Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Nun With a Gun: The Town With No Name - cover

Nun With a Gun: The Town With No Name

Jon Gray Lang

Publisher: Machines of the Infinite Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Dark secrets plagued the Town with No Name and fear lived in the hearts of its people. 
That was before the nun appeared on the horizon like a mirage on a hot sunny day.  A well-used pistol swung from her hip while a rosary crucifix dangled loosely from her closed fist.  She came with no horse, no wagon and no donkey.  Only the two legs given by the Lord propelled her into our little desert home. 
But was she here to save us or was she her to bring justice to those that deserve it?

Other books that might interest you

  • Palindrome - cover

    Palindrome

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Palindrome 
    When both your past and future spell fear. 
    Award-winning author Stuart Woods has crafted a masterful novel no reader will soon forget. For years, Liz Barwick has been battered by her brutal husband, a famous pro football player. This time it takes an emergency room to keep her from death. Now the beautiful and talented photographer retreats to an island paradise off Georgia’s coast to find solitude—and herself. 
    As she becomes increasingly involved with the strange and handsome twin scions of the powerful Drummond family, she feels her traumatic memories begin to fade. But when a killer launches a series of gruesome murders, Liz discovers that there is no place to hide—not even in her lover's arms.
    Show book
  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Mark

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book
  • The Coin of Souls - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 4 - cover

    The Coin of Souls - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Sometimes death is only the beginning.
     
    The Island of Lost Souls gives Eldwin hope that he’ll see his father again, but the island holds many secrets—and hidden dangers.
     
    As he draws closer to the end of his quest, the island will push him to his limit … and cost him everything.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Coin of Souls is the fourth episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • A Sea of Troubles - cover

    A Sea of Troubles

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Italian police detective looks into the deaths of two fishermen in an isolated island community: “Leon’s Venetian mysteries never disappoint.” —The New York Times Book Review   On a beautiful spring morning on the island of Pellestrina, south of the Lido on the Venetian lagoon, a small boat moored at the docks suddenly explodes, killing two local clam fishermen. When it becomes clear that the fire was deliberately set, Brunetti decides to investigate. But when he tries to dig up information about the murder, the island’s tight-knit, closemouthed community closes ranks—forcing Brunetti to accept Signorina Elettra’s offer to visit her relatives there to search for clues.   On the island, Brunetti finds himself torn between his duty to solve the murders and his concerns for the Signorina’s safety. And though he is loyal to his beloved wife, Brunetti’s concern for his boss’s spirited secretary may be driven by more than platonic feeling . . .   “The arrival of a new Donna Leon book fills me with pleasurable anticipation. She tells a good story, including the best of all current police detectives, Commissario Brunetti, and locates it in a superbly described Venice. The plot is beautifully constructed. The climax is exciting and disturbing . . . Brunetti is as irresistible as ever.” —The Scotsman   “The sophisticated but still moral Brunetti, with his love of food and his loving family, proves a worthy custodian of timeless values and verities.” —TheWall Street Journal
    Show book
  • The Temptation of Forgiveness - A Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery - cover

    The Temptation of Forgiveness -...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    All of Donna Leon’s recent Brunetti books have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List. Leon’s latest, Earthly Remains, debuted at #12. 2016’s The Waters of Eternal Youth reached #10, and her previous book, Falling in Love, debuted at #5 in hardcover fiction, her highest debut ever. By Its Cover and The Golden Egg, books 22 and 23, both reached #7.
    
     
    
    Earthly Remains was also an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Mystery) and a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice
    
    
    
    Leon recently appeared on the cover of Mystery Scene, for which she provided an in-depth interview in support of the US publication of Earthly Remains.
    
    
    
    Leon’s Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries have sold more than two million copies in North America.
    
    
    
    In recent years Donna Leon’s sales and critical esteem have only risen. These are fantastic books that just keep getting better.
    
    
    
    Donna Leon has been named one of the 50 Greatest Crime Writers of all time by both Time and the Times of London.
    
    
    
    Leon has fans everywhere; Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a close friend and supporter, and both Hillary Clinton and R.L. Stine named Leon as a favorite writer in the New York Times Book Review’s “By the Book” section.
    Show book