As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
BASE: The Edge of Reality - cover

BASE: The Edge of Reality

Robert Adamson

Publisher: Robert Adamson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

BASE is a science fiction adventure novel about Simulated Reality set in the recreation of 21st Century Earth. 
Was Earth the first Base Civilization? Did Earth manage to survive and take the first step to the stars? 
Of the bewildering assortment of Billions of Worlds, there is just one #BaseReality. 
James paused and surveyed the shocked silent press. Taking his time, he smiled before continuing. 
"In honor of an ancestor of mine, Robert Louis Stevenson, we named the first starship Hispaniola. We are going treasure hunting, and the treasure we seek is an island in the sky. 
"We intend to explore the wonders of a vast new star system." 
Find romance and adventure on the Island of Kauai and beyond as humanity reaches for the stars. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Galactic Mercenaries Omnibus - A Space Opera Series - cover

    Galactic Mercenaries Omnibus - A...

    Richard Fierce

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Some jobs will turn you into a zombie. Literally.
     
    Episode 1: Captain Jayde Thrin of the cargo ship Determination has one goal: make enough money to retire in style. Her small mercenary crew travels the universe taking odd jobs, but when a botched gig lands them in hot water, it’s up to Jayde to figure out their escape – and their survival.
     
    Episode 2: A genetically designed plague has ravished the birthplace of humanity, leaving millions of undead wandering the planet. Jayde and her crew volunteer to retrieve the antidote and do the job for free, but ruined planets, aliens with ulterior motives, and the threat of invasion will stretch the crew beyond anything they have ever known.
     
    Episode 3: Jayde Thrin and her mercenary crew return to Earth to find a lost cause. The government has given up on the planet and turned its focus to the war brewing at the edge of humanity’s borders. A small group of survivors are still on Earth fighting for survival and it’s up to Jayde and her crew to rescue them, but an army of undead and alien worshippers are all that stand in their way. 
     
    Galactic Mercenaries is a space opera series about zombies, space battles, alien invasion, and a misfit crew trying to survive in a dangerous universe.
    Show book
  • Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible Optimism - cover

    Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible...

    David Nickle

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This debut horror novel by the author of short story collection Monstrous Affections “establishes him as a worthy heir to the mantle of Stephen King” (National Post).   Set in 1911, Eutopia “mixes utopian vision, rustic Americana, and pure creepiness. . . . Nickle blends Little House on the Prairie with distillates of Rosemary’s Baby and The X-Files to create a chilling survival-of-the-fittest story” (Publishers Weekly).   Situated on the edge of the woods and mountains of northern Idaho, the tiny settlement of Eliada is an industrialist’s attempt to create heaven on earth. But its secrets are soon to be unveiled, as Jason Thistledown, the sole survivor of a mysterious plague in Montana, and Andrew Waggoner, a black doctor nearly lynched by the KKK, delve beneath the façade of the utopian mill town. What they discover is science warped by ideology—and an unearthly monster that preys on the faith of its own true believers . . .   “A story of piano-wire suspense, grotesque horrors, and, above all, visceral insight into the race politics of American horror, and how they are bound up with the American project itself.” —Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing  Praise for David Nickle   “His stories are dark, wildly imaginative, and deeply compassionate—even when they’re laced with righteous anger.” —Nathan Ballingrud, author of Wounds “David Nickle is Canada’s answer to Stephen King. His writing charms even as it slices like a blade between the ribs: sharp, subtle, and never less than devastating.” —Helen Marshall, author of Gifts for the One Who Comes After
    Show book
  • Starfall - A Starlight Chronicles Novella - cover

    Starfall - A Starlight...

    P. S. Malcolm

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thousands of centuries have passed since Adrina's death, and Julian--now Jason--has dedicated himself to redemption in her honour.When he discovers Adrina and the Starlight Princess have reincarnated, he vows to keep them undiscovered by staying far away. That is, until he is forced to gain the trust of the angels, leaving him no choice but to risk everything and finally face his haunted past.Devian never saw a future for himself, doing everything he could to ensure his sister had one instead. But when he falls into a Shadeow vow with his sworn enemy, he finds himself tangled up with the one girl he could never have--and desiring a new life he never allowed himself to dream of.Together, everything will fall apart--and yet, fall into place, aligning the stars for a new era of magic, rulership, and romance to unfold...A Starlight Chronicles Novella
    Show book
  • Earth Strike - Star Carrier: Book One - cover

    Earth Strike - Star Carrier:...

    Ian Douglas

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the vein of the hit television show Battlestar Galactica comes Earth Strike—the first book in the action-packed Star Carrier science fiction series by Ian Douglas, author of the popular Inheritance, Heritage, and Legacy Trilogies and one of the most adept writers of military sf working today. Earth Strike rockets readers into a vast  and deadly intergalactic battle, as humankind attempts to bring down an evil empire and establish itself as the new major power. Fans of Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War, welcome aboard the Star Carrier!
    Show book
  • The End We Start From - cover

    The End We Start From

    Megan Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The universally acclaimed debut novel. “Extraordinary . . . a spare, futuristic fable about a brand-new mother navigating a flooded world.”—Vogue.com Pre-empted by publishers around the world within days of the 2016 London Book Fair, The End We Start From heralds the arrival of Megan Hunter, a dazzling and unique literary talent. Hunter’s debut is a searing original, a modern-day parable of rebirth and renewal, of maternal bonds, and the instinct to survive and thrive in the absence of all that’s familiar.   As London is submerged below flood waters, a woman gives birth to her first child, Z. Days later, she and her baby are forced to leave their home in search of safety. They head north through a newly dangerous country seeking refuge from place to place, shelter to shelter, to a desolate island and back again. The story traces fear and wonder, as the baby’s small fists grasp at the first colors he sees, as he grows and stretches, thriving and content against all the odds.   Written with poise and poeticism, The End We Start From is an indelible and elemental first book—a lyrical vision of the strangeness and beauty of new motherhood, and a portentous tale of endurance in the face of ungovernable change. “Strange and powerful, and very apt for these uncertain times. I was moved, terrified, uplifted—sometimes all three at once. It takes skill to manage that, and Hunter has a poet’s understanding of how to make each word count.”—Tracy Chevalier, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with a Pearl Earring
    Show book
  • Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy - cover

    Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy

    Luiza Dobrzynska

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the distant future the humanity is subject to meticulous control and class segregation. The criterion for belonging to one of the classes is IQ, determined at birth according to measurements of synaptic density of the brain. Permits to have a child are issued by committees that severely assess the physical and mental health of future parents, and marriages between castes are prohibited.
     
    The young librarian, Leeta finds herself accidentally at the center of political game and as the only witness to an attack on members of the global government she becomes a threat to many prominent figures. Her protector, Citizen Hakat, decides to send the girl to the moon, to an industrial city where she would be safer than on Earth.
     
    The city of Lunnaria is completely dependent on supplies from Earth and theoretically falls under its jurisdiction, but it is really ruled by large mining corporations. Leeta gets assigned to the local police.
    Show book