughter of a Duke complete with servants and riches. Her wildest dreams have come true. 
Then she discovers the price of her bargain. 
Trapped behind the Veil, an impenetrable curtain of magic, the Duchy of Wheel is the last major province still unconquered by the cruel sorceress, Marlinda, the creator of the enchanted barrier. 
And Marlinda has special plans for Alexandria. 
Tal, the hotheaded, impulsive Prince and Heir of the Empire of Meredith, has been banished to a remote garrison for his reckless behavior. There he happens upon a group of raiders—one whose leader possesses the means for opening a way through the Veil. 
Alexandria and Tal's paths will cross…but in ways neither could ever have imagined.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Everafter Wish - cover

    The Everafter Wish

    Rachel Morgan

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: Fae, vampires, shifters, and a Godmother who’ll grant you any wish—if you pay the price.
     
    Armed with knowledge that could change everything for humankind, Elle must confront the king.
     
    But it's the Godmother who now poses the greatest threat. Can Elle and Dex stop her from taking control of the kingdom?
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    This is episode 6 of 6 of a SERIALIZED Cinderella retelling. It is not novel-length. Approximately 29,000 words or 130 print pages.
     
    **Prefer to binge-read all the episodes together? Look for City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story**
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is human, bound to her stepmother by a slave charm. Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it. But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep. Is Elle willing to pay it?
    Show book
  • Through a Dark Glass - cover

    Through a Dark Glass

    Barb Hendee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tale of castles and assassins, ambition and envy, toil and desire—and one woman’s three very different lives—from the New York Times–bestselling author.   On her seventeenth birthday, Megan of Chaumont discovers she’ll be sold as a bride to the brutish Volodane family—within hours. Her father grants only that she may choose which one of the ruthless, grasping lord’s three sons she weds: There’s Rolf, the eldest, who is stern, ambitious, and loyal; Sebastian, the second son, is sympathetic, sly, and rebellious; or Kai, the youngest, who is bitter, brooding, and proud.   As shy, horrified Megan flees the welcome dinner for her in-laws-to-be, she finds an enchanted mirror that will display how her life unrolls with each man, as if she were living it out in a breath. But there is no smooth “happily ever after” in her choices.   Deaths and honors, joys and agonies, intrigues and escapes await her in a remote, ramshackle keep, where these rough but complex men reveal one side and then another of their jagged characters—and bring out new aspects of Megan, too. But the decisions of one teenaged marriage-pawn reverberate much farther than any of them have could have guessed . . .   “Evokes the medieval world of poetry and images we have seen in the paintings of Bourne-Jones and Millais as well as the poetry of the Pre-Raphaelites. It is a world of great beauty, difficult choices, and uncertain endings that Ms. Hendee evokes with skill.” —Kings River Life Magazine
    Show book
  • Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark Days Novel - cover

    Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark...

    Jocelynn Drake

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “A must-read addition to the urban fantasy genre, filled both with action and satisfying characters.”—Kim Harrison “Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”—Jeaniene Frost Vampire enforcer Mira must thwart the malevolent schemes of an ancient coven in the fifth action-packed Dark Days novel from New York Times bestselling author Jocelynn Drake. Wait for Dusk is gripping, stellar urban fantasy in the vein of Kim Harrison and Vicki Pettersson, with enough sensual heat to enthrall readers of Christine Feehan, J. R. Ward, and Jeaniene Frost.
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 48
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Love Bites - cover

    Love Bites

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 37
    • 0
    “Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”Katie MacAlister, author of A Girl’s Guide to Vampires In the world of the sexy and seductive Argeneau family of vampires, true love is good from the first bite to the last. Love Bites is a classic from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands, the second volume in her much beloved Argeneau series—the  story of an achingly hot three hundred year-old bachelor immortal and the beautiful coroner he chooses as his lifemate. Paranormal romance just doesn’t get any tastier than this!
    Show book
  • Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6 - cover

    Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The fight to save British magick rages on — and it’s taking the Society’s beleaguered champions away from Home. Far, far away, to worlds long lost; worlds no one could ever have imagined existed.
     
    Dangers and mysteries abound, which is way up Ves’s street. Jay isn’t quite so sure. Severed as they are from the Society’s support, will magick’s unlikely heroes make it Home unscathed?
     
    It’ll be fine. After all, these lost magickal domains are the Society’s ultimate dream. What could possibly be so bad about that?
     
    The Society for Magickal Heritage battles modern decay in three thrilling new Modern Magick adventures: The Fifth Britain, Royalty and Ruin, and Music and Misadventure.
    Show book