Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
This Is Where I Won't Be Alone - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

This Is Where I Won't Be Alone

Inez Tan

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A pair of twins tries desperately to survive their education. A sentient oyster ponders the concept of making time. An unemployed man devises a social experiment with ants. A runaway sees a vision. From the 1990's to a future where people access information through chips implanted in their heads, from the Singaporean heartland to London, San Francisco and the moon, these stories hold in tension the strangeness of displacement and a deep yearning for connection in their relentless search for who and what to call home.

Other books that might interest you

  • Old Time Radio's Greatest Westerns Collection Volume 2 - 12 Half Hour Original Radio Broadcasts - cover

    Old Time Radio's Greatest...

    Black Eye Entertainment

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Golden Age of Radio had incredible western shows that kept Americans glued to their radio sets. Families gathered around their living room radios to hear western heroes catch the bad-guys and save ladies in distress.This collection includes John Wayne and Mel Ferrer starring in a radio adaptation of the John Ford film "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon" on The Lux Radio Theatre; William Conrad as U.S. Marshal Matt Dillon on Gunsmoke; Joel McCrea in a true-crime story on Tales of the Texas Rangers and Curley Bradley starring in two episodes of Tom Mix. You'll also hear James Stewart starring in a radio recreation of his hit film "Winchester '73" on The Lux Radio Theatre; John Dehner in a western episode of Escape; Guy Madison as Wild Bill Hickok and more tales of the old west!Red Ryder 12-28-46 "$40,000 in Gold is Stolen on Ghost Mountain" w/ Brooke TempleGunsmoke 1-15-55 "Chester's Murder" w/ William Conrad and Parley BaerThe Cisco Kid 10-5-54 "The Black Kerchief" w/ Jack Mather & Harry LangTales of the Texas Rangers 11-5-50 "The White Suit" w/ Joel McCreaWild Bill Hickok 8-19-51 "Warpath or Peace" w/ Guy Madison & Andy DevineStraight Arrow 1-4-51 "The Wasteland" w/ Howard CulverEscape 12-17-50 "Wild Jack Rhett" w/ John Dehner & Parley BaerDoctor Six-Gun 12-12-54 "Sing for a Drink Cowboy" w/ Karl WeberThe Lux Radio Theatre 3-12-51 "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon" w/ John Wayne & Mel FerrerThe Tom Mix Ralston Straightshooters 12-1-41 "The Mystery of the Black Cat" w/ Curley BradleyThe Lux Radio Theatre 11-12-51 "Winchester '73" w/ Jimmy Stewart & William ConradThe Tom Mix Ralston Straightshooters 8-14-46 "The Mystery of the Flying City" w/ Curley Bradley
    Show book
  • A Confederate General from Big Sur Dreaming of Babylon and The Hawkline Monster - cover

    A Confederate General from Big...

    Richard Brautigan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This cult classic from the author of Trout Fishing in America “reads like a spaghetti Western crossed with Frankenstein, viewed through an opium haze” (The Sunday Times).   The celebrated poet, novelist, and guru of the 1960s San Francisco literary scene, Richard Brautigan brings his highly original Gonzo style to this surreal parody Western. The time is 1902, the setting eastern Oregon. In the ice caves underneath Professor Hawkline’s house, a deadly monster lurks. It’s already turned the professor into an elephant foot umbrella stand, and now his two beautiful daughters have hired a pair of gunslingers to put a stop to the mayhem.   But Hawkline Manor is full of curiosities and secrets, like the professor’s underground laboratory where his work on The Chemicals remains unfinished. And as the gunslingers pursue their peculiar quarry, they encounter monstrous mischief, amorous advances, and evil that is all too human.   “Bursting with colour, humour and imagery, Brautigan’s virtuoso prose is rooted in his rural past.” —The Guardian
    Show book
  • The Canterbury Tales - cover

