Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Hell On Heels - The TV News Business Can Be Murder - PJ Santini Series #1 - cover

Hell On Heels - The TV News Business Can Be Murder - PJ Santini Series #1

Lynne Russell

Publisher: Lynne Russell

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

PJ Santini Series Book One        
Approx 200 pgs 
"The heroine, PJ Santini, is the lovechild of Janet Evanovich and Elmore Leonard." (Toronto Star) 
Quirky and witty, HELL ON HEELS is fast-moving recommended reading for those who crave danger and passion in life, but still want to be home by dinner.  
Welcome to blistering summertime in Buffalo, New York, scene of the crime. Thirty-three year old P.J. Santini, television news reporter and marginally successful private eye, is on a wild ride between men, her certifiable Sicilian family and insufficient funds notices, ever since her husband died on her – literally. But good news, she's inherited the juicy journalistic job of Gerald Sigmund (Siggy), a sleezy investigative reporter who has vanished into thin air. Her first assignment is to find him, dead or alive. She's also inherited his disgusting office, which holds a secret that's worth her life. But she has no idea what that secret is, or who would kill her to get to it. All she knows is that there's a bloody finger in the desk drawer, and it lost most of its value as evidence when she threw up all over it.  
Her only comforts are Chianti, four-inch heels, and chocolate. And two men. Fiercely protective Tango Daly is her mysterious, tanned, toned private detective boss, a martial artist with a para-legitimate past tucked lustily into seductive slacks and silk shirts. PJ and Daly play exhilarating mind games when her stilettos get caught in the thick carpet of his office. Upstairs, the place is equipped with more surveillance electronics than Cheyenne Mountain…and a bed with satin sheets. 
Lanky Johnny Renza is darkly handsome in his trademark cream linen suit, and the first boy P.J. ever loved… over and over, all through high school. Now he's a top-notch  competitive crime reporter who gets away with plenty because he still knows how to hotwire her with fattening food. As her butt is about to get its own zip code, it's getting harder and harder to concentrate on staying alive. 
P.J. Santini lives in an uncharted corner of author Lynne Russell's brain. When P.J. spends long, boring hours stuck in a car on a surveillance job, she amuses herself by counting all the places on her body where she can stash her gun – she's up to twelve now – and she wishes to thank Lynne for the idea. It helps to make up for the indignity of having to pee into a one-pound coffee can. 
Lynne Russell anchored CNN and CNN Headline News from 1983 to 2001, the first woman to solo anchor a daily prime time network newscast. Her long-standing dedication to the people's right to know was recognized in The New York Times, which called her a "just-the-facts stalwart of CNN Headline News". The Times also called her a news anchor with the personality of a professional wrestler, which she took as a compliment. In the Washington Journalism Review, she won a spot as "Best in the Business". A private investigator and former Deputy Sheriff, Lynne now writes romantic crime novels and works out of Washington, D.C. 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lily and the Sword - cover

    The Lily and the Sword

    Sara Bennett

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    Trapped in an old Saxon church, Lady Lily is dragged from her hiding place to the very feet of the warrior who's been hunting for her—Radulf, the King's Sword, a man whose name all speak in fear. Yet when she looks into his coal-black eyes, it is not fear that makes her tremble...but desire. So she lies to save her life—and prays to save her heart. 
    Even though some instinct whispers that Lily's not who she claims to be, Radulf is helpless against his burning need to possess her. Furious when he discovers her true identity, he nevertheless marries her—not to protect her from the king's wrath, he tells himself, but to keep a close watch on her. For Radulf was betrayed by a woman once before...and now trusting Lily could cost him his life.
    Show book
  • Searching for You (Orphan Train Book #3) - cover

    Searching for You (Orphan Train...

    Jody Hedlund

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Despite years on the run, Sophie Neumann is determined to care for two young children. She won't abandon them the way she thinks her older sisters abandoned her. But times are growing desperate, and when she falls in with the wrong crowd and witnesses a crime, she realizes fleeing 1850s New York is her only option.Disappearing with her two young charges into a group of orphans heading west by train, Sophie hopes to find safety and a happy life. When the train stops in Illinois for the first placement of orphans, Sophie faces the most difficult choice of her life.Reinhold Weiss has finally purchased his own small farm. With mounting debts, a harvest to bring in, and past scars that haunt him, he's in no position to give his heart away . . . but can he say no when his long-lost friend shows up on a nearby train pleading for his help?
    Show book
  • The Highlander Takes a Bride - Highland Brides - cover

    The Highlander Takes a Bride -...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 12
    • 72
    • 0
    A bold, seductive laird meets his passionate match in a scintillating Highland romance from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    Sword fighting, swearing, and riding astride come naturally to Saidh Buchanan. Simpering and holding her tongue— definitely not. Raised alongside seven boisterous brothers, Saidh has little interest in saddling herself with a husband . . . until she glimpses the new Laird MacDonnell bathing naked in the loch. Though she's far from a proper lady, the brawny Highlander makes Saidh feel every inch a woman. 
    She has an angel's looks, a warrior's temper, and seeks out his kisses with wanton eagerness. Little wonder that Greer is intrigued by his comely guest. When reckless desire overtakes them, he's more than willing to make an honest woman of her. But Saidh is the target of a hidden enemy, and Greer faces the battle of his life to safeguard the woman he wants above all others.
    Show book
  • Her Sister's Bridegroom - cover

    Her Sister's Bridegroom

    Jane Bonander

    • 3
    • 23
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.
    “Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” —RT Book Reviews
    Robbie Fleming is out of options.
    When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.
    But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.
    Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.
    When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?
    Show book
  • Into Temptation - cover

    Into Temptation

    Kathryn Smith

    • 2
    • 20
    • 0
    Lady Sophia Aberley swore she would never let Julian Rexley in her home or in her sight again. Though years have passed, she has not yet forgotten the humiliation of scandal—having been banished to the country for ‘shameful’ actions. But she cannot abandon a friend in need, even if that friend is Julian’s sister, and now she is back in London . . .
    Show book
  • Still in My Heart - cover

    Still in My Heart

    Kathryn Smith

    • 0
    • 16
    • 0
    Brahm Ryland is a man used to getting everything he desires... 
    Another London season has just wound down and Brahm Ryland, Viscount Creed, is thankful for it. Since a horrible mistake ruined his betrothal to the beautiful Lady Eleanor Durbane, his life as a scandalous bachelor has grown tedious; every day without Eleanor seems longer than the last. But then a break in the monotony appears: an invitation to a shooting party at the home of Lord Burrough, Eleanor's father, and he knows his chance to make amends has come at last. 
    Yet Brahm soon finds that Eleanor will need more than a simple apology to atone for his betrayal -- and after so many years of hurt it will take time and care to make her learn to trust again. When all her sisters warn her against him, she knows she would be a fool to give their passion another chance. But what Eleanor doesn't know is that London's boldest viscount will do anything -- anything -- it takes for a second chance at his one true love ...
    Show book