Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Zak and Zara and the Invisibility Ball A Story of Doon Hill Children's Book - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Zak and Zara and the Invisibility Ball A Story of Doon Hill Children's Book

S C Hamill

Publisher: Earth Angel Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Zak and Zara and the Invisibility Ball. A Story of Doon Hill. Children's Book. 
A light-hearted friendship story about a homeless, bullied and orphaned elf called, Zak and his growing friendship with his pink, purple and pretty fairy friend, Zara. 
A note about Doon Hill 
The 19th century was a funny time in Scotland when there were many tales told of elves, fauns and fairies that lived quietly and secretly under the wooded hills of Aberfoyle. 
But for the Rev Robert Kirk, an interest in the magical life of the little creatures saw him come to an unfortunate end, apparently.  
The minister at Kirkton Church from 1685 to 1692 wrote the book: The Secret Commonwealth Of Elves, Fauns And Fairies.  
But his revelations incurred the wrath of the sprites and he was captured by them on Doon Hill. 
The minister was taken down to the land of the fairies. Some say his body was placed inside a tree on top of the hill. A substitute body was placed on the ground by the fairies, local people mistook it for the minister and buried it in the nearby cemetery. 
Audiobook available NOW! 

Other books that might interest you

  • Heroes - cover

    Heroes

    Jen Calonita

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Princess Devin didn't come to Royal Academy for fame, glory, or a crown. All she's ever wanted is to be a Magical Creature Caretaker. Just when Devin gets up the courage to ask about following her passion, disaster strikes. The evil Rumplestiltskin and Alva cast a curse that nearly destroys Enchantasia, a new villain is on the rise, and the students of Royal Academy find they now have to share their castle with the delinquents from the notorious Fairy Tale Reform School. Devin feels stuck—how can she think about going her own way when her kingdom clearly needs her now more than ever?
    Show book
  • The Toot Fairy - cover

    The Toot Fairy

    Mark Huffman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Sorry, Walter the Farting Dog. I think it’s fair to say that this is probably the best picture book about toots I’ve ever read.” —A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal 
     
    When it’s time for Jessa the fairy to proclaim what kind of fairy she wants to be, she accidentally says “toot” instead of “tooth!” Now she’ll be in charge of finding all the toots from all the bottoms in the world. This is not exactly what she had in mind . . . 
     
    Read by the author! Play on any Kindle device with color and audio support, including Kindle Fire, Kindle for PC or the Kindle app for iOS. 
     
    “A good giggle. In this day and age, it’s fun to read something so . . . ‘refreshing!’” —Craig Smith, award-winning, international bestselling author of The Wonky Donkey 
     
    “Wish I had thought of it first!” —Adam Rex, author/illustrator of On Account of the Gum
    Show book
  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • Blame It on the Mistletoe - cover

    Blame It on the Mistletoe

    Beth Garrod

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tweet Cute meets the movie The Holiday in this funny holiday rom-com where two very different girls swap lives for a Christmas adventure.
     
    Elle is a social medial star with the #DreamLife...or so it seems. Determined to shake up her content and gain new followers, she's on a mission: can she find a British fan to swap with for Christmas?
     
    Holly loves everything about Christmas. But after a mortifying mistletoe disaster with her ex, her perfect plans unravel like a bad Christmas sweater. Can Holly save the holidays when she switches places with favorite social media influencer?
     
    Elle gets more than she bargained for when she meets the cute boy from across the street. And Holly wasn't expecting Elle to have a handsome twin brother. This holiday is full of surprises.
    Show book
  • Crime and Carpetbags - cover

    Crime and Carpetbags

    Julie Berry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From award-winning author Julie Berry comes the second installment in the fantastically adventurous Wishes and Wellingtons series, in which our heroine, Maeve Merritt, embarks on a magic-powered and most dangerous quest to help her friends
     
    Now that Maeve Merritt has surrendered Mermeros, the djinni she found in a sardine can, she expects her life in London will be dull as dirt. But villains from Maeve's previous escapades are still searching for the djinni, now in the hands of Mr. Poindexter, the adoptive father of Maeve's friend Tommy. When Mr. Poindexter tries to use one of his wishes, he and Mermeros go missing—and without a guardian, Tom will be forced back to the orphanage.
     
    With the help of magical flying carpetbags, Maeve, Tom, and their friend Alice soar off to find Mr. Poindexter and that rascal, Mermeros, before the djinni's fabled wishes fall into the wrong hands.
    Show book
  • Ordinary Mary's Positively Extraordinary Day - cover

    Ordinary Mary's Positively...

    Emily Pearson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Can one child's good deed change the world? It can when she’s Ordinary Mary—an ordinary girl on her way to her an ordinary bus stop and an ordinary school. Including real-life examples of that happened at schools as a result of reading Ordinary Mary's Extraordinary Deed, this new book focuses on the ability kindness has to change an entire school.
    Show book