    The Canterbury Tales

    Geoffrey Chaucer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This classic work of medieval literature features the pious and profane stories of commoners on a pilgrimage in fourteenth-century England.   One of the most famous works of literature written in Middle English, The Canterbury Tales were penned by Geoffrey Chaucer, who was widely regarded as the greatest poet of his time. The stories “run the gamut of tales known to people in the Middle Ages and include ribald stories such as the ‘Miller’s Tale’ and the ‘Reeve’s Tale’; medieval romances set against ancient backgrounds such as the ‘Knight’s Tale’; animal fables such as the ‘Nun’s Priest’s Tale’; Arthurian legends such as the ‘Wife of Bath’s Tale’; saint’s lives such as the “Prioress’ Tale”; and the “Second Nun’s Tale”; tragic tales, sort of, such as the Monk’s Tale’; and cautionary tales, such as the Pardoner’s Tale.’ . . . It is rightly considered one of the masterworks of English literature” (The Kansas City Public Library).   “A raucous read.” —The Guardian
    Show book
  • Suspense: The House in Cyprus Canyon Robert Taylor - cover

    Suspense: The House in Cyprus...

    Roberta Taylor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fantastic Audio Selection! Highest Recommendation! Listen to one today! The book come highly recommended and its one you’ll really enjoy.
    Show book
  • Forensic Songs - Stories - cover

    Forensic Songs - Stories

    Mike McCormack

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This story collection by a Man Booker Prize nominee “effortlessly weaves Raymond Carver’s lucidity together with Franz Kafka’s otherworldly absurdity” (Library Journal, starred review).   Amid much hollow laughter, a prisoner is drawn from his cell in the middle of the night to play a video game. Two rural guards ponder the security threat posed by the only man in Ireland not to have written his memoirs. A child tries to offset his destiny as a serial killer by petitioning his father for a beating. Two men turn up at the door of a slacker to give him news of his death and recruit him to some mysterious surveillance mission. An older brother worries about the health of his younger sibling. A late night American cop show becomes a savage analysis of a faltering marriage in the west of Ireland. A prodigal son returns to reveal the fear and hypocrisy that lie at the heart of his brother’s life.   From the acclaimed author of Solar Bones, “Forensic Songs is a striking work of cross-genre virtuosity, where hints of speculative fiction and fable bring a surprising spark to McCormack’s serious literary sensibility. These pieces are clever, touching, timely and at times prescient. A distinctly Irish story collection, perfect for fans of George Saunders’s Tenth of December” (Shelf Awareness).  
    Show book
  • The Lineup - The World's Greatest Crime Writers Tell the Inside Story of Their Greatest Detectives - cover

    The Lineup - The World's...

    Otto Penzler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A great recurring character in a series you love becomes an old friend. You learn about their strange quirks and their haunted pasts and root for them every time they face danger. But where do some of the most fascinating sleuths in the mystery and thriller world really come from? What was the real-life location that inspired Michael Connelly to make Harry Bosch a Vietnam vet tunnel rat? Why is Lee Child's Jack Reacher a drifter? How did a brief encounter in Botswana inspire Alexander McCall Smith to create Precious Ramotswe? In The Lineup, some of the top mystery writers in the world tell about the genesis of their most beloved characters-or, in some cases, let their creations do the talking. The following characters (and their creators) are featured in this collection:Jack Taylor by Ken BruenJack Reacher by Lee ChildHieronymus Bosch by Michael ConnellyCharlie Parker by John ConnollyElvis Cole and Joe Pike by Robert CraisLincoln Rhyme by Jeffery DeaverInspector Morse by Colin DexterCharlie Resnick by John HarveyBob Lee Swagger by Stephen HunterPeter Decker and Rina Lazarus by Faye KellermanAlex Delaware by Jonathan KellermanDismas Hardy by John LescroartTess Monaghan by Laura LippmanRambo by David MorrellMallory by Carol O'ConnellSpenser by Robert B. ParkerLou Boldt by Ridley PearsonCharlotte and Thomas Pitt by Anne PerryAloysius X. L. Pendergast by Douglas Preston and Lincoln ChildJohn Rebus by Ian RankinPrecious Ramotswe by Alexander McCall Smith
    Show book