Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Taste of Home - In Love and War #14 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Taste of Home - In Love and War #14

cora buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Once, Anjali Patel and Mikhail Grikov were soldiers on opposing sides of an intergalactic war. They met, fell in love and decided to go on the run together. 
  
Now Anjali and Mikhail are trying to eke out a living on the independent worlds of the galactic rim, while attempting to stay under the radar of those pursuing them. 
  
Mikhail is on his way home, an anniversary present for Anjali in his pocket, when he suddenly finds himself irresistibly drawn towards an unremarkable storefront and comes face to face with his past. 
  
Meanwhile, Anjali is preparing a special anniversary dinner for Mikhail, only to find that he is late to come home. 
  
This is a novelette of 9300 words or approximately 32 print pages in the In Love and War series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Endworld: Capital Run - Endworld Series Book 9 - cover

    Endworld: Capital Run - Endworld...

    David Robbins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Washington, DC was in the tight grip of the Russians. They planned to use their base on the Potomac to launch an all-out attack on the warring states of America. But the Red Menace made one mistake - they thought Blade and the Warriors would go like lambs to the slaughter. Instead, they fought with a savagery that would drive the invaders back to the land of perpetual nuclear winter.
    Show book
  • The Reel Stuff - cover

    The Reel Stuff

    Martin H. Greenberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From alien invaders to journeys to distant worlds to Earth the day after tomorrow, science fiction stories have been the inspiration for some of the best - and the worst - movies and television shows. Sometimes the films have offered extremely accurate depictions of classic and award-winning science fiction stories, sometimes they've departed radically from the works on which they are based.  Now you can judge for yourself as you listen to eight tales included in this collection.Johnny Mnemonic by William GibsonAmanda and the Alien by Robert SilverbergMimic by Donald A. WollheimThe Forbidden by Clive BarkerWe Can Remember For You Wholesale by Philip K. DickNightflyers by George R. R. MartinAir Raid by John VarleySandkings by George R. R. MartinUnabridged
    Show book
  • Caspian's Fortune - Infinity's End Book One - cover

    Caspian's Fortune - Infinity's...

    Eric Warren

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    He needs a payday. He’ll settle for payback. 
      
    Betrayed and left to rot on the edges of the galaxy, Caspian Robeaux is deep in debt and stuck flying courier missions in an old rustbucket he can barely keep afloat. His only friends are an annoying robot named Box and a bottle of booze. 
      
    It’s a far cry from his once-promising military career, but Cas stopped caring a long time ago. 
      
    Things start to look up, though, when a stranger arrives and offers a lucrative job that Cas can’t refuse, with a payday big enough to change his fortunes permanently. His luck gets even better when Cas learns that the job might offer him the one thing he wants more than his next drink: A chance to clear his name. 
      
    But nothing in his life is ever that simple, and for a man trying to buy his way out of debt, the price of redemption might be too steep. 
      
    From bestselling author Eric Warren, Caspian’s Fortune is the first book in the Infinity’s End series. With a rich universe full of quirky characters and breathtaking adventure, it’s perfect for fans of JN Chaney and Michael Anderle. Get your copy today!
    Show book
  • Short Science Fiction Collection 044 - cover

    Short Science Fiction Collection...

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Science Fiction is speculative literature that generally explores the consequences of ideas which are roughly consistent with nature and scientific method, but are not facts of the author’s contemporary world. The stories often represent philosophical thought experiments presented in entertaining ways. Protagonists typically “think” rather than “shoot” their way out of problems, but the definition is flexible because there are no limits on an author’s imagination. The reader-selected stories presented here were written prior to 1962 and became US public domain texts when their copyrights expired. (Summary by Gregg Margarite)
    Show book
  • Dancer's Lament - cover

    Dancer's Lament

    Ian C. Esslemont

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Esslemont's all-new prequel trilogy takes readers deeper into the politics and intrigue of the New York Times bestselling Malazan Empire. Dancer's Lament focuses on the genesis of the empire, and features Dancer, the skilled assassin, who, alongside the mage Kellanved, would found the Malazan empire.
    Show book
  • Carriage of the Damned - cover

    Carriage of the Damned

    Alan Flanagan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For Sabrina Jennings, tonight may be the most important night of her life. She has climbed aboard a cross-country train to find a cure to her werewolf curse, a journey that will bring her face to face with the long-dead murderer Gerard Stiles.But when the carriage is abandoned on the tracks, leaving the passengers trapped and at each other's throats, Sabrina's well-laid plans fall to pieces.Who is trying to manifest the power of Stiles for their own ends? Will the passengers be able to escape before another train collides with their carriage? And just what is the mysterious Hallie Stokes doing on board?
    Show book