Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Death Opens a Window - Mourning Dove Mysteries #2 - cover

Death Opens a Window - Mourning Dove Mysteries #2

Mikel J. Wilson

Publisher: Acorn Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Emory Rome is back in DEATH OPENS A WINDOW, Book 2 of the Mourning Dove Mysteries and the follow-up to the national bestseller MURDER ON THE LAKE OF FIRE. 
 
As he struggles with the consequences of his last case, Emory must unravel the inexplicable death of a federal employee in a Knoxville high-rise. But while the reticent investigator is mired in a deep pool of suspects – from an old mountain witch to the powerful Tennessee Valley Authority – he misses a greater danger creeping from the shadows. The man in the ski mask returns to reveal himself, and the shocking crime of someone close is unearthed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak marks Meyer’s return to his beloved Benny Griessel series.
    Meyer is a world-class thriller writer. He writes gripping books with inventive plots, realistic characters, and universal themes.
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a departure from Meyer’s previous work only in its brevity: just over 30,000 words, it is an accessible, fast read that will bring more fans to the Griessel series. This is a format which has seen considerable success in the past: Gillian Flynn’s 2015 novella The Grownup has sold nearly 50,000 copies according to Bookscan. 
    Readers of Donna Tartt will enjoy seeing the literary reappearance of Carel Fabritius, whose painting “The Goldfinch”—featured prominently in Tartt’s novel of the same name—was displayed in a 2014 exhibit at the Frick Collection in New York that had visitors lining around the block in frigid temperatures for hours. 
    Meyer has a devoted and growing following in the U.S., with avid fans across the crime community, including luminaries such as Stephen King, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, and Grove Atlantic’s own Thomas Perry.
    Meyer’s previous book, the standalone novel Fever, was named an Indie Next Selection and an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Science Fiction and Fantasy) and commended by Stephen King as “Reminiscent of The Stand and The Passage. Great stuff.” 
    Meyer’s most recent Benny Griessel thriller, Icarus, was shortlisted for the 2016 CWA International Dagger Award and the Nielson Booksellers’ Choice Award. It was named a Best Book of the Year by the Boston Globe and Financial Times and was named one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Audiobooks of 2015.
    An international bestseller, Meyer is known as the “King of South African Crime.” His books have been published in 27 languages and have netted just under 60,000 copies in all formats in the U.S. alone.
    Show book
  • A More Perfect Union - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    A More Perfect Union - A JP...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A shattering tale of corruption and homicide featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    A shocking photo screamed from the front pages of the tabloids—the last moments of a life captured for all the world to see. The look of sheer terror eternally frozen on the face of the doomed woman indicated that her fatal fall from an upper story of an unfinished Seattle skyscraper was no desperate suicide—and that look will forever haunt Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont. But his hunt for answers and justice is leading to more death, and to dark and terrible secrets scrupulously guarded by men of steel behind the locked doors of a powerful union that extracts its dues payments in blood.
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • Pressure Point - cover

    Pressure Point

    William P. Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Companion book: Wood’s Sudden Impact (Feb. ’14) also features Pressure Point’s protagonist detectives Nye and Tafoya and their powerhouse teamwork. 
    
    
    
    
    New designs: Each backlist will be redesigned with exciting covers to appeal to both established and new generations of readers.
    
    
    
    International success: Wood’s books have been translated into several foreign languages including French, Spanish, Japanese, German, Greek, and Polish.
    
    
    
    Film: Wood’s nonfiction title, The Bone Garden (Turner, May ‘14), has been featured in multiple books and on the Geraldo Rivera Show and The Discovery Channel. Most of Wood’s novels have been optioned for motion pictures and two were produced. Rampage (June ‘14) was filmed by Academy Award–winning director William Friedkin (The French Connection, The Exorcist, Killer Joe) for Miramax and Paramount. It starred Michael Biehn (The Terminator, The Abyss). His novel Broken Trust (Sept. ‘14) starred Tom Selleck and Academy Award nominee Marsha Mason. The screenplay was written by Joan Didion and John Gregory Dunne.
    
    
    
    Insider’s perspective: As a deputy district attorney who handled thousands of criminal cases, ranging from disturbing the peace to murder, Wood gives readers an accurate, inside look into his genre of writing.
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book