Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Bakery on Gloomland Street - Hallowind Cove #1 - cover

The Bakery on Gloomland Street - Hallowind Cove #1

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A legendary monster threatens Christmas…  
It's Christmas time in the permanently fog-shrouded seaside town of Hallowind Cove, which is also known as the "Harbour of the Weird". 
Rachel Hammersmith is new to Hallowind Cove and has recently taken over the bakery on Gloomland Street, after Marie Percht, the previous owner, retired. 
However, Marie Percht didn't tell Rachel everything, when she retired. She didn't mention the fog, for starters, and she also didn't mention that her bakery plays a vital role during the Christmas season and not just as a provider of holiday cookies either. 
For the Krampus, a yuletide monster from alpine folklore, is coming to Hallowind Cove. And the only thing that can keep him from wrecking the town and ruining Christmas are pastries baked according to a secret recipe. Unfortunately, Rachel has no idea what the recipe is. 
However, with the help of fellow newcomer Paul MacQuarie, Rachel will bake up a storm to pacify Krampus and save Christmas. 
This is a novelette of 9300 words or approximately 32 pages in the Hallowind Cove series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone Thriller—Book 4) - cover

    Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone...

    Jack Mars

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    “One of the best thrillers I have read this year. The plot is intelligent and will keep you hooked from the beginning. The author did a superb job creating a set of characters who are fully developed and very much enjoyable. I can hardly wait for the sequel.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Any Means Necessary)
    
    OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling Luke Stone thriller series, which begins with ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1)!
    
    A small arsenal of U.S. nuclear weapons are stolen from a NATO base in Europe. The world scrambles to figure out who the culprits are and what their target is—and to stop them before they unleash hell on humanity.
    
    With only hours left before it is too late, the President has no choice but to call in Luke Stone, the former head of an elite FBI para-military team. Finally getting his life back in order, and with devastating news on his own family front, Luke does not want the job. But with the newly elected female President desperate for his help, he realizes he cannot turn his back on her.
    
    In the action-packed, international cat-and-mouse chase that follows, Luke, Ed and his former team will have to be more daring, and break more rules, than ever before. With the fate of the world at stake, Luke heads into the murky fog of war and espionage, and discovers the culprit is not who he thinks it is after all.
    
    A political thriller with non-stop action, dramatic international settings and heart-pounding suspense, OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling and critically-acclaimed Luke Stone series, an explosive new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Luke Stone series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel - cover

    The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel

    William Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A sprawling fictional account of the adventures of Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck, the World War I military commander who created the first modern guerilla army.   November 1914. In German-occupied East Africa during the Great War, British forces have arrived. In defiance of his orders, Prussian commander Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck enlists soldiers, civilians, and African rebels to fight against the British—the world’s first modern guerrilla uprising. Lettow-Vorbeck’s actions draw the attention of the brilliant but brutal chief of British intelligence, who vows to defeat him. To complicate matters, Lettow-Vorbeck finds himself embroiled in a romantic relationship with an American woman who loves him—but objects to his conduct in the war. Meanwhile, Zionists fight for influence in the region, rival tribes must be appeased with diplomacy, and an African princess serves as a spy for the rebels.   The acclaimed author of A Man Called Intrepid crafts a novel of romance, war, and resistance based on real-life personas and historical events. A former foreign correspondent in the region, William Stevenson paints an astonishingly accurate and detailed picture of the geography, military, and political climate of East Africa in a time of chaos. A thrilling read, TheGhosts of Africa is an epic tale of adventure that will both entertain and inform.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • Blood Cold - A Chris Black Adventure - cover

    Blood Cold - A Chris Black...

    James Lindholm

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The legacy of a failed regime rises from the deep.
     
    Indomitable marine biologist Chris Black is looking forward to six quiet months of scientific research off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa. But when on a routine dive Chris discovers the wreck of a fishing vessel that disappeared during a storm decades earlier, he inadvertently clashes with the ghost of South Africa's Apartheid. Thousands of gold Krugerrand provide powerful motivation for treachery everywhere, and Chris is forced to take a careful look at those he trusts most. Racing against time, he must find out who is providing critical information to the criminals ... before too much innocent blood is shed.
     
    "Opening this book is like diving with sharks. Big sharks. At night. In a hurricane. What next?" -Stephen Palumbi, scientist and author of The Death and Life of Monterey Bay
    Show book
  • The Last Seance - Tales of the Supernatural - cover

    The Last Seance - Tales of the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Reading a perfectly plotted Agatha Christie is like crunching into a perfect apple: that pure, crisp, absolute satisfaction.”—Tana French, New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    From the Queen of Suspense, an all-new collection of her spookiest and most sinister stories, including an Agatha Christie story never before published in the USA, The Wife of Kenite! 
    For lovers of the supernatural and the macabre comes this collection of ghostly and chilling stories from legendary mystery writer Agatha Christie. Fantastic psychic visions, specters looming in the shadows, encounters with deities, a man who switches bodies with a cat—be sure to keep the light on whilst reading these tales.  
    The Last Séance gathers twenty stories, some featuring Christie’s beloved detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, in one haunting compendium that explores all things occult and paranormal, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.
    Show book
  • The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits - cover

    The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

    Alys Clare

    • 3
    • 32
    • 0
    A clever plot, two engaging sleuths, plenty of period ambience, and a satisfying ending make this a fine choice for all mystery collections Booklist
    Introducing private investigators Lily Raynor and Felix Wilbraham in the first of the brand-new World’s End Bureau Victorian mystery series.London, 1880. “I’m dreadfully afraid someone is threatening to kill my wife …”   When accounts clerk Ernest Stibbins approaches the World’s End investigation bureau with wild claims that his wife Albertina has been warned by her spirit guides that someone is out to harm her, the bureau’s owner Lily Raynor and her new employee Felix Wilbraham are initially sceptical.  How are the two private enquiry agents supposed to investigate threats from beyond the grave?
    But after she attends a séance at the Stibbins family home, Lily comes to realize that Albertina is in terrible danger.  And very soon so too is Lily herself …
    Show book