Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Christmas at Blue Hydrangeas - A Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast Story #1 - cover

Christmas at Blue Hydrangeas - A Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast Story #1

Marianne Sciucco

Publisher: Marianne Sciucco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It's Christmas Eve at Blue Hydrangeas, a Cape Cod Bed and Breakfast. While innkeeper Sara waits for her husband and son to arrive home, a surprise blizzard threatens to close the bridges, stranding all travelers to and from the Cape.  As she prepares their holiday feast,  unexpected visitors arrive, all sharing the common bond of grief. Sara is determined the storm and sadness will not spoil  their Christmas joy, and Santa will find his way to two fatherless children far from home. A sweet slice-of-life story about loved ones and strangers coming together to share the spirit of Christmas.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits - cover

    The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    London, 1880. “I’m dreadfully afraid someone is threatening to kill my wife …”   When accounts clerk Ernest Stibbins approaches the World’s End investigation bureau with wild claims that his wife Albertina has been warned by her spirit guides that someone is out to harm her, the bureau’s owner Lily Raynor and her new employee Felix Wilbraham are initially sceptical.  How are the two private enquiry agents supposed to investigate threats from beyond the grave?
    
    But after she attends a séance at the Stibbins family home, Lily comes to realize that Albertina is in terrible danger.  And very soon so too is Lily herself …
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • The Flying Goat - cover

    The Flying Goat

    H.E. Bates

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The Flying Goat (Jonathan Cape, 1939) features sixteen diverse stories from slapstick sketches to portraits of marital tension; one Uncle Silas tale; and three that hark back to Bates's boyhood roots.  
     
    'A Funny Thing' is an escalating bragging match between Uncle Silas and Uncle Cosmos. Cosmos is modelled on Bates's paternal grandfather, Charles Lawrence, who was "known about Rushden as a dapper and dashing figure who spent his holidays in the south of France, where he reputedly had a number of mistresses". A television adaptation starring Albert Finney was aired in 2003. 
     
    In a cautionary tale, ever-relevant today, 'Shot Actress – Full Story' is an account of the death of a former actress, and of the damaging effect of rumours. In commenting on the public's obsession with scandal and journalism, the tale reflects Bates's early newspaper work at the Northamptonshire Chronicle as well as a wider social commentary. 
     
    The Times Literary Supplement singled out 'The White Pony' and 'The Ox' as "faultless things, jewels as luminous and as finely cut as any Mr. Bates has turned out. In each of them the evocative strength of his countryside pictures is joined to a still and poignant emotion that seems to project a background of universal experience for a particular sorrow." 
     
    The bonus story 'Pensioned Off' is a sensitive and touching tale of a Latin teacher approaching the end of his career, reflecting on his obsolete methods of trying to teach a dying language. The story is based in part on Bates's own Latin teacher who he described as "extremely fat", so in a sweetly comic moment we hear how he fasts every Thursday so as not to become obese. Published in the New Adelphi (1929), and not republished since.
    Show book
  • The Right Thing to Do - A Novel - cover

    The Right Thing to Do - A Novel

    Josephine Gattuso Hendin

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    On a stroll in his Queens neighborhood, Sicilian-born Nino Giardello glimpses his daughter, ambitious nineteen-year-old Gina, heading for the subway. Silently, he follows her to Manhattan and watches, outraged, as she walks into the arms of a golden-haired stranger. The incident confirms Nino's worst suspicions about his decidedly American daughter. It also challenges Nino's power as capofamiglia, a disruption to his ideas about family life, and an insult to his heritage. In a struggle that exceeds all boundaries, including death, father and daughter will engage in a conflict of generations that is likewise a conflict of cultures.Josephine Gattuso Hendin captures New York Italian immigrant life with startling precision, bringing to life the intricate web of a community's everyday transactions and exploring the multifaceted father-daughter relationship at the heart of the Italian American family. A coming-of-age novel that is both wryly funny and achingly sad, The Right Thing to Do burns with the conflicting desires of two cultures, two generations, two sexes, each with its own intensely defined needs and ethical systems.
    Show book
  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 3
    • 21
    • 1
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • Thirteen Hours - cover

    Thirteen Hours

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    South African detective Benny Griessel has one day to solve two murders in the award winning, #1 bestselling thriller—“This book is great!” (Michael Connelly).  Winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller   As morning dawns in Cape Town, Det. Capt. Benny Griessel finds himself facing a difficult day. A South African music executive has been shot dead. An American teenager’s body has been found on the street, her throat cut. And her friend Rachel Anderson is somewhere in the city, terrified and alone, but hopefully still alive. For both cases, time is short and media attention is high. And while the homicide detective has been sober for 156 days, day 157 is going to be a tough one . . .   A #1 bestseller in South Africa, winner of the 2011 Boeke Prize Fanatics Choice Award, and a finalist for the CWA International Dagger, Thirteen Hours is an atmospheric, intensely gripping novel from “a serious writer who richly deserves the international reputation he has built” (The Washington Post).   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters. Thirteen Hours proves he should be on everyone’s reading list.” —Michael Connelly, New York Times–bestselling author of the Harry Bosch novels   “A deft storyteller.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book